We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel at a nice price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #77 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I booked this place because of a discount on an online hotel site, and despite a few complaints, I found this hotel to be nice.

Pros: location, service, cleanliness, awesome city view, super fast Internet

Cons: no free Wi-Fi in room, tiny space (but that's Hong Kong for you), thin walls

I brought my girlfriend to Hong Kong and she liked the hotel, too. It's within walking distance to a subway station and a bus stop, plus Mongkok's Ladies Market and Computer Center are nearby. Though it might be a bit far for those who like Central, Causeway Bay and Wanchai, I liked the area.

For the price, I would think Wi-Fi in the rooms would be offered but it wasn't. I also think the walls can be a bit thin as we had to deal with a loud woman in the next room on our final night there.

I wouldn't mind staying here again but might opt for a better location next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your review. We’re glad to know that you enjoyed the attentive services rendered by our professional team, the cleanliness and the exciting view of the hassle and bustle of the city in our guestroom, the smooth surfing experience with the internet, as well as the convenient location. In fact the nearest Olympic MTR station is within 4-minute walking distance and Central is just two stations away, also the hotel provides free shuttle services run multiple destinations in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon daily to bring our guests to the hottest spots for shopping and entertainment. Our guestrooms are equipped with sound proofing system however guests can always approach our 24-hour guest services manager for immediate assistance or even change of room if encounter any noise issues. If room size is a concern, options are available with our Family Room and Suite which ensure ample spaces. Apart from the free WiFi that Is available at the hotel lobby and the restaurant on 2nd floor for guests’ convenience, we’re happy to share the good news is that booking with us on the hotel website will enjoy more exclusive privileges including free in-room WiFi, free 24-hour check-in/out services, free breakfast (Room CosMorganic or above) and more. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Hong Kong very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,007 - 3,013 of 3,859 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night on a stopover to Australia and was perfect for a short stay. As other reviews state the rooms are very small but somehow work, you still get a shower, comfortable bed, dockable ipod and flat screen TV and very clean rooms. So for a short stay and just needing to dump your bags and be out, it's great. The staff are friendly and helpful and it's only a short taxi journey to the centre. I would recommend for a short break but nothing more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've just come back from this memorable great service and super-comfortable hotel.
first of all, we are convinced to love it with a fragrant lobby and almost clean in every corners.
All of teams did their best own duties with smiles and also co-operate to make everything goes in smooth way.

In my memory, I'm quite sure that sincere helpings and useful suggestions always come to me before asking.
Even if the room is quite small (but i actually know is most convenient, valuable and suitable as possible as in Hongkong) but it can make you sleep as well with the great room service before your return.

Moreover, there is a 24hrs-service fitness on the 1st floor with in front of hotel view and thai cuisine on the 2nd floor (but i don't have a chance to try its taste, sorry for can not review)

Cut to talk to about the convenience of travelling, i'm proud to convince to you of easiness to go to your destinations with free hotel shuttle bus which drops you at an important place, from that place you can be linked with other destination by taking the public transport: MTR , taxis and buses, it's very easy to use them all.

However if you don't want to wait the shuttle bus that comes on time exact in its timetable. the best choice is to walk just only 4 minutes to the Olympic MTR station (that very easy/ not far/ and actually don't make you confused and get lost : you can ask direct way to go there with any hotel staff).

i really hope that my review will help you to decide easier about your accommodation in HK.
i totally miss it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sathapat r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cosmo hotel is reasonably located. Restaurants and laundry nearby. Staff very helpful. Shuttle bus useful. Everything worked . Would stay here again at the right price. Foyer tiny which means difficult to find seating and use with fi. Front desk helpful

Room Tip: Stayed on 6th floor. Fairly quiet. No problems. Wi fi was only in foyer where seating was limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your comment. It’s great to know that you have enjoyed the attentiveness that the front office delivered and the free shuttle service that runs multiple destination in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon daily. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Kowloon and the nearest Olympic MTR station is only within 4-minute walking distance, surrounding the hotel is an array of restaurants and eateries providing local and international cuisines that would be appealed to our guests’ appetite. We’re glad to know that you would consider to stay with us again and we would like to share the great news that guests will enjoy exclusive offers including free WiFi and more other privileges including best rate guarantee by booking on our hotel website. Look forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The rooms are tiny even for Hong Kong standards. If you do not mind limited space (think size of rooms on a cruise ship) then it is a good choice. The beds were quite comfortable.The location is not too far from Mong Kok about a 15 minute walk or a 10 minute walk to Olympic MTR station. There is a shuttle that goes to Mong Kok however this only runs every hour so could be a bit inconvenient. There are plenty of conveniences around the hotel such as a 24 hr McDonald's, a bakery that has amazing bread just across the street, lots of restaurants and even a laundry store.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ireneliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good service, good location, nice room - I loved that there were an iPhone dock on the alarmclock!
However the elevators were busy - and living on 21'th floor was sometimes a challenge when it was all about coming down!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mawola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to learn that you have enjoyed the sincere services from our staff, cozy guestrooms and the convenient location of the hotel, I’m particularly happy that you like our iPhone dock comes with alarm clock which was newly introduced in all our guestrooms.
I’m regret to learn about the challenge with the elevators and trust that you stayed with us during the peak season with high demand, we appreciate your understanding and guests can always contact our 24-hour guest services manager for any immediate assistance. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The Cosmo is great value for money.

Rooms as I understand it are bigger than most in HK hotels. Rooms have expansive views of the magical city skyline which is a must in this dazzling city.

The service is exceptional and its people like Andrew- Director of (feeling good) rooms that make you want to stay here on your return. Staff generally are highly attentive.

The Thai in house restaurant is very good indeed. In fact you should eat there at least once. Best Thai I've eaten in a while.

All in all a great little modern hotel which I'd be delighted to stay at again
Dare

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#30 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,389 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#109 of 730 in Hong Kong
995 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#129 of 730 in Hong Kong
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $41 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing