We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated, pleasant room, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #75 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Cosmo Mongkok is well situated being only 5 minutes from the Olympus Train Station (MTR) which takes about 10 minutes to get to Central HK. The hotel is very handy to bus services, taxis supermarkets and food stores and provides a free shuttle service to Mongkok MTR, Kowloon and other places. The standard room is small according to western requirements but proved more than adequate for the six nights we were there. The room was stylish, well lit, scrupulously clean, with clean linen and towels provided on request or changed regularly. Many of the staff spoke good English, were exceedingly friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast buffet was plentiful but could do with a few changes of food types over the week.

A helpful hint for those returning home by air is to go to Kowloon station by the Hotel shuttle where most airlines have set up stands to accept and deliver your luggage, provide your boarding pass for you to then catch the express train to the Airport.

Paolo, Sydney

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Paul, thank you for your review and useful tips shared with other travelers. It’s our great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed the modish décor and cleanliness in our guestrooms, the attentive services rendered from our professional team and the convenient location surrounding the neighborhood with an array of restaurants and eateries, also groceries to offer. Apart from the nearest MTR stations and public transportation, our shuttle service runs daily to multiple destinations in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon. Thanks for your suggestion on our breakfast buffet spread selection. We will try to increase food variety or look at rotating menus so as to offer a powerful breakfast for our guests to kick off a day. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,995 - 3,001 of 3,852 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Swapped to Cosmo from another Hotel after reading the reviews and was happy I did. From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely attentive and always there to help. The location is good and to go anywhere we just took the hotel shuttle bus or caught a taxi which was very cheap. The Motel is modern and clean and the restaurant was so good we ate there for breakfast and dinner. Authentic Thai food and very reasonably priced. The room size was a shock at first but we didn't intend to spend much time lazing in the room and had been warned that large hotel rooms were not the norm in Hong Kong. Would recommend this Hotel to anyone going to Hong Kong. Thank you to the staff who welcomed us and for the hospitality. Our stay in Hong Kong was made all the better by choosing this Hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJNeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Thanks Cosmo for making our anniversary special by the lovely wine and fruits on arrival. Beautiful view from the room and excellent service by staff. Very courteous and friendly staff, very connected shuttle bus service. Even when we were going to macau to westin and venetian, we were guided by the staff for our ferry with luggage and effortless travel for seeing hongkong!

Room Tip: The higher up rooms and select a bigger sized room. The hotel is very centrally located and so easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simran l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was looking for a hotel in the Mongkok area and happen to chance upon Cosmo Hotel Mongkok on a hotel booking website. Immediately checked out the hotel website and was pretty impressed with the design of the rooms, room rates which also came with free internet access and was pretty important for us to have. The surroundings of the hotel was definitely very good with many eateries around and walking distance to mongkok and olympian city.

The rooms were alittle small but I have already expected that since hong kong rooms are usually small. The rooms were very nicely designed and clean.. bathroom was alittle small though but it was alright.

Service in the hotel was excellent especially the lobby staff.. very helpful indeed. The free shuttle bus provided by the hotel was very useful especially on our checkout day, we could hop on with luggages and it takes us direct to kowloon airport express station.. very convenient! I'll definitely book a room back at cosmo when I return to visit Hong kong. =)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melmelchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We’re glad to know that you had a pleasurable stay with us and impressed with the stylish designed guestrooms, convenient location and neighborhood of the hotel and the great value of our accommodation. It’s nice that you have enjoyed our free WiFi service and there are actually more exclusive privileges including free 24-hour check-in/out service, best rate guarantee offered to all bookings made on our hotel website. Your kind comments to our front office and concierge team will be directed to them and the positive feedbacks from satisfied guests is always encouraging to us and will strive us to further uplift our standard of services. As for the sizes of guestroom and bathroom, our Suite or Family Room both offer ample spaces with the former even offers a bathtub for a refreshing bath. We look forward to welcoming your next visit in the near future and experience a different room type of ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel worths every HKD you pay! The hotel is modern, clean and reasonably located in Mongkok area. Good restaurants and shops within a walking distance. There is a free shuttle every hour that stops at useful points around Hong Kong. Staff is attentive, kind and helpful. We had a room in the 21st floor. Double bed, good views, nice toilet, a million of toiletries provided, and a tiny wardrobe. Coffee & tea facilities in the room, and complimentary water provided every day. Really comfortable bed. Not noisy in general, you can get a good rest at night. Free wifi in the main lobby. It was my birthday and the manager sent fruit and wine to the room, many thanks from here! There is a Thai restaurant in the second floor which we tried in our last night and had a closed menu for a reasonable price (the food was average, though). I would recomment this hotel with no doubt!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minnieSydney2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I booked this place because of a discount on an online hotel site, and despite a few complaints, I found this hotel to be nice.

Pros: location, service, cleanliness, awesome city view, super fast Internet

Cons: no free Wi-Fi in room, tiny space (but that's Hong Kong for you), thin walls

I brought my girlfriend to Hong Kong and she liked the hotel, too. It's within walking distance to a subway station and a bus stop, plus Mongkok's Ladies Market and Computer Center are nearby. Though it might be a bit far for those who like Central, Causeway Bay and Wanchai, I liked the area.

For the price, I would think Wi-Fi in the rooms would be offered but it wasn't. I also think the walls can be a bit thin as we had to deal with a loud woman in the next room on our final night there.

I wouldn't mind staying here again but might opt for a better location next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your review. We’re glad to know that you enjoyed the attentive services rendered by our professional team, the cleanliness and the exciting view of the hassle and bustle of the city in our guestroom, the smooth surfing experience with the internet, as well as the convenient location. In fact the nearest Olympic MTR station is within 4-minute walking distance and Central is just two stations away, also the hotel provides free shuttle services run multiple destinations in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon daily to bring our guests to the hottest spots for shopping and entertainment. Our guestrooms are equipped with sound proofing system however guests can always approach our 24-hour guest services manager for immediate assistance or even change of room if encounter any noise issues. If room size is a concern, options are available with our Family Room and Suite which ensure ample spaces. Apart from the free WiFi that Is available at the hotel lobby and the restaurant on 2nd floor for guests’ convenience, we’re happy to share the good news is that booking with us on the hotel website will enjoy more exclusive privileges including free in-room WiFi, free 24-hour check-in/out services, free breakfast (Room CosMorganic or above) and more. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Hong Kong very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night on a stopover to Australia and was perfect for a short stay. As other reviews state the rooms are very small but somehow work, you still get a shower, comfortable bed, dockable ipod and flat screen TV and very clean rooms. So for a short stay and just needing to dump your bags and be out, it's great. The staff are friendly and helpful and it's only a short taxi journey to the centre. I would recommend for a short break but nothing more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,380 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#127 of 726 in Hong Kong
892 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#110 of 726 in Hong Kong
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $70 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing