We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free shuttle bus, clean rooms, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #76 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Cosmo Mongkok
We booked the hotel on the same day through their website and it was quick and easy. The hotel (Pop Hotel) that we stayed in previously was horrendous and we were desperate for a clean and good bed. 
The service staff was friendly. The bell boy even recommended that we get luggage tags for our bags. 

Room - we booked the cosmorganic room. Like everywhere in HK, the room is small but decent. We were given a room at 21st floor which came with a view of the city and a bit of the ocean. Loved the rain shower, free wifi (we just had to pay HKD 12 service charge per day per device. There were a selection of pillows to choose from but we were happy with ours anyway. Bed is clean and comfortable. 

Location - for those who don't want to walk, the hotel has a hourly shuttle bus that goes to Langham Place (Mongkok MTR), China Hong Kong City (near HarbourCity), Kowloon MTR (where you can take the Airport Express). If not, Mongkok MTR and Olympia (that links to Hong Kong island)  is within ten minutes walking distance. Within the vicinity of the hotel, there are convenience stores, a small shopping plaza, 24hour McDonalds, food places including local Hk cafes, dessert places, jap, Thai and Korean food. Loved the dessert cafe at Ivy Street called Noble. Tried four different desserts in two nights. 

Downside - There are only two lifts servicing 25 floors. So, do leave your room earlier if you want to catch the shuttle. We had to let two lifts passed before we could get in. 

The wifi is intermittent and keeps asking you to log in. 

Overall, great hotel with good value.



  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lingling35100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,686)
There are newer reviews for Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,567 - 2,573 of 3,689 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Cosmo is an excellent hotel run very well by the great team. In a great location and a nice modern clean hotel at very low prices! They have a great shuttle bus service that takes their guests all over Hong Kong without having to pay for taxi's. A special thanks to Candice who checked us in & helped us the whole time - she was lovely! Also a huge thanks to Mr Tingay who is the security guard there, he was soooo helpful always seeing if we needed anything & helping with car arrangements and directions - Tingay is a huge asset to the cosmo hotel.
Overall had a great stay & we will definitely be back!! Thanks again cosmo :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelprincess7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

i stayed here about 2 years back.
it is quite out of the way, not near to any mtr..i walked really far to get to olympic mtr and afterwhich relied heavily on the free shuttle bus provided by the hotel.
Hotel is nice but no wifi
room is small but clean, toilet is almost see through

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Amebelle

Thank you for staying at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok.

We noted your comment on the location of the hotel. In fact, the nearest Olympic MTR station is only about 4 mins walk from the hotel. Alternatively, you may take our free shuttle service to Mongkok MTR station, which takes only 5 mins, where you could travel to the Hong Kong side and around the city via the efficient MTR transportation system.

For guestroom size, we offer five room types sizing up to 42 sq.m to cater to different travel sizes and preferences. Our Suite Air and Room Family Quad both offer ample spaces and provide a spacious separated bathroom for a more relaxing experience. We hope you will consider staying in this room on your next visit for a complete different experience.

As for the WiFi access, while we do offer free high-speed WiFi at hotel lobby and public areas, guests who make bookings via hotel official website in advance are also get to enjoy free in-room WiFi.

Amebelle, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in a family room which, while compact, was a great base for exploring the action of HK. The hotel is clean with good facilities and friendly and helpful staff. It is only 10 mins walk from Olympic Stn and the hotel has a very good complementary bus service to Mong kok and other stops on Kowloon. Great view from the higher level floors. Breakfast buffet has a good selection that will set you up for the day. Interesting area if you want an authentic experience and see how the locals live. We felt very safe and recommend for families. Beds are a bit short and Internet access a bit temperamental, otherwise all good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel is well maintained. Rooms are well renovated and equipped ( tiny, but that's the HK standard),
Breakfast is basic yet decent to start the day ( for us it was included in the price ).
Location is not much of site seeing - but it's 4-5 minutes form the train so that's very helpful.
McDonald open 24h in-front of the hotel ( for those who really need french fries at 3am :).
All in all if I come back to HK I would definitely book this hotel again.

Room Tip: 1.On the way to the train station there is a Thai restaurant "Sunhi Thai"- cheap, clean an...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gILisHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I came to the hotel via the Olympic MTR. For a first timer, the hotel was quite difficult to find as it was hidden behind Rosedale Hotel. Check in was fast and the front desk staff was very polite. Had room 1812 with a nice view of the city. My only grouch was the bed, it seems smaller that a queen size bed as the two of us could not turn without hitting the other pax.
Overall I enjoyed my stay at Cosmo Mongkok as the cleanliness was really top notch.

Room Tip: Choose high floor rooms for a good view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodstock26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Woodstock

Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and were impressed with the hotel cleanliness.

As for the size of the bed, in fact our bedding amenities are according to the standard measurement, we are sorry that the size of the bed did not quite fit you. On your next visit, you may book for a king size bed, this service is provided upon request in advance.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a CosmOrganic room. The room was really quite small - not really enough room for two people plus suitcases, but I gather this is normal for Hong Kong. The frosted glass bathroom just about qualifies as private, although anyone much above average height will find their head poking above the frosted section.

The air conditioning was very effective - housekeeping kept putting it on full blast for some reason so the room was certainly cool when we returned in the evening.

Our view from floor 21 was really quite good, you could see the sea in the background and some of the peaks in the distance.

The two lifts were usually quite crowded - stopping every other floor when the lift is already full is quite annoying too.

The location is okay - there are quite a few local eateries around the hotel, a McDonald's directly opposite, plus Vanguard and 7-Eleven convenience stores within 60 seconds. For a nice restraunt meal and a range of cuisines you'll probably want to travel into central Hong Kong, however. The walk to the MTR stations does get a little tedious after you've done it a few times.

The shuttle bus was invaluable, although it would've been nice to know it stopped at Kowloon Airport Express station beforehand, saving us walking from Olympic MTR with all our baggage. The hotel provies a bus timetable that has maps of the area around the hotel and all the bus stops which is very useful.

The "free" wifi actually cost $12 per day for each simultaneous connection. This is supposedly due to a service charge from their ISP, however none of the other hotels on our trip (from youth hostels to 5-star) felt the need to levy charges.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Oli,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

For guestroom size, in fact, the hotel offers five room types sizing up to 42 sq.m. If you wish to enjoy a more spacious stay on your next visit, our Suite Air is the perfect option for you while our Room Family Quad is ideal for a family of four. Regarding our bathroom’s design, the use of frosted glass is part of the decoration to give a contemporary touch to the room interior, you may choose to stay in our Suite Air or Room Family Quad which provide a spacious separated bathroom. We regret if it has caused you any inconvenience.

Also our apology for the busy lifts service during your stay possibly due to the high demand when hotel occupancy ran high. We appreciated your kind understanding on this.

Location wise, in fact, the nearest Olympic MTR station is only about 4 mins walk from the hotel. Alternatively, you may take our free shuttle bus service to Mongkok MTR station, which takes only 5 mins. We are located midway between Mongkok and Tai Kok Tsui where many exciting city happenings can be found here, such as Ladies Market and Temple Street, as well as mega shopping mall like Langham Place, New Century Plaza and Olympic City is also in the vicinity.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#34 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,174 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#100 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,179 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#80 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,421 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#105 of 721 in Hong Kong
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $74 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing