We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Internet policies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #76 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Booked this hotel in March at hotel web site for stay in May for 4 nights & payed quite a high rate as compared to current rates.To add insult to injury was told because I did not book in May had to pay for internet in Room when most hotels in HK offer free internet in rooms.Can anyone make sense of this hotels internet policy.Rooms tiny & out of the way location long walk to Mongkok area.For same price there are better alternatives.Will not stay here again!

Room Tip: No Good rooms very small
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windyhabour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Thank you for reviewing Cosmo! Our hotel website features seasonal perks to bookers and like any other hotels, they are subject to change without prior notice. In fact, most starred hotels in Hong Kong is charging for Internet. The benefit of free WiFi began to launch on website since 1 May and it’s only applicable to bookings made on 1 May and after (also stated clearly on the site). For official website bookings even before 1 May, there are a number perks such as free breakfast (except Room Comfort), flexible check-in/out service and an extra 20% off for 4-night stay. We hope you enjoyed those perks regardless and reckon our rate is actually value for money.

Regarding room size, our 5 different types vary from 18 to 42 sq m in which the Suite and Family Room are spacious enough to accommodate 3 and 4 guests respectively. Mong Kok area is only a 5-min walk away while the hotel also provides free daily shuttle service to Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon to save guest’s time and energy. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,689)
There are newer reviews for Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,032 - 3,038 of 3,691 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

I was in China and needed a hotel in Hong Kong for a couple days while we awaited our flight back to USA. I used the hotel computer and went on Asia Rooms site. Of course, Hong Kong hotels can be pricey, and I wanted something reasonably priced, yet nice. The Cosmo Hotel in Kowloon was rated by Asia Rooms as being 4-Star. So I booked it for 3 nights at HKD 2,244. This worked out to about USD $96 per night. We arrived there by taxi and the desk clerk immediately pushed us to take an "Executive Upgrade" that was supposed to include a much nicer room and a grand breakfast buffet. That cost me an extra HKD 330 per night, or about USD $42. We got up to the room and it was the smallest hotel room I've seen in 20 years. Basically, you open the door and there is the bed. No closet and no shelf for suitcases. Small stand-up shower that got the sink area wet when you used it. The next morning we went downstairs for breakfast, and it was a small, mostly Asian food buffet. I ate cold cereal most mornings, except once when I saw the cook and asked for scrambled eggs. The hotel location in Mongkok, Kowloon, is far away from any tourist destination and too far to walk to the metro. The hotel did have a shuttle bus, but it did not travel on a convenient schedule and took you on an almost hour-long tour of Kowloon. The restaurant did have good Italian style food, but it was expensive - I paid about USD $70 for dinner for two, plus a glass of wine - we didn't go back. There is no bar, no swimming pool (but a small gym), no free Internet computer (wi-fi is free in the room if you bring a laptop). In other words, I don't understand how they can claim a 4-Star rating.

Room Tip: Next time I will either stay down by the ferry terminal or near the metro line in Tsim Sha Tsui.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom_FLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Thanks for the review. In order to offer more flexibility to guests, upgrading package will be present to guests during check-in and usually with a reasonable addition of price, it will include breakfast, Internet and an upgrade of room. It’s in fact up to the guest’s final decision whether to confirm the upgrade. In Cosmo Hotel, there are 5 different room types ranging from a size of 18 to 42 sq m, our Suite (equipped with bath tub) and Family Room is even spacious enough for 3 and 4 guests respectively. All rooms are smartly designed to accommodate maximum storage space. While for breakfast, the restaurant provides a variety of western and Chinese hot item and cold cuts for international appetites.

Location-wise, the hotel is a 4-min walk to the nearest subway station while we provide free daily shuttle service to Mong Kok, Tsm Sha Tsui and West Kowloon (10 minutes ride between stop and depends on traffic condition). World-known local market Ladies Market is just within a 5-min walk away. Gym Room is available for free for hotel guests and opens 24 hours. In fact, booking directly with us through hotel website will enjoy a lot more exclusive benefits such as free breakfast (on most rooms), free WiFi, etc Rates offered on the hotel website is also best online rate guaranteed as well. We hope that when you next return to us, it would be a different experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed at the Cosmo first week of April 2012. Liked that it was modern, the staff were very friendly, and it was very clean. The rooms unfortunately were very small, we upgraded from a standard room to an executive room but the only difference was the view but it did include breakfast. The location was okay, you will need to take a taxi to the harbour area but luckily taxis are quite easy to find and inexpensive. You are close to local restaurants and convenience stores, so that was nice. Overall, it is a nice hotel and suited our needs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors with the view are worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoMuchFun10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Thank you for taking time to review us and pleased to know that you find our property modern, our staff friendly and our room clean. In fact, we have 5 different room types that feature various room size between 18 to 42 sq m for selection. If booking is made on hotel website, breakfast will be included for all room types (except Rom Comfort). Local restaurants and café are in neighborhood and for guest convenience, free daily shuttle bus is available to drop guests in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon for shopping or onwards travel. Taxi is always within reach with assistance from the Concierge team. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I love this hotel! I think this is the most worth it hotel I have ever stayed in Hong Kong. We got the early bird rate and got our rooms at a cheaper rate. A few days before our scheduled check in, I already received an e-mail from them giving us a weather update and asking for confirmation of our check in time. I got several concerns and they responded swiftly and granted my request for a double bed. When we got to the hotel at around 8 a.m. , we were fortunate that we were allowed to check in early as there was already a room available. I loved the scent of the hotel in the lobby. When we got to the room, we were amazed by the glass wall with view. The curtains were electronic and provided a good shade if you want your room to be dark. The bed and pillows were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was small but very strategically located that moving around does not seem to be a problem. The water pressure and heater were also working great! The airconditioner and tv in the room were also working well! But I must say the aisle and area for elevators are so cold. The best feature of the hotel for me is its free shuttle service to and from the Kowloon Station (very convenient transpo to and from the airport), Tsim Sha Tsui area (China Ferry Terminal) and Mong Kok Station (Drop off at Langham Place). Of course you have to be on time, or better be there ten minutes before the scheduled time of the shuttle to make sure you don’t miss it. The shuttle arrives on the drop off points on the dot or earlier. The staff and service should be well commended because they make sure their guests feel special and taken care of.

Also, the hotel is very conveniently located in front of Mcdonalds and a lot of other good places to eat. We ate at Dumpling Kitchen across Tai Kok Tsui Road and a very busy Chinese restaurant nearby. Both restaurants served great dumplings and Chinese food, very tasty and authentic!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talonglang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The rooms are compact but very well equipped.We were there for 7 days. We were on the 18th floor and had a brilliant view down to the harbour. We made good use of the free shuttle bus which ran hourly to key spots around Kowloon. There are several good restaurants within a few minutes walk, we recommend the Japanese restaurant -Senkaikou in Ivy Street,( in the street past Macdonalds!) excellent food and very reasonable.
We really enjoyed our stay and thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

overall, we are very impressed with this hotel and need to special thanks to 3 of them

C = Cost is so good and very reasonable room is very clean and comfortable

O = Over expectation and we had a very pleasant stay here

S = Super convenience Mcdonald opposite and 7-11 nearby, Olympic MTR is reachable and can connect to major destinations like Ngong Ping, Disney land, central, HK island (no need to jump and change a lot) and if you need to go to mongkok, tsimsajui, yaumatei they have free shuttle service which super convenince only 10 mins

M = Meet and greet by hotel management Mr. Andrew Lee, director of room. We need to thank you because he took a special care to us and very helpful for anything we need. Yannick, the manager is very nice because he ask us a feedback which we feel he care about our staying and Ray, is a very helpful and always smile!

O = Only this one which we will return and will recommend to any people which we know


Thank you very much indeed.


Rawin + Tuangporn

Room Tip: We are a very difficult and requested people but this hotel made us easy and nothing to request anym...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rawincan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

stay 2 night in the hotel. The staffs are friendly and helpful during our stay here. The services manager is especially is very friendly, he enquired of our needs and our comfort in the hotel. It is noticed that there are not enough seats in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mk p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#34 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,175 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#100 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,179 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#80 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,421 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#105 of 721 in Hong Kong
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $74 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing