We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect to rest your head after a busy day”

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #74 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect to rest your head after a busy day”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

At this hotel we got good customer service, a clean room, friendly room staff and a great location.

Hong Kong is a busy, bustling cosmopolitan city and if you would rather spend time in your hotel than exploring the fantastic city then don't book this hotel, in fact don't go to Hong Kong. But if you need somewhere to lay your head after a busy day exploring and shopping, with excellent transport links close to several MTR stations, and within easy walking distance of Nathan Road then book this hotel.

We found the price reasonable, the room is on the small size, but this is Hong Kong and we have stayed in other more expensive hotels and got the same amount of space. The sliding doors to the bathroom are a little strange, but the room is well designed and our shower was powerful and hot.

The location is probably the best thing about this hotel. just 10 mins walk from Olympic and well signposted we jumped of the Airport Express at 8am. Of course we couldn't check in early without paying extra, but in what hotel in the world can you do that? Our luggage was looked after and we were shown to the restrooms where we could freshen up. We headed out into the city and when we returned our room was ready for us.

This hotel is great if you are the sort of people that want to make the most of the city. We will be staying here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review! Just one thing, we’ve recently launched our 24-hour check-in/out service which is exclusive to all official hotel website bookings. This flexible service allows guests to check in anytime of the day and be rest assured that they have the next 24 hours to tour around the city before check-out meaning there is no need to pay extra in order to check in early! You may find more details on our hotel website. We look forward to serving you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

3,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    1,795
    391
    77
    35
See reviews for
956
1,295
333
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, couple with great convenience with its own shuttle bus, chauffeuring you to the nearest MTR station with great connectivity... well, basically everywhere you want to go, either great food or fun destinations, this is definitely a great place to stay.

In a nutshell, cosmo mongkok is the centre of fun and exciting hong kong, a place you will find comfort after a-day long adventure; not forgetting prompt, helpful, friendly staff who are ever-ready to provide you with excellent service with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The rooms are extremely small - barely enough space for the beds, the bathrooms have glass walls to save on even more space. There is no bath! Problem with reservation was not solved by staff - they were quite rude about it. I will never ever stay in a cosmo hotel again given what I've experienced in this one.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you for leaving us a review. Cosmo Hotel Mongkok features 5 different rooms types with a room size that ranges up to a 42 sq. m. that comes with a bath tub in the bathroom. Detailed descriptions of each room type is available on our hotel website while our staff will be happy to explain the difference and assist in selecting the most suitable room for your stay. We treat every room request seriously, and are sorry to hear about your encounter. In fact our hotel staff are all professionally trained to offer quality service and to handle guest request with a helpful and friendly manner. We will certainly pay more attention to this area and look forward to welcoming you again for a more enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Choose another hotel. not this one
The bad reviews you see are true.

After checking on google maps, it is quite easy to find as hong kong streets are well named and numbered. It is across the road from the Olympic station side and has a crossing once you get to the corner of the road.
First impression was new and crowded.
When i arrived the rooms were full and i was told i need to wait till 2pm to check in.
I arrived at 1030am after a 9am landing.
The man offered an upgrade but i must pay an extra $240 per night on top of the cost already paid (not refundable). He said this includeds breakfast and "free wifi".
When i asked if i can have the room but no breakfast he said i MUST have it and no choice.
This is a rip off considering the cost of breakfast at over $100 and 24 hour McDonalds and Chinese food places so close and so cheap and nice.
The Breakfast was not even that nice or complete.
Well i was in a rush to meet people so i took the room.
The room was actually with a view of the nearby mountain and can see quite well and far including the low cloud and traffic which was good for planning the day off site seeing.
The room was small and the bed was tiny.
I had a double bed and being 5'8" my heel was on the end of the bed.
This time of year was cold ad the room Air Con does not have Hot air so it always felt cool in the room and cold at night.
My in room safe was locked and i called for help. it took 1 hour for them to come up and open it for me which delayed me from meeting people.
Room facilities were complete and the shower was unable to be fixed to the pole. Meant the water was flowing too low and the shower area was small.
This is definately for big people. i am slim and i still found it small.

The problems got worse when i checked out.
The wifi is supposed to be free bit i had to pay 10% service charge on it.
I stayed for 2 night but had to pay for 3 days service charge which is a rip off.
Why do they call it free when it is definately not free.
You can get free wifi all over hong kong and meaning no fee to pay.
This hotel is a rip off.
Also the lady that served me talked to me with attitude. She talked to me in Mandarin which i do not understand and being a hong kong hotel shouldnt they start by speaking cantonese ?!
Well she showed me the bill which was detailed and when i started to look and analyse it, she took it back and said i should not see this one and took a few mins to print out a simplified one. Why does she show me the analysis if she wont let me read it ? She didnt appologise for her mistake just said i cant see this one. grrrr.
When she showed the simple one i saw the "extra" costs.
I had my $240 X2 which also showed tax on top and 3 days worth of service charge for the internet. internet is meant to cover 24 hours but the service charge is per day. rip off. cheats.
Also if you use more than one appliance in the room you will pay extra per appliance.
You do not pay one charge in each room. another cheat.
When i asked the lady to explain she didnt answer me but to turn to her collegue and tell her in Cantonese that i do not want to pay.
If i didnt understant Cantonese i would not hear her talk bad of me without her understanding the situation. I was so angry with her response to my needs and she wasnt the right person for this job. she just didnt care what customer needs is or how to deal with it. but most importantly is that i feel she didnt want to be helpful.
Her and her collegue didnt want to escalate it to their manager telling me the manager is busy even before checking for them.
After 5 mins of telling them my dissatisfaction and with not even a reasonable reply i said the money and went.
On leaving i told them that i travelled all over the world and even 3rd world countries dont even treat people in this manner.
This hotel is worse than a third world country hostel.

Customer service is bad
Room is tiny.
Breakfast is expensive and not worth the $ paid.
10 mins from station and far from central for the money paid.

My advice to you is choose another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
We are sorry to hear about your encounter during your stay with us and please accept our apology for any inconvenience that has caused you. Concerned staff has been interviewed regarding the incident that you have raised and understood that the concerned staff who handled your check out should have been more patient when dealing with the inquiry on the invoice. As a matter of fact, the manager on duty at the point of your check out was responding to a fire alarm in the building and the concerned staff should have explained to you and offered alternative superior to assist. We treat every guest comment very seriously and that customer service is our prime concern and we will always strive to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us.

As for Internet service, the charge(s) is clearly stated on the website and booking confirmation that an additional 10% is required as the service charge. The charge is applicable for each device for the sake of internet security and privacy for not sharing the same network. The service charge is counted every 24 hours, and as a matter of fact, the service charge will go to the service provider (not the hotel). According to our record, the room rate you’ve paid is a special deal from our official website that daily breakfast is included. There are also other rate plans on our website which do not include breakfast for selection. For the bed, we use worldly famous Simmons brand which the size is of international standard. Since Hong Kong enjoys a mild climate and usually heater or heating system will not be available inside the guest room yet those can be provided upon request. For anything you need or for any assistance required, our 24-hour on duty Guest Services Manager will be able to assist at their earliest anytime of the day.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope your next experience with us will be a totally different one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights here on a stopover and found it very comfortable. The rooms are small - not unusual for cities, but have been really well designed to make the most of the space. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we used the shuttle bus for getting back and forth to the Star Ferry and MTR. I would certainly use it again visiting Hong Kong.

Room Tip: We were high up so less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Firstly the positives. Customer service was quite good. There were always someone at the lobby helping with carrying luggages and opening doors. Upon arrival, our bags were carried up to our room. There are free internet at the lobby, hence there are always alot of ppl sitting there using their ipad and laptops. Rooms were quite modern and adequate in size for HK. Bathroom could have used abit more ventilation as you can smell the moldiness when you first open the glass door. Now for the negatives. The hotel is located next to a highway/freeway. And you can hear the traffic well into the night. We were there for 3 nights. First night we stayed on level 13 and I could not sleep with the constant noise. The other 2 nights we moved to level 21, still you could hear the sound though not as bad. For some reason there were vibration noises coming from the wall behind the bed so that also ruined my sleep in the morning. The hotel is on the fringe of Mongkok, so to get to Mongkok MTR you have to walk for about 10-15min through narrow streets. Let's just say the route isn't very scenic. There is a shuttle bus you can take every hour which drops you off at Langham Monkok but if you miss it then it's a long wait. If you do alot of shopping, then it's not one of those hotel where you can easily come back to drop off your bags take a breather before continuing. Also didn't find alot of cafes around the area, like you would expect in other parts of HK. There is a McDonald across the street.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up if you want good night sleep. Don't miss the shuttle bus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
We value customer service and hope that our every guest is pleased and leave the hotel feeling happy with our staff and the service that we offer. Good to know that you are also happy with the room and free WiFi service (in the lobby and restaurant). All the bathrooms are equipped with ventilation that ensures good air circulation.
Regarding the noise, we have rooms facing away from the high-fly and our 24-hour on duty guest services manager will be helpful to assist with a room change for such reason, or any reason. Amid Mong Kok and Tai Kok Tsui, subway Mongkok station and Nathan Road famous for shopping are both a 10-min walk from us. We also provide free daily shuttle service to several destinations in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon. Our Concierge team will be delighted to offer direction and assist with any transportation enquiry. Apart from the McDonald’s across the street, there are actually a lot of local eateries and restaurants such as Chinese tea house, noodle shop, together with supermarkets and convenient stores, the hotel is very convenient in terms of food and shopping. Hope to welcome you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights, staff very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. We asked for a room with a view and were given the top floor which offered great views of the city. Room was very small but excellently designed to make it feel bigger. The most comfortable bed I have slept in for a long time which made for really good sleep. The use of the courtesy bus also came in handy too, to get to us down to the harbour. Hotel staff also happy to store our luggage on the last day until late evening, so we were able to enjoy the day without having the hassle of taking it with us.

There is one issue with the room, not for us but I could see it being a problem for others. The design of the bathroom has a sliding front door which even when closed doesn't shut tight. Therefore because of the mirrors in the room, whoever you are sharing with, will be able to see you if you are making use of the toilet. Quite funny for us but might be difficult if staying with someone you are not comfortable with sharing those personal moments with.

I have one real issue with the hotel, it charges you for wifi, not a small charge but a ridiculous 130 HKD a day which is crazy. Most hotels now offer free wifi or at a small charge not a crazy amount like this. They do offer free wifi in the lobby but this is overcrowded and there was never any available seating so isn't very user friendly. Such a shame they are being so greedy, nobody minds a token charge but 130HKD that's outrageous.

Good points, room design, bed, staff and location

Bad points, wifi charge is unbelievable, room size if being picky

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for describing us as a great hotel! We treat every guest request seriously and we try every step to make the stay as pleased as possible. We have 5 different rooms types for selection and the largest room features a room size at 42 sq m for a spacious experience. Our bed is from the worldly famous Simmons brand which is the secret to a good night sleep. Our daily shuttle service drop guests at a few destinations in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and Central free of charge. The sliding door you mentioned is a special design for the bathroom and actually it is frosted to a height that people won’t be able to look through at eye level.
As for Internet charges, it commonly applies to starred hotels in Hong Kong and our rate is in line with same class hotels nearby. Apart from the hotel lobby, free Wifi is accessible in the restaurant on 2/F too. We hope our room design, comfortable bed, helpful staff and convenient location will bring you back to us soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,181 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#93 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,874 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#123 of 718 in Hong Kong
810 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#98 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing