We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #78 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Hotel is clean and I have a wonderful stay during my trip to hong kong. The Wifi line at the lobby is fast. Friendly staff and the hotel provides free shuttle service to most of the mtr station. But the hotel only has 2 elevators which has limited space, so if in that morning a group of customers need to check out then you'll need to wait 10-15 minutes to get a ride. But overall I'll like to stay here again for my future visits.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloKitty0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Thank you for writing us a review and we are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. Our Internet enjoys a speedy 100MB connection for a pleasurable surfing experience. MTR subway station is only a 4-min walk away and our free daily shuttle service drop off guests at Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon for shopping and sightseeing. Regarding the elevators, as a matter of fact a 3rd guest lift is scheduled for construction in early next month and will be in service in mid of December 2011.

Once again we are pleased to have you here and hope to be of service to you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,337 - 3,343 of 3,898 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

This was our first stop on our honeymoon and we were quite satisfied with the Cosmo Hotel. The location is a little farther away, but we found everything in Hong Kong to be in walking distance, plus the hotel offers a free shuttle hourly I believe. There is lots to do and see nearby, and public transportation is great in this city. The hotel rooms are small, but nothing uncommon in Asia. The front staff were helpful and friendly also. We found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and liked the blackout style curtains and little reading lights attached to the headboard. There is no free internet in the rooms which is a bit of a nuisance, however, in the lobby you do have free access. It can be busy there, but we never had too much trouble finding a seat. There is also a 24 hour McDonalds across the street, which is convenient if you are hungry at odd hours.

Room Tip: Book early to get a better rate on the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hhejjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Thank you very much for writing us a review! You are right that there are a lot to do and see nearby our hotel area as we are overwhelmed by an array of shops and local eateries such as Chinese restaurants, congee shops, herbal tea parlor, so on and so forth. We also have a few convenience stores within walking distance which adds great convenience to hotel guests. To ease guests a little bit more, we offer free daily shuttle to drop off guests for shopping and sightseeing in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon. In terms of room size, we have 5 different sizes ranging from 18 to 42 sq m. for various travel purposes. Wired and wireless Internet is accessible with a charge inside the room, while free WiFi is available in hotel lobby and restaurant on 2/F.

We thank you for the praises that go to our friendly and helpful staff! Currently our official website is offering some special early birds promotions and those exclusive offers will be updated from time to time. Do check out our website when you next visit us and be prepared to come to us with good surprises!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

First of all, the hotel is not accessible by MTR or public transport. This is made up by an excellent free shuttle bus that leaves the hotel every hour at half past for MTR Mongkok, China ferry terminal and Kowloon MTR station.
The neighbourhood is nice and safe, full of restaurants, shops and eateries.
To walk to Mongkok MTR takes about 15 minutes.
Nearest big shopping Mall is Olmpian City at Olympic MTR.

The staff, especially concierge and porters are all very helpful and friendly.

Our double room was very small. Not really enough room to leave your backpack or suitcase.
Clean, with good bed and hard mattress. Full of mirrors.
The safe in the room is a good thing.

Only drawback is a double beep(tone) every time the lift opens to the corridor. This we even heard at night, although our room was about 4 metres away from the lift.

Forget about the breakfast buffet in the hotel for HKD 110.
Across the street there is a nice bakery.

Room Tip: 1. not near the lift 2. the higher up the better (hotel has more than 25 floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Your subject “Good value for money” marks a very good compliment for us so thank you! You are right our hotel is located at a very accessible location where subway stations are just a few minutes’ walk away. Our daily free of charge shuttle service is also our most favorite service that has eased hotel guests from doing shopping and sightseeing in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon. Your praises have also been passed on to our concierge team in which their helpfulness and friendliness have won applauses from other hotel guests too. For the room size, we have thoughtfully designed 5 different categories measuring 18 to 42 sq m. Our Suite Air and Room Family Quad provide a spacious living environment for triple and quadruple occupancy respectively! Our bed is from the internationally famous brand Simmons and as we understand sleeping is a very personal experience hence we provide mattress topper if a fluffier support is what is sought after. Our Housekeeping team will be delighted to assist if you need anything in the room during your stay.
All our rooms are equipped with sound proof facilities that ensure privacy in-room, if there is a need for room change, guest can approach our 24-hour on duty Guest Services Manager for assistance anytime of the day. Breakfast is served at the famous in-house Italian Cinecitta restaurant where a variety of hot dish and cold cuts are served in the morning. To experience a taste of Hong Kong, there are abundant selections of local eateries such as Hong Kong style café, congee shop, Chinese restaurants, etc immediate around the hotel. Hope to have you here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The room was lovely, the view was amazing, and the free buffet breakfast made my day. It was easy to walk to Olympic Station and the mall at Langham Place. But while the staff was perfect in a robotic way, I wish they had been a little more human. I understand that check-in doesn't start until 2, but when you see a guest waiting for an hour beforehand wouldn't it be nice to say "your room is ready now" at some point? At one breakfast a staff member interrupted my meal to demand my meal coupon -- which I'd just given to her co-worker. Nitpicky, but I just got a cold, inflexible vibe in general. Again, everything that mattered was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firewatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Location: It's approx 10-20mins walk from the hotel to the nearest Olympic MTR. walk across the road to Mcdonalds, past Mannings (Guardian) store and you'll be at the start of the bridge walkway. after that, its a breeze.
To get to Mongkok for Ladies Market, its bus 18, just 2mins front of the hotel or 2mins towards the left side of the hotel. although the return trip is just 3 bus stops away from mongkok (take the bus 18 across Langham Palace, Mongkok Market), the route to mongkok from the hotel may take about 15stops as it goes thru the neighbourhood area. but really, its so convenient if you don't wanna walk to the MTR.
There are restaurants all over the area beside the hotel, 7-eleven, 24hour cafe, mcdonalds, pizza & western food restaurant and a grocery store.

Room: Comfort Room was clean, the housekeeping does that everyday too, mine was on the 25th floor, its quiet enough not to hear televisions from other guests but you can hear them chatting when they walk past. (encountered noisy families) toiletries from towels, shower gel & body lotions, tooth brushes, paste etc were provided. the room had wifi router which you could plug your laptop to using the lan cable provided. my room had an ipod/iphone speaker which you can plug your iphone to, very nice touch. mini refrigerator, safe with complimentary water. the room had a good view with automated blinds that you can keep close for privacy.
i would think a couple with luggages may find the comfort room small as the walkable areas in the room may be blocked if you place the luggage on the floor. the bed was comfortable and lush. the room i had didn't have a closet. so comfort room would be good for single travelers

Service: Staff could speak english, cantonese, mandarin I'm not sure about other languages, their service was prompt and good.



Finally, yes, i would stay there again!

Room Tip: Comfort Room - For Single travelers and Couples who do not mind the lack of area for luggages to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fruittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I did not read abt their quad room review thus give it a try for my family of 4. It was excellent and spacious and is exactly what we wanted. A double bed and 2 single bed. Mr Augustine and his team were very helpful and thoughtful thru our stay. Mr Augustine attend to our need and send little gift for the children personally and tat make their days. The shuttle bus is useful but is not a problem to hail as cab if u miss e bus. Food is everywhere around e hotel. I will come back and recommend to my friends. Well done

Room Tip: go for quad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Generally, it was a pleasant stay here for 5 nights, but with some minor dissatisfaction. Here's my experience:

Pros:
------
Location: It is not really near to MTR station. But hotel does provide shuttle bus hourly from hotel to Langham Place (near mongkok station) and few other places. Even if you miss the bus, you can always take a cab to & fro Mongkok station for HKD20, to & fro Tsim Sha Tsui for about HKD30-40 which is quite reasonable. Nothing much happening nearby but you won't have problem looking for food or 7-11 nearby, and McDonald 24-hours is just right opposite.

Room: Although the room size is not that big, but it was clean and modern. The room is bright enough during day time with the wide glass windows. The thing i like the most is the shower. Room service does not include changing new bed sheet and linen daily by default, it is upon request but it shouldn't be any problem.

Service: Front desk service is ok. Concierge staff were more friendly and helpful.

Value: Booked this hotel 1 month earlier via their official website with 30% off for early bird promotion which save me a lot. But this promotion is not entitle for any cancellation, full payment has to be made upon booking, so make sure your trip is confirmed before choosing this promotion.

Cons:
-------
Location: Overall is ok with shuttle bus and taxi. But it would be better if the frequency of shuttle bus can increase from hourly to half hourly.

Value: Using wifi in room are required to pay HKD12 for service tax per day per device (your phone/tablet/laptop) upon check out, but using wifi in lobby is free of charge. Most of the time, lobby is pack.

Service: I requested 2 rooms at same floor during booking and it was confirmed via email from customer service. However, when we check in, we were given 2 rooms in separate floor instead during first night. Reason given was no room available. Apart from that, room service done is not standard daily. Sometimes no water and floor mat after room service, and I have to request manually to get it. I would say it is not really consistent as it only happened to 1 of our room while the other was ok.
* The only unpleasant experience was during check out, they actually charge us for 7 login on certain day, which is impossible as we only used 1 phone for browsing for that day. The staff insist that was our usage and suspect that we use wifi with other phone or laptop and want us to pay. After showing the proof of our iphone's mac address, and some argument went on, the staff finally waived the extra charges for us. That's the only thing we are not really satisfied about. So please check your wifi usage when check out before paying blindly.

Room: It will be nice if the room is bigger.

Anyway, still a good hotel and still recommended for short stay.

Room Tip: Corner room seems to have bigger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meisiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2011

Thank you very much for your detailed review for us! We are happy to know that you are pleased with our location, shuttle bus service, our clean and modern rooms as well as our staff service. There will be exclusive offers for bookers via our official website, the 30% discount is still on and recently we are giving out free daily breakfast! Your comments on our rooms service have duly noted and we will brief our housekeeping staff to pay more attention on the amenities provision. We always try our best to satisfy our booking requests yet the fact is we might not be able to comply to all due to tight room situation during travel high season. It is good to know that our staff has moved you back to the same floor on the 2nd day when room comes available.

Ok now the cons. Our shuttle service will actually frequent during rush hours in the morning to meet the high demand. As for the internet service charge, it is a 10% of the plan which is applicable to both paid and free plans, and those are to be collected by the service provider. Free Wifi is alternatively accessible in the hotel lobby and restaurant on 2/F. I am sure the incident you mentioned is only due to the miscommunications and it’s a rare case, and it’s good to know that it was settled at last. Regarding our rooms, 5 different categories feature room size ranging from 18 to 42 sq m with our Suite Air and Room Family Quad even spacious enough to fit into 3 and 4 guests respectively. Next time when you stay with us, please try out one of those to enjoy a more roomy experience. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,423 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#128 of 729 in Hong Kong
903 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#104 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,014 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#90 of 729 in Hong Kong
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $41 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing