We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value plus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #75 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Value plus”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Staff great. Rooms a bit on the smallish side but well provisioned, comfortable and spotless. Cable TV included. Free in room wifi and breakfast included in our tariff - rates vary so ensure you use wotif/booking.com/zuji etc to get a good rate. We paid less than $120 AUD for superior room with breakfast and free wifi. Bed was too firm for us but staff added an extra underlay which helped a bit. Breakfast adequate - not much bling - with plenty of choice and eggs cooked to order. Location may not suit first timers to HK but easy walk to Olympic MTR or free shuttle to/from Langham centre (Mongkok MTR), China/Macau Ferry terminal and Kowloon Station (Airport express) made access easy. Lifts can get busy - we used the staff lift (round the corner) when it got very busy.

Room Tip: Bit of road noise from nearby flyover but not significant. Maybe choose room away from the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

In fact, our hotel is centrally located on the cusp of Mongkok and Tai Kok Tsui with the nearest Olympic MTR station (where the iconic IFC and Elements shopping arcades are located only two stations away from Olympic Station) being only 4-min walk away. The Mongkok and Tai Kok Tsui area is known for its rich local culture and activities, which within 10-15 mins walk from the hotel you will reach some of the most popular bazaars in Hong Kong such as Ladies Market, Temple Street and Fa Yuen Street. Mega shopping mall like Langham Place is also in the vicinity

With regards to the elevator, at the moment, we have three elevators operating concurrently, our apology for the occasionally lengthened waiting time possibly due to high occupancy rate during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    1,777
    390
    77
    35
See reviews for
946
1,291
331
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was quite pleased with the services provided by the staffs. 5 minutes walk from Olympic MTR and 24/7 McDonald's opposite. The shuttle bus is quite useful I would say? I prefer walking to the MTR station directly. The room is a little small but it is comfortable. Will recommend family and friends here. Overall, not that bad.

Room Tip: Could probably ask for a better view room? My room view is the back of the neighbouring buildings..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ho Qiming B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was in desperate need of a hotel, and found a good deal at this one online. I was most pleasantly surprised. The staff was great, the room modern and super clean with a fantastic view (request a room on a higher floor), the shuttle to nearby mall and subway generous and efficient. My only problem is the lack of free wifi in the rooms - why? (There is free wifi in the lobby though)

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for killer views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is not only cheap, its location is also pretty ideal, as you can head to any places/attractions conveniently. If you trying to find a cheap hotel + yet reliable and safe + great and friendly service + comfortable and cosy room + convenient location, i am sure this Dorsett Mongkok Hotel is the one you looking for. I would definitely choose this hotel again on my next visit. Also, many travel bloggers have given a thumbup on this affordable and great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kusukeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Not sure I would want to stay in this location again, as it is a long walk to the MTR, (train system) but the Hotel does provide a free shuttle bus, leaving every hour to other more interesting areas, and its also possible to get the same shuttle bus to return to the hotel.
Room was spotless, and had everything in it that I needed - mini fridge, air con, flat-screen TV, and a good affordable Thai restaurant on the first floor.
Bed was very hard and I prefer softer mattresses.
The shower, hand-basin and toilet were behind an obscured glass door, so there is not much privacy with another person sharing the room.
Staff were extremely helpful and polite.
Recommended as the price was very affordable for what is provided.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us.

In fact, our hotel is centrally located on the cusp of Mongkok and Tai Kok Tsui with the nearest Olympic MTR station (where the iconic IFC and Elements shopping arcades are located are only two stations away from Olympic Station) being only 5-min walk away. The Mongkok and Tai Kok Tsui area is known for its rich local culture and activities, which within 10-15 mins walk from the hotel you will reach some of the most popular bazaars in Hong Kong such as Ladies Market, Temple Street and Fa Yuen Street. Mega shopping mall like Langham Place is also in the vicinity.

Concerning the bed issue, we hope that you had the chance to contact our housekeeping team to arrange a bed topper if a puffier bed was preferred.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

when i step into this Hotel, the aroma in the lobby was so good and relaxing. hotel service attendant was really helpful! compare to some of the Hongkong people on street. they came forward to carry our luggage. booked a family Quad size room for 4 @ level 23. its was big and clean. I love hotel with window that allow sun light to shine in. good value and good location. will definitely come back to this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiamin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife & I spent 3 nights in this lovely cosmopolitan hotel last January.

It was indeed a pleasant stay.

Upon arrival at HKIA we took the Airport Express Line to Kowloon Station from where we transfered for the free shutte bus enroute to Dorsett Mongkok. The free shuttle bus was prompt and punctual. Miss Ng handled our check-in in such professional manner and even offered us a promotional deal which I glandly acknowledged.

We were billeted in an Executive Room at the 22nd floor which offered a vantage view of Victoria Harbour and Mongkok skyline. The room by standard is rather minimal but not an issue. Room amenities are always provided and cleanliness is always maintained. We also have access to their Executive Lounge as part of the promo deal. We have WiFi access in our entire stay. Our daily buffet-style breakfast at the 2nd floor (Thai Pad) had always been sumptous and healthy. We never had any problem moving around Hong Kong because of the massive & integrated MTR system. The hotels' proximity to the nearest MTR Station, the Olympic Station is barely a 10-minute walk. Hong Kong's MTR system is an outstanding attraction for me and my wife. Tai Kok Tsui in Mong Kok is a very vibrant district with plenty of convenience stores, fast food local restaurants and eateries catering to diverse chinese cuisine. The hotel's Consierge are manned by young courteous staffs who speaks english fluently and are always ready to assist guests.

The lady shuttle bus driver is by far our most admired staff, she is absolutely exceptional; so courteous, friendly and helpful. Our heartfill gratitude go as well to Suki Chan and Christy Wong because they never get tired in replying to my every single inquiry through email.

I only have good words for Dorsett Mongkok Hotel and the entire staff. Two thumbs up for their excellent service. They made our Hong Kong holiday a very memorable, pleasing and congenial one. We will definitely recommend it to our relatives & friends. I hope it will be alright for you guys if I will feature Dorsett Mongkok in my next blog post.

Mabuhay at maraming salamat po.


Denis & Jho Yumul
Manila, Philippines
January 13-16, 2014

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#26 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,158 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#125 of 718 in Hong Kong
795 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#90 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,235 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing