We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four stars hotel with five stars service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #78 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is our third time return to stay in this hotel. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, good location, excellent servide. We enjoy our stay every time and definitely will stay there and when we go back to Hong Kong next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,420 - 2,426 of 3,905 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel's location was close to public transit and their free shuttle service allowed us to shop at different areas and then easily return back to the hotel until almost 11pm at night, every night! The staff is courteous and allowed our group of 8 to have a late checkout to accommodate our air flights home, at no extra charge. The rooms were small but adequate and my husband and I were able to get a king sized bed! The price is very reasonable for Hong Kong and booking online provided an additional discount. I will definitely stay at the Dorsett Mongkok on my next trip back to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Pros: The hotel and room were immaculate. Sheets were clean and comfortable. We arrived a few hours before the official check-in time, but the staff offered to hold onto our luggage while my family and I went out for brunch. When we arrived back, our rooms were available for early check-in and our luggage were automatically brought up to the room. The front desk staff were very friendly and spoke English well. Cleaning staff is very flexible and will come back to clean your room whenever you want. The hotel exercises a "green policy", which means that they will not change your sheets unless you put the apple paperweight (available on your nightstand) onto your pillow.

The location is excellent and the shuttle service is prompt and speedy. As many reviews have stated, there's a 24 hrs McDonalds across the street. There's also at least three 7-Elevens (also open 24 hrs) within a block or so from the hotel. Plenty of local food options on Ivy street, including pan-asian fare such as thai, japanese, and korean. There is a huge mall nearby called, "Olympian City", which is only a short 10 minute walk away (connected to the MTR Olympic station). The hotel reminds my wife of being like hell's kitchen area of NYC- where there's lots of good food and is predominantly residential. Enough people around to feel safe, but not too crowded to feel like Times Square. Great shopping and deals can be had at a 5 minute ride away at Ladies Market shuttle stop. Ride back to hotel from Ladies Market via the red taxis is super cheap (about $22 HK, which is only about $3 USD); well worth it, if you do not want to wait for the shuttle.

Cons: When my parents tell me about stereotypes regarding "mainlanders", I usually scoff at what they say because it sounds like simple hong-kong ego centrism to me. My parents were staying on a lower floor and they complained that mainlanders are constantly having loud conversations in the hallway at random hours of the night and early morning. Very annoying. Not much the hotel can do about this problem though- they are paying customers too... another review recommended staying in one of the higher floor rooms (my wife and I stayed in the executive suite; 27th floor); we did not have the same problems with noisy mainlanders in the hallways as my parents did.

Overall: Aside from the minor problem with the rude mainlanders, my wife and I would gladly stay at this hotel again and I do recommend the executive suite on the higher floors to avoid unwanted noise disturbances. Location is extremely convenient and staff is excellent and accommodating. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors are great with panorama view of Hong Kong skyline which is breathtaking at night. Air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntekteem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your pleasant experience at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong.

However, we regret about the occasional noise disturbance your parents experienced this time. We will definitely look into this to ensure all the guestrooms are properly sound-proofed as they should be, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful compliments. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The room is tiny but clean and cosy, for the price you paid for hotel in Mongkok, I think it's reasonable and service wise is excellent, worthwhile.
I was happy with the front desk service, the staff and manager are very friendly and helpful. The staff had recommended several eateries nearby our hotel. If you need some tips or recommendation where and how to travel in Hong Kong, they are there to assist you.
Hotel shuttle bus is just great for you to move around Tsim Sha Tsui area, to Airport Express Kowloon Station and China Ferry Terminal to Macau.
Only one little thing I am not happy with is the speed of the elevator, can the hotel management do something to improve it? Other than that, no other issues.
I will definitely recommend Dorsett Mongkok to my friends who plan to travel to HK.

Room Tip: Room facing Tai Kok Tsui Road have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tsao T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with our hospitality, it has been our pleasure serving you.

However, our apology for the lengthened waiting time for the elevators possibly due to high occupancy rate during your stay with us. At the moment, we have three elevators operating concurrently.

Once again, thank you for recommending us to your friends. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We spent 6 nights here with our two children aged 12 & 9. Reports we read prior said the rooms were small and they were a bit but we were only there to sleep. The bathroom was adequate and the room was always clean. We were on level 25 and had a great view.
The location is great - it's not in the middle of the mayhem down-town and the walk across to Mongkok MTR station was a daily experience, revealing restaurants and local markets and shops, very interesting and not to be missed - takes about 15 minutes but if you take the buss you'll miss a lot.. Also, the area across the street from the Dorsett is very interesting. There's a bunch of restaurants, all within 50 metres, some local produce stores, 7/11, McDonalds etc.
the staff at the Dorsett were very good, always helpful and very welcoming at check-in.
I recommend staying here if you like to be a bit out of the tourist rat-race and appreciate a good value hotel in an interesting and convenient location.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Noodnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed on the 15th floor of the Dorsett Mongkok for 6 nights at the start of April 2014.

The Good :

Clearly a newish hotel, room was clean and modern. Free Wifi was included.

The Average :

The location is a little bit out of the action, but that’s not a major problem with the hotel’s shuttle bus.

The hotel website says the MTR Olympic station is 4 minutes away….maybe if you are an Olympic runner. Allow a 10 minute walk at a good walking pace. Olympic station only services one line, meaning you have to catch one train and transfer to another to get somewhere not on this line. The only good exceptions to this are Disneyland and Ngong Ping, both of which are on this line.

The bad :

We expect a small room in HK (our fourth visit) - this was the smallest we have had - barely room for our two suitcases, the bed was pushed against the wall so the person on the right hand side could only get out of bed at the end. No storage at all for toiletries in bathroom - easier to get ready on the bed than in the bathroom.

We expect a firm bed in Asian countries - this bed was so hard it was like sleeping on the floor.

Only two lifts to service this hotel is at times badly under requirements - we had a couple of 15 minutes wait for a lift.

Asked for a quiet room - given room next to the lift, not exactly a quiet room.


Would we stay there again? We’d look at other options in the same price range - we wouldn’t rule it out, but we’d prefer something closer to Nathan Road with a bigger room (and there are certainly some available for not that much more money). If you have any other questions (about this hotel or Hong Kong in general) email us at fishbulb@iinet.net.au

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colonel_Fishbulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

In fact, our hotel is centrally located on the cusp of Mongkok and Tai Kok Tsui with the nearest Olympic MTR station (where the iconic IFC and Elements shopping arcades are located only two stations away from Olympic Station). Alternatively, guests can also take the free shuttle bus to the Mongkok MTR station in 5-min where you could travel to the Hong Kong side and around the city via efficient MTR transportation system.

For the guestrooms size, we offer five types of rooms in different sizes to suit a wide range of travelling preference. Our Suite Premier is the perfect option for guests looking for a more spacious stay while our Room Family Quad – both measured at 42 sq.m. is ideal for a family of four. We hope the next time you will have a chance to try out one of these room types.

Concerning the bed issue, we hope that you had the chance to contact our housekeeping team to arrange a bed topper if a puffier bed is preferred.

With regards to the lift, at the moment, we have three lifts operating concurrently, our apology for the occasionally lengthened waiting time possibly due to high occupancy rate during your stay with us.

We regret about the occasional noise disturbance you experienced this time. We will definitely look into this to ensure all the guestrooms are properly sound-proofed as they should be, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused.

We regret again for all the inconvenience caused to you. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The room was so tiny, but it's so common in HKG. They provide quit good amenities in room and clean up the room every day. Wi-fi only free at lobby but still OK for me.

They also provide shuttle that can take you to several main area in HKG. Try to stop by Langham place which is close to ladies market and Hong Kong City Mall, if you are looking branded outlet shop.

The location was so nice, many 7-11 and fast food restaurant like McD's is just a stone away from the hotel. But quit far from the nearest MTR Station (Olympic). It can be reached by walking distance but it takes around 10 minutes.

The closest mall is Olympian city and kowloon plaza, but i suggest to go to Olympian city mall. Overall this hotel was good and i will comeback again in the near future!

Room Tip: Prefer room with high floor , so you can see the HKG night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NadyaFre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,428 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#128 of 729 in Hong Kong
904 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#104 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,320 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#113 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,802 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#90 of 729 in Hong Kong
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $75 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing