We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel to stay in Mongkok Hong Kong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #76 of 715 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Excellent Hotel to stay in Mongkok Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok Hong Kong and took 2 bedrooms for all of us. The room were neat & tidy, eventhough on the first night we had trouble with the bathroom but the mechanic came promptly and fixed it immediately.

The service was excellent, all of the staffs were professional and helpful. The breakfast had a few variety of either Westener or Asian style of food and they were fantastic.

We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning to stay in Mongkok Hong Kong.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edyanadean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,220
    1,707
    376
    76
    28
See reviews for
899
1,227
313
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I booked online and was able to avail of the early bird rate. We stayed here for one night (Aug 29-30) and was very pleased with the room, staff and services. Room is not so spacious but good enough. Bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean.

I love how the staff was very helpful and friendly. Their shuttle bus was also very helpful in bringing us to various stations. It saved me money and aching feet. :) They also allowed us an early check-in so we were able to spend more time in Ocean Park.

One suggestion though: they should add at least one more shuttle bus because we weren't able to ride it twice since it was full.

One negative incident: their website said that for rooms that are booked online, they get free WIFI. When I asked for the WIFI access to our rooms, they said that it is not available in rooms which was a bummer.

Over-all, I liked my stay. My son was also happy with it. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMama1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear TravelMama

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok, Hong Kong.

It’s nice to learn that our free shuttle bus services is useful to your need. We will look into the possibility of adjusting the bus schedule in our next management meeting.

As for the WiFi access, the internet service charge HK$12 is actually imposed by the internet service provider , which we appreciate your kind understanding . We hope you had related this to our 24-hour on duty Guest Services team to clarify as appropriate.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I were uncertain of this hotel and based on the reviews of others, we decided to book it as we wanted to be near the Nathan road and Mongkok shopping areas. We were not disappointed as the location was very convenient plus the services were excellent. The concierge and reception has a warm welcome and the rooms are clean. Going for the bigger room was a good decision. Overall the stay was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Go for a bigger room and higher floor for less a/c noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Firstly, rooms and bathrooms are small, which i guess was to be expected. However the issue that really upset me was that you had to pay equivalent of $20AUD per day to use wifi in your room. Since we stayed for 3 nights that would have equated to $60AUD for internet which is more than what i pay for an entire month back home. It also disconnects every 15 minutes to tell you how much time you have left which is extremely frustrating. At times it would also stop working overall. Although there is an option to connect additional devices, when we tried to connect a 2nd unit, it would state that we had already exceeded our limits. I was just so pissed off i didnt bother even calling the staff to rectify that issue. You also get charged an extra $12HK for some sort of internet server which was not specified on their information sheet inside the room, which i find misleading. In this day and age, there is heavy reliance on the internet, not having it is like not having your mobile phone with you. Was also mislead by the description on tripadvisor that they had free wifi. When we asked the counter, they said that wifi was only free in-room for those who had booked through their website. It seems like those ppl also get 24hour checkout. I understand that it is my own fault for not booking through their website, but I felt disappointed that others were getting better services and felt 2nd rate. wifi was free in the lobby, and as a result, it was always full of ppl who did not wish to pay for it in their own rooms. Im on holiday and i sure as hell dont want to hang around in a lobby when i paid to have a room! the full lobby must have also made the hotel look very popular to onlookers outside, which i suppose makes the business look good! Location wise, it was not conveniently located 4-5 minutes away from olympic station as i ensure you that you will get lost finding it the first few times. There are so many stations scattered throughout kowloon and are so very easily accessible, but this one was just very difficult to the point where we just always paid to get a taxi home. They had lovely staff but it doesnt make up for my disappointment. I would not stay here again after staying at so many other better hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipsqueeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Enjoyed the mobile-booking promotion and booked the Suite. It was cosy and comfortable with considerate staff who called and asked our preferred make-up room time. Customer service officers also sent us a birthday cake for my baby on his birthday :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good location, just 3-5 minute walking from the olympic station. Good Cleanliness and good staff.
The room wasn't so big, but this is the standard at that price in this hong kong area. Perfect to visit the various market, and not so far from the airport. I didn't have breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank La Squitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in the CosmoOrganic Room on a high floor and a rather nice view. Comfortable Room, a rather small toilet but its good enough. Not expecting much as the hotel rooms in HK are generally tiny. Very good service by the Guest Relations team who helped with surprising my fiance for his Birthday. They assisted to receive my cake and delivered it to our room together with a bottle of wine and a card signed by the whole team on the night before his Birthday, as requested by me.
Location is rather convenient and 10-mins walking distance to Olympic station. There's a huge shopping mall right beside that MTR, which we discovered only on our last day. The hotel also provides free shuttle buses to Langham place and the Kowloon station.
All in all, it was a comfortable and pleasant stay :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyLiuJY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#120 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#94 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#25 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing