We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean but a little off location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #73 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern, clean but a little off location”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed 9 nights at Cosmo Mongkok in January 2012. We stayed in a family Quad room, the room is not big, however, the design and layout make use of most spaces. There is even a pull-out half table. There is no chair in the room except for a little makeup stool. The beds are comfortable, lighting and air-conditioning and ventilation is not bad. The shower room is big, there is no tub but a big walk-in shower stall that can fit four at the same time. It is funny that the sink in the bathroom is ridulous small compare to the size of the bathroom; it is installed very low and is designed for small children. Ceiling in the room is high. There is a 30-inch flat screen Olivia TV, quality not good.

Location of the hotel is a little off, the shuttle bus is once every hour. It is a good 10 minutes walk to major transportation linesand MTR. May be that's why the price of this hotel is lower than comparable ones in better location.

Our deal came with a buffet breakfast which was decent. A mixture of Chinese and western breakfast.

If you don't mind the location, this hotel provide good value for its price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Our family quad room measures a roomy 42 sq m able to fit in 4 adults with a double bed plus 2 single beds. We are pleased to learn that you are happy with the interior design, the beds and the bathroom! Your other comment on the sink position is actually being remedied with a re-construction. In terms of location, if walking isn’t a good idea, the hotel also provides daily free shuttle service to a few districts such as Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon dropping off guests for shopping and sightseeing.

Booking on our official hotel website will find periodic offers such as free breakfast or free Internet – great deal for a good value stay! We hope you’ll come back to us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    1,794
    391
    77
    35
See reviews for
955
1,294
333
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Stayed in a Superior Twin Room. Room is small as expected, just enough to put two luggage, one beside the window panel and one on the suitcase rack.

Room had ceiling to floor windows with electronic controlled blinds which was pretty cool. Decor was modern, bed was firm and comfy.

Bathroom only had shower which was okay for me as I don't use bathtubs. The one thing i didn't like is the shower pressure, it was very soft.... too soft for a nice hot shower at the end of a long walking day. And the shower lock that holds the shower handle I think was broken so we couldn't adjust the height, it just kept sliding down. Hairdryer pressure was soft as well so if this bothers you, bring your own.

The staff are young and helpful and attire is well presented.

Room had free bottled water.

No wifi in the room and even if you brought a sim card (which is dirt cheap), you can't access it within the room - lobby and restaurant had free wifi.

I purchased a HKD48 sim card (paid HK38 - had a HKD10 voucher when i brought the HK airport express travel pass) - the card had HKD48 and had a HKD10 free top up plus 30 min free wifi session. I was in HK for 5 days and made many many local calls, had HKD20+ left when i left HK (and i didn't even end up using the top up card)

My room came with complementary breakfast, the selection wasn't huge and flashy but the quality was surprisingly good. There was an omelete station but no chef to be found to make it on some days. Our clothes also smell like the kitchen after dining in the restaurant. We had a light breakfast so we could sample the HK food! A lot of chit chat between the waiters when they had nothing to do which could seem quite unprofessional however, they were quick to clear the tables (but not too quick with refills).

The hotel has free hourly shuttle buses that takes you to Mongkok station, tsim tsa tsui, kowloon airport express station. These buses are usually packed full in the morning so be quick to go down as once the bus is full, they will not allow you onto the bus. I think it would be good if the hotel would provide the shuttle every half hour knowing that a lot of people miss out on the buses in the mornings. Nevertheless, Olympic station is about a 8 minute walk away (not 4 mins) and Mongkok is quite a bit of distance away. A taxi ride to Mong Kok is roughly HKD20 + HKD5 per luggage. Beware that around 3-4pm, taxi drivers may refuse to take you because of the short distance... I found out this is the time they change shifts.

Olympic station also has a massive shopping mall with a cinema.

There are several 24 hour convenience store around, two supermarkets and plenty of restaurants. A good congee place is just across the road.

Very very very slow elevators as many people have mentioned - its true!

Quite an expensive hotel but hotels in HK are expensive. But overall a good hotel

Room Tip: Pick a room on the lower floors, the elevator is dead slow..... if you have a lower floor, you can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giraffez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Our Room Superior is at a size of 20 sq m providing comfy accommodation for travelers. Thank you for praising our décor and the comfort of the bed. In fact, we have other room categories that feature larger room size and our suite is even equipped with a bath tub as well while our hair dryer is featured with 3 levels of heat and 2 levels of speed at 1200W. Wifi and wired Internet access are both available in the guest room with a charge, alternatively, free of WiFi is accessible in the hotel lobby and restaurant on 2/F. Thank you for your comments on our restaurants staff, we will ensure regular trainings are provided to them in order to sustain high level of service.

Thank you for your suggestions on the shuttle bus frequency, we’ll take it into consideration for sure. We’ve already had our 3rd guest lift in service and definitely it has helped downsize the queue and crowd. Location-wise, we are surrounded by lots of shops and restaurants/eateries and most of them are of local Hong Kong style. We look forward to have you stay with us and experience the city’s originality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel is located in the Mongkok centre and an MTR station with about 10minutes walk. Lots of local food stalls, restaurant, pharmacy and pretty convienient. Friendly and welcoming staff. Free internet in the lobby area but runnning quite slow. Room was pretty small but neat. Only thing i don't like was the bedsheet seems quite dusty><

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yngamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Having come in from Bangkok, where hotels are very reasonable, Hong Kong is expensive. The hotel we used to stay at is now £200 (US$300) per night. We had to be in the Kowloon area and we spotted this one at about US110 per night. It was a mixture of pleasure and business.
Again compared to BKK , the room was very small, with a standard double bed, we joked that the room is the same size as the bed in BKK (not quite true). But it had everything, it was fantastically laid out. Had all IT tools you could ask for. The shower was best I have had for years. Again if small shower cubicle compared to some.
Breakfast was, business like rather than a great experience.
It had a good business lounge which had everything you could need. The staff were very friendly and professional. At least 50% of the guests were of Chinese origin, which is how it should be.
We will be back to HK again in April and will definitely be staying there.

Room Tip: OK - pay the extra to be above 15 floors - that is above the low rise buildings and the view will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidGHooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Our hotel has 5 room categories for travelers of different purposes. Room size varies from 18 to 42 sq m with our suite and quad room spacious enough to accommodate 3 and 4 guests respectively. Thank you for your positive comments on our breakfast and lounge and hope you reckon your recent stay has been one with great value! We look forward to welcoming you again in April!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I had stayed there last year with pleasant experience, free luggage storage and daily free newspaper. However, I stayed there once again this year and wanted to leave a luggage until I come back in 25 days and stay there again. This time I was asked to pay luggauge storage fee hk$30 per day without prior notice or any clear notification around hotel. I was shocked by this unreasonable request and luckily I have friends in hk to keep my luggauge but it should be nightmare for visitor who has no choice to pay.
By the way, I was waken up by the noise of tv from my neighbor in the middle of night due to the thin wall. Next day I complaint to the receptionist but she just asked me to call the front desk when it happened again without any proper assistance, e.g. To leave message to that tenant to keep quiet at night. That is really terrible for traveller whose sleeping is interrupted in the middle of night and not able to sleep again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. Luggage storage fee is a common practice for starred hotels in Hong Kong and our fee is in line with same class hotel in the surrounding area. Policy of storage fee is also stated on our official website on the Quick Search page notifying guests about such fee (please see Baggage Storage 5th item from the top). All of the room in the hotel is equipped with sound-proof facilities to ensure high level of privacy inside the room. If there is a need for room change during the stay, our 24-hour on duty Guest Services Manager is more than happy to assist. Look forward to be of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This was our first stay in Hong Kong so I am unfortunately not able to compare it to other hotels in the area. We paid about USD 180 for the room so we didn’t expect too much. Arriving after 22h00 also usually means that you are not going to get the best of rooms. Were we pleasantly surprised! Twice that amount of money wouldn’t get you a comparable room in New York. We had a room on the 22nd floor and it was more like a small apartment. There was a small kitchenette, a living room, a separate bedroom and a nice bathroom. Both the living room and the bedroom had a TV and a view over the city. The bed was perfect – clean crispy linen, nice pillows and a good quality mattress. The room was quiet and the climate control worked well. The bathroom was spacious and the water pressure more than adequate. The complimentary breakfast was a nice mixture of standard Western fare and a few interesting Eastern dishes to satisfy our taste for adventure. The hotel is about 10 minutes easy walk from the Metro station, but there is a shuttle bus that will take you there if you don’t feel like walking. We used the shuttle bus to get the shopping areas, the ferry terminal and at the end of our stay, to take us to the main station for our trip to the airport. All complimentary and hassle-free! Just talk to the very friendly staff and they will steer you in the right direction.

Room Tip: Make contact with the hotel before your trip. I suppose the higher the room, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BramenKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampang, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Excellent location with restaurants and supermarket around, good shuttle bus service with super friendly bus driver, speedy internet speed but only available at the lobby, will be perfect if room got free wifi. clean and good view from room.lobby staffs are friendly and effective too.

Room Tip: some rooms with nice view but some rooms without view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luiluiyeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,182 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#111 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#93 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,870 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#125 of 718 in Hong Kong
810 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#98 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing