We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem at budget price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #76 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It is a fact that hotels in Hong Kong are not cheap, in particular, those within the city area. If you are expecting convenience and a huge luxurious room, then this place may not be suitable for you. However, we are very pleased with our stay at this hotel as it is value for money.

Location
We took the airport express to Kowloon station and continue the onward journey to the hotel by a cab. The taxi fare from Kowloon station to Cosmo Hotel is about 60HKD.
The nearest MTR station (i.e. Olympic station - brown line) is about 800m away (about 10 minutes walk). The hotel also provides hourly shuttle services to the following places:

1. Langham Place (i.e. MongKok MTR station)
2. Kowloon MTR station (also the airport express line)
3. China HK city (Ferry terminal to Macau)

The shuttle service arrives on time and a copy of the table time can be obtained from the concierge.

Service
The hotel is very thoughtful and emailed information on the weather just a week before your arrival. The staff were excellent and were able to converse in English and Mandarin.
Checking in was a breeze although I have requested for double bed but it was not ready during check in. Hence, I took the room with 2 single beds instead.

Rooms
The rooms are tiny but clean and comfortable. As a matter of fact, hotels in Hong Kong city area are extremely expensive and hence the room size of Cosmo hotel is reasonable given the price paid for and the hotel's convenience. As mentioned earlier, if you prefer a luxurious huge room in similar location, just be prepared to pay more than US$250 a night. Otherwise, you would have to settle for a hotel further away from town area for huge rooms at cheaper rates.

We had no problems with the room although my brother who stayed in another room had complained about water not sufficiently warm for showers and the waste water doesn't drain well.

Breakfast
We did not have any breakfast at the hotel since eating out is not a problem at all. There are several char chan teng just across the street and the prices of these breakfast/lunch sets are very valuable (about 20HKD for a decent set). Do ask the concierge for recommendations on where to eat in the vicinity.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is valuable and convenient but would like to caution those who are expecting a huge room. You'll probably be disappointed.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly smaller than the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sockie_SGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Sockie,
Thank you very much for your detailed review and your recognition on the great value of the accommodation. We trust your stay with us was a comfortable one and pleased with the cleanliness of the guestrooms, the attentive services provided by our professional team member, the convenient location and the very thoughtful pre-email arrangement which we send to our guests for better preparation and communication before the stay.
As for the sizes of guestrooms, the hotel actually provides five room categories sizing up to 42 sq m and all of them are smartly designed to maximize use of space. The Suite Air and Room Family Quad offers ample space to accommodate different travellers’ needs. Guests can always contact our reservations team and they would be happy to recommend the room type that suit you needs best upon booking.
Concerning the bed size, although our single bed is of standard single bed size, the option of queen size bed is also available for a better sleeping experience. However, we’re sorry that we were unable to offer you a doubleroom by the time of your arrival and trust that it was due to the high demand during peak season when hotel occupancy ran high. We very much appreciated your understanding on this..
We regret to learn about the unpleasant condition in your brother’s room due to the water supply was not running well. Our hotel engineer has investigated into this issue to ensure all our guests a refreshing stay. In fact, if there is any area found not up to the standard in room, guest can always approach our 24-hour on duty guest services manager and they will be more than delighted to render immediate assistance.
Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,798 - 2,804 of 3,777 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Cosmo Hotel Mongkok is well situated in Kowloon, close to Olympic and Mongkok MRT stations. Courtesy bus pick up from and drop off at Kowloon Airport Station is very efficient. The hotel is very clean. The buffet breakfast is very good value for money with a wide choice on offer.
Overall a very good base for exploring Hong Kong at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for 3 nights....myself and my 2 teenage sons.It was good value for money(double bed and 2 singles)clean , good location for Monkok night markets and Olympic city shopping malls ,and close to MTR also.The staff were pretty good....although after explaining to the desk girl that my credit card was debit ,so don't process ,just imprint ,or i will lose the deposit money(debit cards unlike credit cards cannot add back the money once taken out!)...she still did...and of course ,we had to argue to get the deposit used as part payment of the bill.Add to this that by taking out the deposit money ,we exceeded the daily limit ,so ,had to eat in the hotel and charge it back to the room..which we didn't really want to do as we wanted to eat locally.The only other problems I had ,were that the "fitness centre" was a bit of a joke....if that is all you are going to have....don"t bother...and the beds were very short....my older sons legs were hanging ff the end of th single bed by 14 inches...yes ,we measured...so I had to give him my double bed to sleep on diagonally!!..seriously ,I get it that most chinese people are shorter ,but this is an international city ,with loads of foreign tourists.....just not up to par......but otherwise...we enjoyed our stay ,and found it good value for money.

Room Tip: if you want to stay here...make sure you are under 6 foot tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binkys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Binkys, Thank you for your comments. We’re glad that you and your family had an enjoyable stay in Hong Kong with us and pleased with cleanliness in guestrooms, the convenient location and found it good value for money.
Regarding the mishandled of your deposit payment, please accept our apology for the miscommunications with our front office staff. To avoid possible disputes on charges, our 24-hour on duty guest services manager could always be contacted for an immediate investigation and follow up upon similar cases. Again, we’re sorry for all the inconvenience which has caused during your stay with us.
Concerning the beds were too short for your sons, in fact, bed extension is available for our taller guests upon request to ensure guests have a good rest.
The hotel’s Gym Room is available for free for hotel guests and open 24 hours, we are sorry that the facilities are not meet with your requirement. It would be great too if you may let us learn of your comments in details via mktcom@cosmomongkok.com.hk so that we can better serve you in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for four nights after arriving into HK off a cruise. One of the reasons for choosing this hotel is that it is totally non-smoking. Booked a "comfort" room directly with hotel and received an 18% discount for four-night special. Taxi driver found the hotel without too much of a problem and it was $HK450 in a metered cab from the Ocean Terminal. On arrival we were offered a paid upgrade to a "superior" room on a high floor for $US30/day which included breakfast and, of course, this room would be available straight away (nice upselling from the front of house staff!) Pleasant enough room but very, very small (haven't been to HK before so can't compare with anything else). Little to zero storage space: hanging rack with four hangers, one single deep drawer and no bathroom storage. Be prepared to dance around your luggage! One side of the double bed was pushed up against the glass wall of the shower room, so only one side in and out of the bed! Mattress a bit saggy and thin, but all linens clean and in good condition. You need to be VERY COMFORTABLE with any travelling companions as the "bathroom" is built into what is, in effect, a shower cubicle complete with a sliding glass door (which didn't close snugly either). This small cubicle contains the toilet, a hand basin and a shower area that you step into. Now, although the glass is frosted (you can't see through it at all) from the bedroom side, it does not provide any form of noise insulation. Enough said! Room facilities included a small refrigerator, tea/coffee facilities, free wifi, electrically operated blind. The restaurant, Pad Thai, is located on the 2nd floor is bright and modern if a bit souless. Breakfast is not good value for money. I saw only tinned pineapple and peaches as well as some fresh melon. Three choices of cereal - all of which were the high-sugar variety and one type of milk. An egg station and a small selection of additional hot items, e.g. baked beans, hot dog sausages, fried potato, ham/bacon. There were also a small selection of chinese items, e.g. fried noodle, rice balls/dim sum. And, last but not least, the usual pathetic toaster. The hotel is in quite a "local" neighbourhood, so unless you are happy to take your breakfast in the McDonalds located opposite the hotel, you are pretty much stuck with it. However, we did eat dinner in the restaurant one evening (a Thai curry) and I have to say it was surprisingly good as were the generous glasses of wine. Concierge were helpful in supplying information regarding tailors and the courtesy bus runs every hour stopping at Langham Place (big shopping centre off Nathan Rd), the China Ferry Terminal (not far from the Star Ferry Terminal) and also to the Airport Express Terminal. One thing we did find was that if we went "downtown" in the evening then it was a right faff trying to get a cab to bring us back if it was after 10pm. They either wouldn't stop or just drove off when we told them where we wanted to go. Why? No idea. Our only thoughts were they didn't want to use the meter at night? Or may be they thought they could find richer pickings elsewhere?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madabouttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment. We’re glad to learn that you were pleased with the smoke-free policy applies to all hotel’s guest rooms and public area as Cosmo Hotel Mongkok is a 100% smoke-free hotel.
Your note regarding the issues in the bathroom is well taken. Our bathroom, it’s semi-transparency is a matter of design and to maximize space and stylish décor in the room. In fact, we have other room types that feature a separated bathroom such as our Suite Air and Room Family Quad. For room size, we have 5 different types featuring 18-42 sq m, our suite and family room can accommodate 3 and 4 guest respectively offers ample spaces which providing guests a spacious stay experience.
As for all our mattresses, they are imported from the international famous brand Simmons which is very good for back support. Besides, there’re mattress toppers available upon request to take care of different personal preference, to ensure guests a more comfortable sleep.
Your comments to the breakfast selection are also noted and will be directed to the restaurant for their further improvement on enriching the daily variety.
We regret to hear your unpleasant experience in getting tax during night time. Guests are welcome to contact our concierge team who will be delighted to provide assistance in flagging down a taxi that runs on meters..
We look forward to welcoming you back to experience the different room types of ours and explore the fun-filled activities around us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in room 2507 during my march 2013 trip. The comfort room i booked is good enough for me. Its clean, cosy, comfortable and relaxing. Its definitely worth the price i pay for.

The staff are helpful and efficient. The checking in and out is fast and my airport shuttle arrangement is smooth. When making enquiries with staff, i always get a satisfactory and precise answer, that shows they know their job well.

The location is good as its 10mins slow walk to olympic station, and 15mins walk to Mongkok langham place. Opposite you have the macdonald, some eatery stalls and mini marts. And ofcourse the olympic 1,2 and 3 shopping mall near the MTR.

Well they should consider something more nice scented for their shower gel and shampoo. I hope they will continue to maintain their room's facilities cleaniness and newness to stay competitive, since it is surrounded by few hotels nearby, especially rosedale look so modern, new and tempting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We’re glad to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and pleased with the attentive services rendered from our professional team, the cleanliness in our guestroom and found the price worth to pay for.
We have taken note of your comment on the shower gel and shampoo, we will certainly get them discussed in our next departmental meeting.
Your comments to the hotel is also well noted and please rest assured that we will continue to maintain the most comfortable environment for all guests at all times and to uplift the standard of service so as to stay competitive in the market, thank you for your support.
We look forward to welcoming you stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Book a room for 2 pax from 7 to 11 Mar. The room & toilet are small, but it's very clean. Staffs there are very helpful. We requested 2 extra pillows, was given only 1..maybe there's some miscommunication but delivery of the pillow was fast even though it's quite late at night. Daily housekeeping -->thumbs up for the cleaning. Location of the hotel is average as walking of around 15mins to reach olympus mtr station. Good thing there's shuttle bus to some places.

Room Tip: Better to request for rooms far from the lift as it's quite noisy when there are lots of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mich0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Mich
Thank you for your comment. We’re glad that you appreciate the helpful services rendered from our professional team and the cleanliness in our guestrooms.
Concerning room size, our hotel comprises of five room types sizing up to 42 sq m, the Suite Air and Room Family Quad which can accommodate 3 and 4 guests respectively are equipped with a spacious bathroom providing guests a spacious stay experience.
We’re sorry for the miscommunications but hope that the extra pillow did make your sleep a sound and sweet one. Also we’re happy to share that a pillow menu featuring 11 choices of pillows is available all costless to guests booking from Room CosMorganic or Suites, from the softer choices of feather and scented pillows to the firmer choices of buckwheat and stone pillows. We hope you will have that chance to try them out next time when you return.
As for the free shuttle bus service, it’s one of our favourite services because it brings our guests utmost convenience with running multiple destination in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon runs daily to bring our guest to the hottest spot for shopping and entertainment. With the nearest Olympic MTR station in only around 5 to 10 minutes walking distance from hotel, alternatively Mong Kok MTR station is also accessible in 5-min by hotel free shuttle bus service. Guests are welcome to contact our concierge team who will be delighted to provide direction and assist.
Please also accept our apology for the inconvenience caused by the noise disturbance on guest floor, it was probably due to high occupancy during peak season, and we hope you had contact our 24-hour on duty guest services team for a prompt room change on the spot.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, the receptionist and other hotel staff were professional and polite. The location of the hotel is excellent, it is within 15 mins walk from two MTR stations, plus there was hourly free bus service to some parts of the city (e.g.Kowloon station, if you want to take the ferry to Macau). There are small grocery stores and eating places around the hotel that make it an excellent choice for tourists who like to have supper at night or enjoy some evening shopping. We booked the Cosmorganic room, it was almost unbelievable how cramp the room was. We had 1 big luggage and 1 cabin luggage, and after the luggages arrived at the room, there was nearly no walking space left. In addition, the condition of the shower room was nowhere close to what the picture on the website showed, it was fatigue with yellowish shower curtain, old stains and quite slippery tiles. The breakfast choice was average,some frozen dumplings and buns to meet the 'asian cusine', breads and croissant for the 'western cuisine', warm milk (yes, no cold milk), cereals and canned fruits. All in all, the good service attitude and the strategic location are the two selling points, beyond that, its just average.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules8488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Jules
Thank you for your comments. We’re glad that you satisfied with the friendly services rendered by our professional team, the convenient location and the free shuttle service. In fact the nearest Olympic MTR station is within 5-minute walking distance and Central is just two stations aways, also the hotel provides free shuttle services run multiple destinations in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon daily to bring our guests to the hottest spots for shopping and entertainment.
As for the sizes of guestroom, the hotel actually provides five room categories sizing up to 42 sq.m. and all of them are smartly designed to maximize use of space The Suite Air and Room Family Quad which can accommodate 3 and 4 guests respectively offers ample spaces with a spacious separated bathroom.
We regret to learn about the unpleasant condition of the shower room and sincerely apologize for it. Please rest assured that our housekeeping team will pay additional attention on the issue and they are reminded to ensure proper cleaning work to be carried out and in line with our standard.
Your comment on the breakfast selection is well taken and will direct to the restaurant for their further improvement on the variety.
We hope to welcoming you again to stay in the different room types of ours for a refreshing experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,289 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#106 of 725 in Hong Kong
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#121 of 725 in Hong Kong
861 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#114 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,226 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#69 of 725 in Hong Kong
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $81 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing