We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL CITY HOLIDAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #77 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL CITY HOLIDAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoy my staying here. Small room doesnt matter, because the name is Hong Kong. I love to user private lounge at level 1 which is private to guest. The shuttle is very useful to guest that like to travel around the city. Vibrant staff at the front desk. Good location for guest that travel without travel agent.

Helpful?
Thank Muhd N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,249
    1,740
    382
    76
    30
See reviews for
922
1,254
319
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (814)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

A last minute booking for an adhoc trip. We've gotten the Cosmo-organic room, very tiny (common for newer hotel in HK). Lobby is always packed with hotel guests enjoying the free WiFi. We are given free WIFI in the room..so its ok. Bed is comfy but for some reason, its wobbly - I supposed the base is not set up properly.

For the price paid, its decent though if I have more time to plan and research, I think I would prefer something more spacious.

Service is pretty good, staff are generally friendly. Only after we checked out, while waiting for the HK Airport Express shuttle (free) , the checking in/out counter staff was abit grumpy when we asked if we can wait at the Cosmo Lounge (we are entitled to that for booking the Cosmorganic room) instead and just gave us a short and curt "No"... I supposed we are not to expect the hospitality from them after we have checked out...it would have been a nice touch though.

Also, its decently close to the Olympic MTR Station and Olympic Shopping Mall (which connects to the Mongkok MTR Station).

Room Tip: Don't think it makes a big difference choosing the normal rooms vs Cosmorganic - the layout and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Mei, thank you very much for your review. In fact the hotel provides five room categories sizing up to 42 sq m for a more spacious experience, and all the mattresses are imported from the international famous brand Simmons which is good for back support to ensure our guests the quality of sleep, guests can feel free to contact our housekeeping team if there are issues with the bed or anything inside guestrooms, they would be very happy to offer immediate assistance. We’re glad to know that you like our services, while check-in to our Room Cosmorganic can enjoy free access of the Cosmo Lounge offering complimentary Wifi, coffee, tea, and etc. with the key card, I trust that it was miscommunication after your check-out and returned the key card for accessing our Cosmo Lounge. We have briefed the team to offer flexibility in order to ensure all our guests will have pleasurable stay thoroughly. Please feel free to visit our hotel website for details of rooms, latest promotions and exclusive privileges including free WiFi, best rate guaranteed and more for any bookings. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Stay in Cosmo Hotel Mongkok for 2 days. The room is pretty small (but it is quite common in country such as Hong Kong). In general, my room decor is quite modern and look new. The interior design is quite good to fully utilize the existing space. Something I'd like to give compliment is the concierge service. I arrived the hotel using airport transfer in MPV. I got more than 7 pieces of luggages in the car. The moment i stepped down the car, a few strong (and handsome..) guys already waiting out there to assist me in arranging my luagage to the hotel room. They even recommended some nice dim sum restaurants nearby the hotel (within walking distance). As far as the location is concerned, I don't really like it (there are some better choice). As far as the service, no complaint about.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FairyMantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We’re delighted to learn that you enjoyed the stay and like the design in our guestroom, in fact the hotel offers five room categories sizing up to 42 sq m and all of them are smartly designed to maximize use of space for guests’ comfort. You kind comment is very much appreciated and it will be directed to our concierge team. It is always encouraging to hear from satisfied guests because positive feedback serve as reassurance that the team is on the right path. Apart from the free shuttle service which brings our guests to multiple locations in Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon, the nearest Olympic MTR station is within 4-minute walking distance, buses and mini vans are available just outside the hotel to bring our guests to explore around the city. We look forward to welcoming your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in mid August 2012. The hotel is great although their room service menu needs to be expanded to include more than just Thai food and a couple of pasta dishes. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The free shuttle bus is helpful for going out. The MTR is not far and it's approx a 5 - 10 min walk to the Ladies market (not just for Ladies but a fine selection of things you don't need but can't help buying!)
When we're back in Hong Kong, we'll likely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chingfordian2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Ching, thank you for writing about us. It’s our great pleasure to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the warm hospitality from our professional team, also the free shuttle service which brings our guests to multiple locations in Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon. The hotel has a Thai restaurant Thai Pad newly opened on the 2nd floor therefore guests can enjoy a sumptuous selection of authentic Thai delicacies even in their guest rooms while the room service menu also offers sandwiches and pasta dishes with an extensive drink list, we’ll also direct your comments to the restaurant for their review on the selection on menu. Meanwhile, the hotel is surrounded by an array of local restaurants and eateries where guests can enjoy traditional Cantonese food and cuisines of other countries. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

staying in this hotel was an experience for me since its my first time to stay in a botique hotel. the lobby was nice and clean with free wifi. when we got off the elevator i was surprsed since the door of the room was already there. its the first time ive seen a setup like this. then once i got inside the room it was really small, i remember the time when i was in an inside cabin in a cruise ship. there was not really a lot of room to move at, the bathroom was about 2 square meters in size. the room was clean and the view was nice.

the location was ok since there was a convenience store near and the olympic mtr station was just 10 mins walk from the hotel. the food establishments near were good and inexpensive. there was also a shuttle to take you to the mall and to tsim sha tsui area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manilabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently stayed at the Cosmo Hotel and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the quality of the rooms very good. The rooms are daily cleaned and the hotel is located in an exciting part of Hong Kong and close to all services and markets. They have a nice Thai restaurant in the hotel. We also found the rooms to be well air conditioned and quiet. Looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnettsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have being at this hotel in July 2012 for 1 day and decided to book it on the return way after China trip. Unfortunately I was trapped in Shanghai because of Typhoon haikou: the aircompany cancelled the flights and the airport was closed. I informed thу travel agency through which I booked hotel, but because at first flight was only postponed for few hours and between Europe and HK are several hours of time difference, the travel agency received information from me around 4-5 p.m. They contacted hotel but hotel stuff refused to movethe booking to later dates and refused to return payment.
I think it is so unbelievable, that hotel management counts that typhoon is not the reason not to come to hotel !! They say I had to inform in advance about the reason of "not showing" and cancel the booking well in advance. But I can't realise how this is possible?? Who can predict typhoons, how I am supposed to know that if I am a foreigner, I do not speak Chinese, I can't read local newspapers. Moreover government didn't inform foreigners through hotel stuff or whoever. How I was supposed to predict typhoon and inform Mongkok Cosmo Hotel far in advance.
I think it is just rediculous. And Hotel management just want to keep the money, and don't think about their reputation, clients feedback and opinion. It is too bad to be so consious about money, and don't consider act of god events. I absolutely can't believe that 4 star hotel can so much disregard the customers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hoiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for bringing to our attention your recent experience regarding the typhoon. According to our hotel policies, guests will not be charged for their cancellation and amendments because of their flight delay caused by typhoon if the cancellation or amendment is made in advance or even on day. Also, front office would check the flight details before guests’ arrival therefore we could be aware of any possible amendments caused by flight delay or cancellation. In cases like such, guest is also advised to contact hotel directly so that prompt arrangements can be made. Although this is not a standard procedure as all booking amendments or cancellations should be directed to hotel by travel agents yet for our guest’s best interest and conveniences, exception can always be made if situation allows. We do value our guests’ feedbacks the most and strive to offer a pleasurable stay for all our guests. We look forward to seeing you at Cosmo again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#122 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#110 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#21 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#87 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#34 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing