We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #76 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My family of husband, 2 adult children and myself stayed for 3 nights in March 2012. We enjoyed everything about our stay. The rooms are small (this is Hong Kong after all) but very compact and great use of available space. Very clean. My daughter and I shared a twin room and enjoyed the relative roominess of the ensuite (nice big shower cubicle, good lighting), and the view of the city skyline from the large window. Desk staff were very accomodating and friendly; the shuttle bus is a brilliant idea; the greeting by the concierge was really appreciated and made us feel very welcome. The foyer is spacious, with lots of seating and space for luggage. The location is excellent - close to transport , and lots of eating options nearby. We'd recommend it to anybody. Value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,043 - 3,049 of 3,720 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

Paid 75 USD per nite for this hotel. Great solid value. New hotel.

(1) I wiped everything down with a disinfectant towelettes and everything came out spotless so I know the room was clean.

(2) Good basis channels on TV as well.

(3) Free bottled water and the bathroom was small but really clean also.

(4) Very helpful staff.

In terms of getting to the hotel from the airport, cheapest way is the E21 bus and getting off at the college on Cherry Street - it is hard to figure out the stop if you don't speak cantonese - but i got lucky and there was someone on the bus who spoke english. It took an hour but costs only 13HKD.

Some minor cons:

(1) 10 minutes at least from nearest subway stop. Not centrally located tourist area but more local - with Mcdonald's and 7-11 nearby.
(2) free wifi only in the lobby - appreciated the plug transformer in the room which allowed u to use us plugs in honking - that was a nice touch.
(3) small reception desk

Overall would recommend highly - especially at under 100 usd.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ongo51720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed in the Cosmo with my husband and was very pleased with the hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Olympic mtr is only a short walk away so made it very easy to get about. Rooms were clean smart and a great view out of the window. Loved waking each morning and pressing the button for the electric blind to get a great early morning view. Breakfast was good and once again staff good.

Only thing that stopped me giving it a five rating is the fact that there is insufficient lifts and at times the wait was long.

Will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

We are very pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us recently and enjoyed our staff service. Olympic station is only a 4-min walk away with trains reaching the rest of Hong Kong. To make things easier, the hotel provides daily free shuttle service to Mong Kok (subway / Langham Place Mall), West Kowloon (Elements and Airport Express Line Kowloon station, and Tsim Sha Tsui (Canton Road and Harbour City). Also nice to know that you like our room, the view and also the breakfast service.
In fact, Cosmo has 3 elevators shared among 285 guest rooms. During high season at rush hours, there might be a bit of a queue yet our guest services manager will try their best to do the queuing control and we hope for your understanding on this. Albeit this, we wish to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed at Cosmo hotel mongkok for 3 nights. The service is very very good, I mean, usually in HK you cannot expect well-mannered and courteous staffs, but you can in this hotel. Unfortunately, when we went there the reception was still under renovation so they handled all the check-ins and other enquiries using very small green table near the exit door. For the room, it was pretty small but its HK, however it is very clean and well-thought. I forgot to bring my adaptor and called the concierge, and they told me it was already provided in the drawer between beds. I have never been to a hotel where they provided an adaptor in advance. Usually you have to ask first. The toilet is also pretty cool, I love the rain shower! The downside is, I could hear all the door banging opposite my room and kids running around and people talking loudly. And also, with free wifi only available in the lobby, you can see people lounging on the lobby sofa (which was only limited to like 8 people?) staying there perhaps all day? I would recommend free wifi for all the guests.

Room Tip: Ask the room view before you were handed the room card. My room view was not great, I could see next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indriani E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Thank you very much for staying at Cosmo! We are overjoyed to learn that you find our staff exceptionally courteous and helpful. Since summer is coming up, we recently had an upgrade work for the air-conditioning in the lobby and it’s all done by now. For room selection, the hotel has 5 different categories from 18 to 42 sq m and all smartly designed filled with practical and thoughtful amenities. In fact all rooms are equipped with sound-proof facilities to ensure privacy. In case if a room change is required, our 24-hour on duty guest services manager is always ready to assist. Free WiFi is available in the hotel lobby and restaurant and the super good news is, from 1 May onwards, all online bookings will enjoy free WiFi inside the room regardless of room type! Do check out our hotel website for more information, other exclusive perks include flexible 24-hour check-in/out service, etc. We wish to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Cosmo for 3 nights. With the value, the comfort room considered spacious compared to some other hotels in Kowloon. The decor was excellently done up, making use of every corner of the room to place the essential furniture and fittings for hotel guest's use. The staff's service was excellent especially the bell boy. He greeted us and answered us patiently if we've any questions. Many eateries are also available near the hotel. Mongkok station is about 15mins walk to the hotel. As we were not very familar with the streets in Mongkok, we took quite some time to walk back to the hotel. Although free shuttle bus is provided by the hotel to and fro the mongkok station at an hour interval, the bus will go to other locations (Tim sha shui & kowloon) before back to hotel. Unless the guests do not mind the half an hour (est. if there's no traffic) ride back to the hotel, would suggest to spend about HK$20 on taxi for a 5 mins ride instead.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Service: Staff is extremely courteous, opening doors, smiling and answering any questions.

Room: Room was small but hey it's Hong Kong. The room was decently clean but the carpet was slightly stained due to the fact they put in residential carpet instead of commercial hotel carpet. I am in the flooring business. Ceramic tile in shower had a little mineral build up and some stains. Bed and pillows were nice and firm. Plenty of tv stations to watch on lcd tv. Mini fridge to store some beer and water. Small safe in room to secure valuables. You get two bottles of water free everyday. The only thing that bugged me was the bathroom is built into the room with frosted glass. Air conditioning unit was buggy the entire time I stayed at the hotel. They sent an engineer to fix the unit and got rid of smell coming out of the unit but control unit would make this buzzing sound at random times. Kind of weird when your just with your mom.

Location: It's a bit of a walk to Mongkok station mtr but they have a shuttle bus that leaves every hour that's goes to langham place then to tsim sha tsui then to Kowloon station then back to hotel. My mom couldn't do the walk so we cabbed it all over the place. Thank god cabs are cheap in hong kong.
Wifi is free in the lobby or its 15 us dollars a day in your room.

Fine hotel if you can make the walk to the mtr station but not the best for older people who do not walk well. 95 us dollars a day is a great value for hong kong. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Thank you for your review and delighted to learn that you find our staff courteous, helpful and have made your stay more pleasant. Regarding room-size, we have various types from 18 to 42 sq m suiting different travel purposes. In case if there is any cleaning needed during the stay, please do not hesitate to approach our housekeeping staff so that they can service to your requirement. Happy to know that you like the bed/pillows and channel selections. The frosted glass of the bathroom is a stylish design and to maximize space in the room too. We apologize for the incident you came across regarding the air-conditioning, if a room change is required during stay, our 24-hour on duty guest services manager is pleased to assist.

Location-wise, the hotel is a 4-min walk to reach nearest subway station, and a 5-8 min walk to centre of Mong Kok and Nathan Road, where a variety of entertainment and shopping is found. Free daily shuttle is available to Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon for guest convenience. Our concierge team is always helpful in flagging down a taxi or in anything relating to directions and recommendations. Very good news here – for all online bookings made on or after 1 May, free WiFi will be provided in-room! Free WiFi is also accessible in all hotel public areas. Book through our website next time to enjoy best rate guarantee and more exclusive perks! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in May 2012.

Service: Service was very good. I received help immediately from the concierge and the bellboy. We wanted to try some of the more 'local' dishes around the area and asked the staff at the lobby for recommendation and they weren't wrong. Excellent "youtiao" for breakfast at a HK style cafe and restaurant. The name escapes me but ask the staff and they should be able to direct you.

Location: Free shuttle bus that go to Langham Place and other malls or brief walk to Langham Place and Ladies Market. Not too bad!

Rooms: The washrooms are slightly see through - kind of awkward when travelling with your parents! The washroom partition are 'frosted' so you can't see every detail of the person and what they are doing in the washroom BUT you can definitely see their shadow. If you are uncomfortable with that then maybe this is not the best hotel for you.

The room is VERY small. It's not "uncomfortable" but definitely small. I don't think it could have gotten any smaller. This also makes it awkward, when you are trying not to see what the other person is doing in the washroom...

Free WIFI in the lobby. There is WIFI in the rooms but you have to pay.

Overall: For the price and location, it was not bad... Depending on how many people I travel with next, I may stay at this location again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linneristic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for reviewing us. We are pleased to hear that you reckon our service good and their attentive service has been impressive. Location-wise, the hotel is amid convenient Mong Kok and Tai Kok Tsui within a 4-min walk to nearest subway station and a 5-10 min walk to centre of Mong Kok and Nathan Road. Hotel also provides daily free shuttle service to Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon to drop off guests for shopping and onwards travel. Regarding our bathroom, it’s semi-transparency is a matter of design and to maximize space and stylish décor in the room. In fact, we have other room types that feature a separated bathroom such as our suite and family room. For room size, we have 5 different types featuring 18-42 sq m, our suite and family room can fit in 3 and 4 guests respectively.

Good news is here. Free Wifi is available for all online bookings, on top of that, booking through hotel official website will enjoy other exclusive benefits such as free breakfast, flexible check-in time, etc. We hope to see you with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#32 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,210 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#101 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#114 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,200 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#123 of 723 in Hong Kong
839 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#81 of 723 in Hong Kong
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $79 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing