We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute & stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #78 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Cute & stylish”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I recently stayed there on the 26th of May for 2 nights, we landed in Hong Kong around 9am and got to the hotel in about 30mins. The hotel on the outside doesn't look to clever, but as soon as you walk into it, its simply beautiful!
The check in time is at 2 so we had over 4 hours to spend doing nothing, but they offered us a room to have over night with a big price-tag of 660 Hong Kong dollars on top of our paid bill, we declined the offer and walked around our surroundings for a while.
The streets surrounding the hotel are not very nice to look at and the smell was terrible!
We finally managed to pop in to our hotel room about 1, it was beautiful, we paid for a superior room and I'm glad that we did, the views were stunning!
The room itself was very stylish and modern, it was small but ideal and cute for us. The room was very clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful and brought all of our bags in and out of the room, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was amazing! it's just what you need after a long flight!
We ate at the hotel twice, which was a nice little Italian place on the 1st floor, the food was decently priced, but the drinks were quite expensive, we also used the gym, it was very small but clean and modern and good to kill some time.
overall I would stay at this hotel again and I would love to see a few more sights of Hong Kong as it was a beautiful place but not including the terrible smells!!

i hope this information helped :)

Room Tip: Try to book a superior or deluxe room as you will get stunning views of Hong Kong before you go to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
What a lovely comment – “Cute & stylish”, thank you! In fact, flexible 24-hour check-in/out service is available exclusively for all bookings via hotel website, so we suggest that on your next return, book through our hotel website for more exclusive perks! A little tips, our Room CosMorganic will give free access to Cosmo Lounge which is a nice common area for guests to relax or just rest when (in case) the room is not yet ready, with coffee, drinks and WiFi available. Nonetheless, the Concierge counter welcome on-day luggage storage without a charge, which we believe it is great convenience for guests. We are also pleased to learn that you like our modern room, our helpful staff, the comfortable bed, the amazing shower, the restaurant, the gym and all!

Location-wise, the hotel is right nestled in the local neighborhood between Mong Kok and Tai Kok Tsui where a variety of local eateries, shops, supermarkets, wet markets can be found – a surely original Hong Kong experience. Worldly famous Ladies’ Market and Temple Street night market are also a 10-min walk away. We trust that your encounter is not usual as Hong Kong is a civilized city and our Urban Council does all good work on street cleaning and social hygiene. Hope to have you back soon again for a totally fresh stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    1,762
    387
    77
    32
See reviews for
934
1,278
322
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My trip to HK was 4/21 to 5/6, stayed @ Cosmo from 4/21 to 5/3 & moved to a 4-star TST hotel for the remaining days. The stay @ Cosmo was super pleasant - extremely helpful and friendly staff from front desk all the way to housekeeping service. The room (on 16th floor )was very clean (although bit small but space efficiently used) and modern, with huge window & electronic blinds. Hotel located just 10 mins walking distance away from Mongkok MTR station. Bonus is free wi-fi service in lobby. Honestly, if comparing Cosmo w/ the other 4-star TST hotel I stayed in, I would definitely recommend Cosmo in all aspects!

Room Tip: Try to ask for rooms on higher levels to avoid noise from street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Staff were extremely helpful and cheerful, always with a smile on their face. Cosmo is located within reasonable walk distance (15 minutes) from 2 MTR station, Mong kok and Olympic.

Love the area, with many local shops at doorstep to enjoy some local cantonese delight.
Will come back again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were went to Hong Kong on 23-25 May 2012 for little trip with my mom, my sister and my boyfriend. We booked 2 rooms - family and standard room.
The family room is really nice - queen size bed and 2 twin beds and the bathroom is big size with all equipment e.g. iPod docking, LCD TV, microwave, welcome fruit.
But the standard room are very small but yet well layout. It's only fit for people who plan to stay out most of the day and come back to sleep. If you plan to stay and chill in the room, this room type is not recommended.
The staffs are very friendly. Breakfast are little bit boring with not much menu.
The hotel has free shuttle bus to MTR Mongkok, Tshim sha sui and Kowloon airport express but depart every hour. So, you have to plan the time quite good otherwise you will have to wait.
The hotel locate opposite McDonald's and local restaurant. We tried to go for local restaurant there as well they have english menu and taste good but they speak very little english.
The hotel can walk from MTR Olympic station and take about 5 mins.
Overall, we had a fun shopping time in Hong Kong and will come back to stay here next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My family of husband, 2 adult children and myself stayed for 3 nights in March 2012. We enjoyed everything about our stay. The rooms are small (this is Hong Kong after all) but very compact and great use of available space. Very clean. My daughter and I shared a twin room and enjoyed the relative roominess of the ensuite (nice big shower cubicle, good lighting), and the view of the city skyline from the large window. Desk staff were very accomodating and friendly; the shuttle bus is a brilliant idea; the greeting by the concierge was really appreciated and made us feel very welcome. The foyer is spacious, with lots of seating and space for luggage. The location is excellent - close to transport , and lots of eating options nearby. We'd recommend it to anybody. Value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Paid 75 USD per nite for this hotel. Great solid value. New hotel.

(1) I wiped everything down with a disinfectant towelettes and everything came out spotless so I know the room was clean.

(2) Good basis channels on TV as well.

(3) Free bottled water and the bathroom was small but really clean also.

(4) Very helpful staff.

In terms of getting to the hotel from the airport, cheapest way is the E21 bus and getting off at the college on Cherry Street - it is hard to figure out the stop if you don't speak cantonese - but i got lucky and there was someone on the bus who spoke english. It took an hour but costs only 13HKD.

Some minor cons:

(1) 10 minutes at least from nearest subway stop. Not centrally located tourist area but more local - with Mcdonald's and 7-11 nearby.
(2) free wifi only in the lobby - appreciated the plug transformer in the room which allowed u to use us plugs in honking - that was a nice touch.
(3) small reception desk

Overall would recommend highly - especially at under 100 usd.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ongo51720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-sea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed in the Cosmo with my husband and was very pleased with the hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Olympic mtr is only a short walk away so made it very easy to get about. Rooms were clean smart and a great view out of the window. Loved waking each morning and pressing the button for the electric blind to get a great early morning view. Breakfast was good and once again staff good.

Only thing that stopped me giving it a five rating is the fact that there is insufficient lifts and at times the wait was long.

Will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnie5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We are very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us recently and enjoyed our staff service. Olympic station is only a 4-min walk away with trains reaching the rest of Hong Kong. To make things easier, the hotel provides daily free shuttle service to Mong Kok (subway / Langham Place Mall), West Kowloon (Elements and Airport Express Line Kowloon station, and Tsim Sha Tsui (Canton Road and Harbour City). Also nice to know that you like our room, the view and also the breakfast service.
In fact, Cosmo has 3 elevators shared among 285 guest rooms. During high season at rush hours, there might be a bit of a queue yet our guest services manager will try their best to do the queuing control and we hope for your understanding on this. Albeit this, we wish to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#124 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#22 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#88 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing