We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #77 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Me and my friend went to HK Nov, 6-8, 2013 and we booked in this hotel through a travel agency. First of, the moment we stepped outside of our transer bus to the hotel a staff of them went outside and asked us if we are staying for dorsett and i said yes and he pleasantly took our luggages and helped us inside. In the front desk, they will ask you HKD 500 for deposit (this is if ever you'll smoke inside the room or damage anything, that's the fine i think) but will be returned to you once check out.

The room is small but it's okay for me. I love the interior design of the room and the AC is superb. They also have hot water in the shower.

We stayed in our hotel just to sleep so we always went there when it's night time and i noticed, they leave messages printed in a short bond paper saying their message like the pick up time for our tour was moved to a certain time or if we have a parcel collection in the concierge.

The wifi connection down the lobby is so fast, i cant complain no more.

We only ride once their free shuttle bus and i can say it is very helpful to save you some money for the taxi fare ( we didnt take taxi there, just took their mtr)

one more thing i like about the concierge is that they are very happy to assist you and they give you free map of the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank femlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    1,812
    395
    79
    36
See reviews for
970
1,305
337
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2013

There is really nothing much to complain about this hotel. We enjoyed our stay. very comfortable and it even comes with a iphone 4 dock in our room. The design of the room is very unique and the shower/toilet is such a delight to use due to the shiny blue mosaic tiles that they used to line the round shaped shower. feels like you are in the sea when you shower in the all glass toilet. However, this design proved to be a bane for the hotel. Why? read on. During one of the nights when i was staying in that hotel, at around 2am in the morning, the fire alarm went off and the whole hotel was instructed to evacuate immediately over the PA system. It was the first time this happened to me so i grab all my personal documents and phone and i ran for dear life. it wasn't really a panic situation at the fire escape and i even saw some guest take the lift. I did pity those parents when they had to carry their young down 17 flight of stairs. When we finally reach the ground floor, we were told that this was a false alarm as one guest turned on his shower too hot and the steam triggered the alarm. Turns out, the hotel designers have placed the smoke detector right next to the shower door, which can't be closed completely due to the nature of the glass sliding door. To make things worse, the guest did not answer his door and the shift manager decided to sound the alarm for "safety sake". After a long walk down, everyone just proceeded to take the lift back up to their rooms again. I can't imagine if i was staying in that hotel with my mother who is a stroke patient and is wheel chair bound. The next morning, i spoke to the manager and found out that this happens occasionally which was why during check in, everyone is told to close their bathroom door while showering. My advice is, if you are travelling with very young children or the elderly, pls ask for a low floor. Also, if the alarm rings IN THIS HOTEL ONLY, pls try to call the front desk first to see if it's a false alarm.

Room Tip: for a good wifi signal, ask for a room that is near the lift lobby of each floor. not all rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongKok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Markloon

Thank you for staying with us.

We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience caused by the false alarm during your stay with us. We truly appreciate your understanding on this matter. Please rest assured that we have looked into this situation seriously and have made necessary changes to the procedure to avoid reoccurrence of the same incident in the future. We hope the comfortable accommodation you experienced will bring you back to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel was previously the Cosmo and renamed the Dorsett. We stayed in a suite room, which was better for privacy if you have kids or more than two people. The sofa converts to a sleeper. There is only one bathroom and there is no lock on the door, so be sure to knock before entering. More places to hang towels and clothes is needed especially for such a small bathroom. Closet space is small and don't expect to bring in a lot of suitcases to the room. Use the desk top to put extra suitcases on. There is not enough room to open them on the floor if you expect to be able to walk in the room.

As for Internet in the room, if it is not included with your booking, you go to the lobby for free access. Even though the lobby is small, it has enough sofas and chairs so you can stay inside to use your tablet or phone. The hotel is busy but they are efficient in moving people through the checkin and checkout process.

There is a lounge on the second floor, and we found it to be a good place to relax in peace and quiet while having a coffee. There is a coffee machine only, and a few snacks, but your hotel package must include lounge access for a key. Again we had a suite that included lounge access, which the few times we used the lounge, very few people used or accessed.

The hotel package we booked had breakfast included. The Thai restaurant doubles in the morning for the breakfast area. The selection was adequate, a hot breakfast with an omelet station. The only problem we found and this may not be anything the hotel can fix is that the ventilation in the restaurant is inadequate because every time we ate breakfast there, no matter how far away we sat from the cooking and food, our clothing strongly smelled like breakfast food. I would recommend a shower and a change of clothes After eating breakfast there.

The hotel provides an hourly free shuttle to the Mongkok MTR station, about a 5 minute ride. There is a nice mall at the station. The Olympic station is farther away and not really walking distance unless you need a 15 or more minute walk. Around the hotel, there is a 24hr mcDonalds across the street from the hotel, as well as convenience stores and a Watsons. There really isn't any tourist type of restaurant eating nearby, most of them are more or less for locals. No problems finding taxis, which we used most of the time since we shopped in the Jordan-TST part of Nathan road, about 5-10 minutes ride, depending on traffic.

Consider the location and what you want to do before booking. As I mentioned it is a well run hotel but if you or family want to walk to shopping and eating, or want to come and go from the hotel without having to take the shuttle or taxi, book a hotel closer to the Nathan road shopping area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongKok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Travellingricky

Thank you for your valuable time in writing us a review.

We do appreciate your comments towards our in-room amentias such as more places for hanging cloths, bigger storage space and the lock for the bathroom. We will definitely review these issues with our management in order to provide the best staying experience to all our guests. Your comment concerning the ventilation in the restaurant is also noted. We will reflect this with the restaurant manager and will work on improving the issue. We are sorry for the unpleasant experience.

In fact we our hotel is only located about 4-min walk from the nearest Olympic MTR station, our Concierge would be happy to show our guests the nearest way to get to the MTR station. Furthermore, free in-room WiFi will be included for booking via hotel website along with other exclusive perks such as 24-hour Flexi Stay (flexible check-in / out time and full 24-hour stay) and best rate guaranteed . We hope you will take advantage of this on your next visit for a more pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back with your family in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Decent hotel for the price you pay in hong kong. 10 mins walk from some malls and market or free shuttle to few points. Good service by the staff. The concierge was very helpful. Only negative was the bathroom water took a long time to drain out after a shower. Overall good experience, I dont mind going back there.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank patilshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongKok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Patilshock,

Thank you for staying with us. It’s nice to know that you were pleased with your stay with its convenient location and warm hospitality.

Your comment to the bathroom water is noted. We hope you had contacted our Guest Services team for a prompt room change on the spot and our apology for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Room is quite small. Hotel have many floor but only have 2 elevator so it would take sometimes for elevator. Room is very clean but I have an allergic symptom every morning i guess some construction site near hotel have pollen and dust. Opposite to the hotel have 24hr McDonald and have 7-11 next 1 block so it easy to find some food. Hotel is very close to MTR Olympic station about 5-10 walk.

Room Tip: Good hotel near MTR Olympic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thanitps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongKok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Thanitps,

Thank you for staying with us.

We have noted your comment on the room size. In fact, we offer five room types sizing up to 42 sq.m. If you wish to enjoy a more spacious stay on your next visit, our Suite Premier is the perfect option for your while our Family Quad Room is ideal for a family of four.

With regards to the elevator, at the moment, we have three elevators operating concurrently, our apology for the occasionally lengthened waiting time possibly due to high occupancy rate during your stay with us.

We also regret to hear about your allergic issue.We have highlighted this issue to our housekeeping team to be more attentive on the guestroom cleanliness to ensure our guests will have a refreshing experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in early October. The service & staff was friendly, I can say that the room was nice. Big enough for us. Good bathroom, Great Views of Kowloon. The location is good for shops, restaurants, if your able to walk to Mongkok station it takes about 10 minutes, or maybe a fraction more. I liked it, because you walk through some out of the way streets and local's markets which we would never on seen,Traffic wasn't bad here. Also close to Olympic Station, which we used to get back to the airport(via Kowloon Station). I would recommend a Octopus card for traveling around and you can get a refund when you leave Hong Kong,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karlfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was my first stay in Hong Kong and i found the Dorset Mongkok was in a great location. The hotel is very clean and has a small fitness room. The free breakfast was great and there is a free shuttle service to several locations. The room was very small but the bed was very comfortable and the shower was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bohica-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#32 of 717 in Hong Kong
1,153 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#97 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,911 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#84 of 717 in Hong Kong
2,340 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#125 of 717 in Hong Kong
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing