We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #73 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent little hotel”
Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed here at the end of May and the beginning of June on two separate occasions. The only downside to the hotel is the size of the rooms. They are very compact! BUT .... if you only want somewhere to sleep at night they're perfect. The hotel is situated in an ideal location, close to amazing shopping centres and local transportation. The hotel provides a free, regular shuttle service to shopping centres and bus and MTR stations. It's ideally situated if you want to go to Hong Kong itself or pop over the border to China. It's a very clean and well laid out hotel and I can't praise the staff highly enough. Every one of them is polite, helpful and friendly. I will certainly be staying there again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    1,795
    392
    77
    35
See reviews for
956
1,295
333
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

truly, the rooms were tiny - but cute and clean! not recommended for people who want a big space to move around. the bathroom was also expectedly tiny; water pressure was great though. overall, the service was commendable. their free shuttle comes in handy (it stops @ the ferry terminal to macau and a few shopping malls). just noticed that the "morning/AM" front desk staff were LESS friendly than the afternoon staff. there were also very few seats/chairs in the lobby, but that's not really a big issue.
location is good - very near the night markets and 10mins away from the MTR station.

this hotel is cheaper compared to the others in the area. we would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

No regret, No question but the staffs are slightly not not friendly but overall they are helpful. Rooms are small as I took 7 members to stay in 3 rooms for 5 days 4 night solely in this hotel. Room service are superb and cleaning service are good. Toilet are just nice for a 100kg fatty like me!!
Place is good as very near to Olympic MTR station which is just 5 minute work and also near Olympic mall which basic shopping can be done.
Food are easily to get as all situated is a walking distance. Convinence in going to Mongkok nightmarket and jade market also digital street which I got my SLR lences CHEAP!!

Best to mention I forgotten to take my h/p charger which they call me back to get it. VERY honours!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank biofresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for your compliments! To cater different travel budgets, we offer a well range of room categories of different sizes. When you next visit us, why not try out our Suite Air or Studio Air, they both promise a more spacious stay with a room size of 420 sq. ft. / 39. Sq. m. Cosmo Mongkok is well-situated in a very touristy location and we’re happy you like it just as we do! Apart from Olympic mall, other mega shopping centres like Langham Place Shopping Mall, Elements and Harbour City are all made easily accessible with our free shuttle bus service. Alternatively, if you’re looking for a good bargain shopping, you’re most welcome to contact our Concierge everyone from the team will be delighted to give you good tips on where to go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

the room we booked was not very big but if you are not big the space will be enough, we did not spend any time in the room apart from the sleep at night. very comfortable beds, safe, tea/coffee make, amazing shower (great water pressure), not too many tv channels.around 7 min walk to the underground, free shuttle every hour, but taxi are very cheap. not too much around but most important was the fact that mcdonalds is opposite.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyhalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Stayed here on a stopover from London to Brisbane. Friendly staff, great location (close to ladies Market and Metro station) views from room were incredible! Would stay again.

Room Tip: Tri to get a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Pros - Location is good. Near to MTR, walking distance to Mongkok Shopping area, and free shuttle to Mongkok, Kowloon and the Macau ferry terminal. Service is good too.

Cons - Room is absolutely the tinest I have seen! No room to walk and no space to hang clothes or stuff. The bathroom is even tinier! With barely enough space to bend down if you drop something. No meant for guests who are bigger built.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chryssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CosmoHotelMongkok, General Manager at Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for liking our location, the convenient shuttle bus network and the amicable service, we’re happy you find them all agreeable. For room size, we offer 6 room categories with measurement up to 420 sq. ft. / 39 sq. m. I’m sure there will be a room option that will meet with your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chiang mai, thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I stayed at the cosmo for one night with a friend. We were going to Macau the next day and were just looking for a nice place to crash after traveling. We were at first annoyed with them because they have a shuttle that picks you up for free but when it got to us, it was full :( They told us we could wait two hours or get a taxi- so pretty much- you're on your own! So, we grabbed a taxi and went to the cosmo. When we got to our room, the anger went away because we were so impressed. It was clean, modern, and very fresh. We really enjoyed our stay. I cannot comment on location because we weren't there long enough but if an MTR isn't within walking distance, I wouldn't stay because all you do in hong kong is WALK!! :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimgNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#24 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,183 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#93 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,877 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#125 of 718 in Hong Kong
811 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#98 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing