We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, comfy and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #78 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfy and friendly”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We loved staying at Cosmo: our room was at the floor 21 and was really everthing we wanted. Staff was as friendly and helpful as you would expect them to be in place such as this.

I loved rainfall shover, my hubby didn´t but he was happy that he could opt out using it. Bed was comfy, I would have loved to have more options on pillows, but this is really just small thing. Hotel is beautiful and there are restaurants, shops etc with in walking distance. Kowloon has so much amazing things that you could stay just there...
So, when thinking in HK hotels, rooms, rates and sizes this beauty doesn´t shy.

If mrt would have been closer this would have been five star place for me. Hotels shuttle was always booked full when we tried to use it, but like 5 minutes walk would be such a bad thing? Basedis: taxis are dirty cheap in Hong Kong, people; use them!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    1,761
    386
    77
    32
See reviews for
933
1,276
322
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Dorsett Mongkok is currently being re branded from the Cosmo Hotel. It is in a reasonable location - nearish to Mongkok - closer to the Olympic MRT station (about 4 min walk). The hotel is not on the Airport Express bus route from Kowloon station - so be aware of that. The hotel does offer a free shuttle - only once an hour so probably more useful when going to the station rather than when you arrive. (It comes 20 min past the hour).
The room was tiny but cute and the shower hot and plenty of water! Room was clean and had reasonable amenities for a budget hotel. If you want to be right in on the action then this probably isn't the one for you .. but taxis are pretty cheap in HK.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anstruthergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongKok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Anstruthergirl

Thank you for staying with us.

We hope you enjoyed staying in one of the most dynamic neighbourhoods in Hong Kong. While the nearest Olympic MTR station may be just 4-min walk from hotel, many of our guests prefer to take the free shuttle bus to the MongKok MTR station which is only 5-min by hotel free shuttle bus service, where they could travel to the Hong Kong side and around the city via the efficient MTR transportation system.

Regarding the guestroom size, we offer five room types sizing up to 42 sq.m. Our Suite Premier and Room Family Quad both offer ample spaces and provide a spacious separated bathroom for a more relaxing stay experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Small hiccup was the room safe was not working despite numerous repairs done, they could have replaced one for us but they did not. Caused a lot of inconveniences as I had to lug along a heavy bag with passports and valuables with me. Out of goodwill, they gave us HK$100 as compensation, not too bad. Room was small but good enough for just two of us especially we were out of the room most of the times. Right across the road were many shops, eateries, supermarket, herbal tea shops etc. Walk a short distance to Olympian City and get to enjoy the delicious Tim Ho Wan dim sum!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovebellsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongKok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear lovebellsg

Thank you for staying with us.

We are sorry for the room safe issue that you encountered Please rest assured that our Housekeeping team has been reminded of this issue and will ensure it will not happen again in the future.

Regarding the guestroom size, we offer five types of rooms in different sizes to suit a wide range of travelling preferences. You may consider staying in our Suite Premier measuring 42 sq.m. for a more spacious and relaxing stay on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My 1st stay at this hotel. The location is not too bad. The hotel provides free shuttle bus services to a few places, including the train station where you could catch the Airport Express. there's a McDonald's that's open 24 hrs directly opposite the hotel. the hotel is in between 2 MTR stations.
the room size is ok for 1, max 2 persons. The shower area is really small.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongKok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Simon

Thank you for staying with us.

We are glad to know that you found the location of the hotel and the free shuttle bus convenient for your needs.

Regarding the guestroom size, our hotel actually offers five types of rooms in different sizes to suit a wide range of travelling preferences. While each room type is ideal for double occupancies, our Suite Premier and Room Family Quad size 42 sq. m. will definitely provide you a more relaxing stay with spacious room with separated bathroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights recently. Good location, a 10 minute walk to MTR/ladies market and the bus is useful for getting your bearings. We didn't use it much as we already had Octopus cards for the MTR.

Good buffet breakfast which was always refreshed even if you go down late.

Lovely views from the bed, we enjoyed sitting on our bed with a beer at night watching the world go by! I do agree with other reviewers that the bed was a little short, but not too bad.

My only issue was we asked specifically for a double room when we booked, but they were all full when we arrived, so we had the choice of upgrading to a breakfast included double room or keeping the twin room. It was a little annoying that we had to pay more, but I suppose that's a lastminute.com issue not the hotel's fault?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottieness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just 3 days in Hong Kong. We originally booked another hotel...which was an insect-infested hovel, which was the size of a mousecage, with rude scruffy staff.
We saw the Dorsett online, and decided to walk in and see.
We were greeted by the customer service manager, a young man named Eric, who showed us a couple of rooms, and informed us of the hotel's special offers. The rooms are on the small side, which is normal for Hong Kong....but very clean, well designed and made the best of a small space. We were on a high floor, and had a wonderful view of Hong Kong.
Breakfast was good....a buffet with a good selection of Asian and western food.
The staff were very friendly and efficient...Eric, Kathy the guest service supervisor, all the front desk staff, and concierge....they went over and above normal guest services.
We would definitely stay here again....and would recommend this hotel very highly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mamasue111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We found this hotel based on on-line recommendations and were not disappointed. The room was excellent, especially since we had three people staying in the room (Premier Suite), and needed to utliize a pull-out sofa. There was more than sufficient room, even with the sofa pulled-out. Good views, and the room was very clean (an important point for us). Hotel staff are very attentive and friendly. We had to request extra towels on two occassions and they were brougth to the room in less than five minutes. Bathrooms were nicely appointed. Walk to MTR (Metro/subway) station is straight forward, which provides very quick rides to Hong Kong Island or elsewhere. Be aware that if you are traveling with someone with slower mobility, it is several blocks to the MTR, so prepare accordingly. Thers is a free hotel shuttle to another MTR station which leaves on the hour if you do not wish to walk. Area around the hotel is fine. A few restaurants within a block of the hotel, and more extensive offerings about five or six block walk to Mong Kok or accessible by the free hotel shuttle. Cabs are plentiful in the area.

If we ever return to Hong Kong will likely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Traveling with my mother-in-law so needed two separate sleeping areas. The Premier suite worked ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidTNYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#124 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#22 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#88 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing