We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #78 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
“Great value!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here so much! Never having been to Hong Kong before, we were very happy to see clean, safe, comfortable accommodations! We booked two rooms, one for my husband and I, and the other for a couple who now live in China. We stayed for three nights. Our friends agreed that it was a very good place to stay. The breakfast that was included with the reservation was a combination of Western and Asian foods. It was truly delightful, one of the best we have ever had with a hotel stay. In addition, our questions related to our reservation were always answered promptly (and with perfect English!) Very competent, friendly staff. The only way I feel the Cosmo could improve on the accommodations is to provide a little more privacy for the bathroom area. But, all in all, it was great. Book early for a good discount.

Room Tip: Book a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 573Chinatraveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you so very much for your comments! Nice to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Speaking of more privacy in the bathroom area, we trust that you are mentioning about the frosting glass design and in fact, there is room type such as our family quad room which makes use of wooden door to invite more privacy. Our reservations team will be happy to explain and recommend the best suitable room type for your next stay. See you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    1,762
    387
    77
    32
See reviews for
934
1,278
322
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Booked 3D/2N stay at Cosmo Hotel Mongkok. For the price, I thought it was a pretty good deal. Promo was through the hotel website. They respond promptly to emails which was good. I had a number of requests for the room (on one of the higher floors, facing the McDonald's side, away from the elevators). Got the first 2, but was placed in a room in front of the elevators.

We arrived in the morning, but were allowed early check-in (check-in is at 2pm). I'm thinking that's the reason why we got the room in front of the elevator, maybe it was what's readily available when we arrived. Since we were going to spend most of our time outside, figured that it was not a problem. Check-in was quick.

There was a bit maintenance work going at the time of our stay, there was a notice of apology in the room about work going until 5 or 6 pm. Again not really a big problem, but there were a bit of banging noises i guess with the repairs.

Room was small, bathroom was small, but was just fine, again with the price. Wifi in the room had additional charges so was careful not to use it - there's free wifi in the lobby, so most guests would hang out there. The hotel can add more sofas for sitting there, as it can get crowded.

Location was okay, with a number of eateries and restaurants around the neighborhood. Good thing about the hotel shuttle, though try to be early before departure times as it can get filled quick. The Olympic station MTR is a bit of a walk, but not that far.

Overall, the hotel was a good base during our stay. It may be a bit out of the way, but it also gives you a local neighborhood feel. The staff were helpful. I would recommend this hotel as value for money.

Room Tip: As advised by other reviewers, try to get a room on the higher floors for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aca_08323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have a 3 nights stay in this hotel. The staff is very helpful and friendly. There will always be people there to open the lobby door and also to hold the lift door for you. When we come back from Macau, they give us a family room with handicapped toilet facilities which we don't quite like it. We requested for a change and they attended to our request immediately and managed to make the necessary arrangement for us which we are quite happy with it.

On the 2nd day, my dad accidentally pressed on the "do not make up" light and they did not come to do the necessary cleaning for us and we call the housekeeping services and they come to make up the room with out any complain.

Their services is really excellent. The only problem the shuttle bus from hotel to mongkok station is always full. If you did not come down early to get a seat, then you will left with no choice but to walk to mongkok station.

I may consider to stay in this hotel again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChengL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Cosmo Mongkok last week. Booked it through hotel website 30 days in advance so we got a really good rate compared to other hotels in hongkong these days. We booked superior room which also included breakfast in the room rate.
Going to the hotel from Kowloon airport express station, you can take hotel free shuttle bus which runs every hour. However, we took taxi cos our arrival time wasn't match with the bus schedule. The taxi costs about 50 HKD, 10 for the luggages I think. Anyway, you can take the bus but make sure you arrive about 10 minutes at the right spot before the schedule time cos the bus will stop only few seconds there.
The hotel itself is nice and clean. The lobby is full of bellboys who's willing to help you with your luggages and always open the door for you. Check in process is fast. I already let them know through mail before that we needed late check out as our flight was in the late evening and they responded back quickly that they allow us to check out as late as 4 p.m. This is really a big plus for us.
Our superior room is small as expected and looked exactly like the pictures in their website. The bathroom is small but very functional. I really like its rain shower. Not recommended for two people who are not couples though (unless you are really close to each other), as the bathroom is not private at all. The bathroom door cannot be closed tightly and there's a hole between the door and the wall that allow person in bedroom to see person in bathroom. But we have no problem with that and I found it's nice to hear tv while taking bath. :)
Breakfast is nice. There's variety of food to choose, congee, dimsum, eggs, bacons, sausages, noodles, breads, salad, cereal and juices. For this price, what can you expect more!
The complimentary shuttle bus is quite handy. But beware of the crowd in the morning and late evening. Be sure to arrive at the bus before its departure time about 15 minutes. We once waited for the bus at china hongkong city stop at 10.45 p.m. which is the last round to find out that it was already full from the langham stop. Quite disappointed, but we can always take either taxi or metro back to the hotel.
Our stay here was a pleasant experience and we would surely stay here again if we visited hongkong.

Room Tip: Stay in higher floor for good view and you can also get into the elevator first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetheart19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Although the Olympic station is said to be 4 mins walk from the hotel, we took about 10 mins to walk there. However they provide free shuttle services to Mongkok station and the Kowloon station. The staff there were really friendly and helpful! The hotel replenished the toiletries and bottled water everyday. Moreover the room was really clean. We enjoyed our stay there and will definitely stay in the hotel again the next time we go Hong Kong!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viv12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hope you enjoyed your recent stay with us! The Olympic subway station is a 4-min walk away and our concierge team will be more than delighted to show the most direct way to go to the station on foot. It is also printed on the location map readily available inside the guest room and upon request at the front desk. The hotel also provides daily free shuttle to Mong Kok (subway / Langham Place Mall), Tsim Sha Tsui (Canton Road / Harbour City) and West Kowloon (Elements / Kowloon station onwards to airport). We are pleased to know that you are happy with the room cleaning and amenities replenishment. Hope to have you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have just had 2 perfect nights @ your hotel. I need to say that even your hotel is not located in downtown area but it doesn't matter at all because we can travel around HKG by starting with yr free shuttle bus service. Your room is suitable & divisibly decorated, it's very nice for me. Furthermore, I also appreciate yr free WIFI very much, it made me always contacted my friends & family.

To whom it may concern, I strongly recommend you to stay Cosmo Kowloon Hotel. You don't need to believe me, just try to prove my words :)

Thanks once again Cosmo Hotel,

Room Tip: If you wanna use free Wi-Fi, you are recommended to contact hotel in advance for the promotion at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuTeeTHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Good location, easy to access. Nice & Clean room. Hotel employee are friendly & helpful.
It will be great if there is an outdoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for the comments. It’s nice to know that you like our convenient location and our friendly/helpful staff. In fact, the hotel is equipped with a 24-hour open Gym Room for working out. Swimming pool, on the other hand, is available at the urban building next to us with an entrance fee. Our concierge team will be happy to offer assistance any time. Hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#124 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#22 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#88 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing