We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable to a Fault”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #77 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impeccable to a Fault”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The room was lovely, the view was amazing, and the free buffet breakfast made my day. It was easy to walk to Olympic Station and the mall at Langham Place. But while the staff was perfect in a robotic way, I wish they had been a little more human. I understand that check-in doesn't start until 2, but when you see a guest waiting for an hour beforehand wouldn't it be nice to say "your room is ready now" at some point? At one breakfast a staff member interrupted my meal to demand my meal coupon -- which I'd just given to her co-worker. Nitpicky, but I just got a cold, inflexible vibe in general. Again, everything that mattered was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firewatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    1,764
    387
    77
    32
See reviews for
936
1,278
324
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Location: It's approx 10-20mins walk from the hotel to the nearest Olympic MTR. walk across the road to Mcdonalds, past Mannings (Guardian) store and you'll be at the start of the bridge walkway. after that, its a breeze.
To get to Mongkok for Ladies Market, its bus 18, just 2mins front of the hotel or 2mins towards the left side of the hotel. although the return trip is just 3 bus stops away from mongkok (take the bus 18 across Langham Palace, Mongkok Market), the route to mongkok from the hotel may take about 15stops as it goes thru the neighbourhood area. but really, its so convenient if you don't wanna walk to the MTR.
There are restaurants all over the area beside the hotel, 7-eleven, 24hour cafe, mcdonalds, pizza & western food restaurant and a grocery store.

Room: Comfort Room was clean, the housekeeping does that everyday too, mine was on the 25th floor, its quiet enough not to hear televisions from other guests but you can hear them chatting when they walk past. (encountered noisy families) toiletries from towels, shower gel & body lotions, tooth brushes, paste etc were provided. the room had wifi router which you could plug your laptop to using the lan cable provided. my room had an ipod/iphone speaker which you can plug your iphone to, very nice touch. mini refrigerator, safe with complimentary water. the room had a good view with automated blinds that you can keep close for privacy.
i would think a couple with luggages may find the comfort room small as the walkable areas in the room may be blocked if you place the luggage on the floor. the bed was comfortable and lush. the room i had didn't have a closet. so comfort room would be good for single travelers

Service: Staff could speak english, cantonese, mandarin I'm not sure about other languages, their service was prompt and good.



Finally, yes, i would stay there again!

Room Tip: Comfort Room - For Single travelers and Couples who do not mind the lack of area for luggages to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I did not read abt their quad room review thus give it a try for my family of 4. It was excellent and spacious and is exactly what we wanted. A double bed and 2 single bed. Mr Augustine and his team were very helpful and thoughtful thru our stay. Mr Augustine attend to our need and send little gift for the children personally and tat make their days. The shuttle bus is useful but is not a problem to hail as cab if u miss e bus. Food is everywhere around e hotel. I will come back and recommend to my friends. Well done

Room Tip: go for quad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k0h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Generally, it was a pleasant stay here for 5 nights, but with some minor dissatisfaction. Here's my experience:

Pros:
------
Location: It is not really near to MTR station. But hotel does provide shuttle bus hourly from hotel to Langham Place (near mongkok station) and few other places. Even if you miss the bus, you can always take a cab to & fro Mongkok station for HKD20, to & fro Tsim Sha Tsui for about HKD30-40 which is quite reasonable. Nothing much happening nearby but you won't have problem looking for food or 7-11 nearby, and McDonald 24-hours is just right opposite.

Room: Although the room size is not that big, but it was clean and modern. The room is bright enough during day time with the wide glass windows. The thing i like the most is the shower. Room service does not include changing new bed sheet and linen daily by default, it is upon request but it shouldn't be any problem.

Service: Front desk service is ok. Concierge staff were more friendly and helpful.

Value: Booked this hotel 1 month earlier via their official website with 30% off for early bird promotion which save me a lot. But this promotion is not entitle for any cancellation, full payment has to be made upon booking, so make sure your trip is confirmed before choosing this promotion.

Cons:
-------
Location: Overall is ok with shuttle bus and taxi. But it would be better if the frequency of shuttle bus can increase from hourly to half hourly.

Value: Using wifi in room are required to pay HKD12 for service tax per day per device (your phone/tablet/laptop) upon check out, but using wifi in lobby is free of charge. Most of the time, lobby is pack.

Service: I requested 2 rooms at same floor during booking and it was confirmed via email from customer service. However, when we check in, we were given 2 rooms in separate floor instead during first night. Reason given was no room available. Apart from that, room service done is not standard daily. Sometimes no water and floor mat after room service, and I have to request manually to get it. I would say it is not really consistent as it only happened to 1 of our room while the other was ok.
* The only unpleasant experience was during check out, they actually charge us for 7 login on certain day, which is impossible as we only used 1 phone for browsing for that day. The staff insist that was our usage and suspect that we use wifi with other phone or laptop and want us to pay. After showing the proof of our iphone's mac address, and some argument went on, the staff finally waived the extra charges for us. That's the only thing we are not really satisfied about. So please check your wifi usage when check out before paying blindly.

Room: It will be nice if the room is bigger.

Anyway, still a good hotel and still recommended for short stay.

Room Tip: Corner room seems to have bigger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meisiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you very much for your detailed review for us! We are happy to know that you are pleased with our location, shuttle bus service, our clean and modern rooms as well as our staff service. There will be exclusive offers for bookers via our official website, the 30% discount is still on and recently we are giving out free daily breakfast! Your comments on our rooms service have duly noted and we will brief our housekeeping staff to pay more attention on the amenities provision. We always try our best to satisfy our booking requests yet the fact is we might not be able to comply to all due to tight room situation during travel high season. It is good to know that our staff has moved you back to the same floor on the 2nd day when room comes available.

Ok now the cons. Our shuttle service will actually frequent during rush hours in the morning to meet the high demand. As for the internet service charge, it is a 10% of the plan which is applicable to both paid and free plans, and those are to be collected by the service provider. Free Wifi is alternatively accessible in the hotel lobby and restaurant on 2/F. I am sure the incident you mentioned is only due to the miscommunications and it’s a rare case, and it’s good to know that it was settled at last. Regarding our rooms, 5 different categories feature room size ranging from 18 to 42 sq m with our Suite Air and Room Family Quad even spacious enough to fit into 3 and 4 guests respectively. Next time when you stay with us, please try out one of those to enjoy a more roomy experience. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Apart from the warm reception by a male front office staff, everything else was below average.
They charge HKD33/hour for wi-fi in the room but no charge if you use your notebooks at the lobby. Forget about finding a seat at the lobby if you are waiting for your tour bus or friends to come pick you up - the limited sofa (sic - only one sofa) was always taken by the "surfers". Forget about enquiring at the front office especially when it's manned by their female staff - they would just cast a blank look or answer you without any eye contact! Go to the concierge desk instead - the guys are real friendly and helpful! Whatever needs/enquiries you have, look for the male staff - the females ought to be sent to boot-camp!!
They do have shuttle service to Mongkok & Kowloon Stations but you have to open your eyes and be quick to board it as they do not have a system that ensures early birds their seats, hence you may not get your "worms".
One plus point is the location - restaurants, shops, convenient stores are found all round the hotel. Mongkok Station is about 15mins and Olympic Station about 10mins walk.
We would have had a cool time if not for the "cold treatment" from the front office.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiowTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you very much for your compliments on our Concierge team, they will keep up the good work and ensure to impress our guests in the future. To ease surfers, our free WiFi service is not only available in the hotel lobby but as well in the restaurant on 2/F. As for your comments on our female staff, we will ensure regular service training is provided to our crew to elevate their customer skills to an even higher standard. Location-wise, we are a 4-min walk from subway Olympic station and 10-min from Mongkok station and the hotel also provides daily free shuttle service to various destinations in Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon to drop off guests for shopping and sightseeing. Our own shuttle bus has 28 seats and operates on a first-come-first-serve basis. A wide variety of shops and eateries can be found immediate around us such as chained fast food shops, local Chinese restaurants, congee shops, as well as grocery shops and 3 convenience stores within walking distance. We hope next time when you stay with us you’ll have an even better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M'sia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Before moved to Cosmo Hotel, i was staying in Royal Pacific. Compare with Royal Pacific Hotel, this hotel is 100% smoke free.
Good thing about this hotel is :-
1. hotel provided the free shuttle services to the important stops
2. clean and tidy
3. front desk service is friendly

However, the room is very small, esp the bathroom which i think only slim people can fit into the shower place. The sound proof is kind of bad as we can hear people talking very clearly from the room or even when you are walking along the corridor. If you are travel with family , please take the family suite.
In terms of location, nothing much around that area. You can grab your food at the street opposite the hotels but don't expect something very fancy but there is one nice porridge restaurant (sifu) which is located along the path towards to the Olympic MRT station. The nearest MRT station is Olympic station, which is just about 7 mins walk from the hotel. This station is reside in the same MRT path to the Big Buddha and Disneyland located at Lantau Island without any interchanging station is required.
Generally, it's still a recommended hotel to stay.

Room Tip: For family, please take the family suite. For standard room, please take the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaliDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Cosmo Hotel Mongkok is a 100% smoke-free hotel providing a responsible and green environment for guests. We strive to give sincere and friendly service to our guests and we have been constantly complimented with excellent customer services from guests of different nationalities. We are also pleased to learn that you like our convenient shuttle service and the cleanliness/tidiness of the hotel.
In terms of room size, our hotel has 5 different room categories feature room size that ranges from 18 to 42 sq m. Our Suite Air and Room Family Quad are spacious enough to fit in even 3 and 4 guests respectively and our Suite Air also features a bath tub too. All rooms in the hotel are equipped with sound-proof facilities in order to ensure in-room privacy. Talking about our location, we are surrounded by a full suite of eateries including chained fast food restaurant, local Chinese restaurants, cart-noodle shop and also grocery shops including 2 convenience stores within walking distance. Those eateries around us are of local Hong Kong style which are most visited by local citizens so do try out to have a taste of Hong Kong! Subway Olympic station is a mere 4-min walk from us and a direct ride from there can reach several tourist spots such as Disneyland, Ngong Ping 360 cable car ride etc. We hope to have you with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Very well decorated, but the price of S$250 a night was on the high side.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwokpeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for liking our decoration and our cleanliness. November is a travel high season in Hong Kong hence the room rates will be elevated depending on the demand and supply of rooms. This is a usual practice among all hotels in Hong Kong and we hope your understanding with this. That said, our official website offers exclusive promotion and value-added offers from time to time, so do check it out regularly to enjoy a nice Cosmo stay of value. As a matter of fact, our hotel has been constantly complimented with its excellent customer service and convenient location with an array of shops and eateries around, so we can ensure the value of money and hope that we can be of service to you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#124 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#22 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#88 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing