We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, helpful staff, tiny room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Ranked #77 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, helpful staff, tiny room!”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

The Cosmo Kowloon represented great value for money in Hong Kong. Its a little bit out of the way from the tourist area's but is only a short walk to the nearest subway station (about 5-10mins). The restaurant is fairly dated and I wouldn't rave about the food either but it does provide an OK breakfast in an area of HKG that is lacking in good eateries.

The room that we stayed in was a deluxe and was absolutely tiny! The use of space within the room is quite ingenious but this wares off quickly when you are on top of each other at all times - bathroom and bedroom are literally separated by a semi-perspex glass wall.

The staff were very helpful and were able to answer all of our queries. Take advantage of the free shuttle bus which departs hourly and has several stops around the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timocall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    1,812
    395
    79
    36
See reviews for
970
1,305
337
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN USA
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The outstanding service from the staff impressed me. I have to admit I was pretty disappointed by the room sizes, but I finally adapted to this for a short overnight stay.
I had never heard of this hotel until my company booked it. Upon arrival, I found the location to be adequate, close enough to manage where I wanted to go.
But the service attitude of the staff made my day. Check in was fast, professional and friendly. Waits for the two elevators proved to be long most of the time.
The room......wow, so surprised at tiny size for a newly opened hotel. I was really disappointed when I arrived, but I became accustomed to this and for one person this was ok. Similar to some other HK hotels, but did not expect for new place.
The bed could only be accessed from one side and the TV was wall mounted to make some room. The decor was well done to offset the tiny space and I decided I could cope for short term visit.
I had two disappointments.
I set the temperature for 28 to try and warm up the chilly room, but discovered it was colder. I finally decided the heat was broken and called for help. They sent a space heater and I later learned from other reviews that apparently the hotel does not have heat!. For 10 months this is fine.
I am very disappointed that this is not somehow high lighted when you arrive to check in or in the room.
Other shock was the new building under construction outside my window. On 23rd floor, I was look at the faces of the workers and they were noisy.
I tried to sleep in on Saturday, but the workers had other plans for me.
Overall - for the price I paid (HKD 1000+) I was not impressed with no heat, and construction noise. Also a HKD $120 charge for internet was also too much for my tolerance.
If I could pick a room on other side of building , get a lower price (this room and location seems to be ok for me at HKD 600 range inclusive of internet ) and of course avoid the cold weather days , maybe I would come back for a short stay.
The staff try really hard to make you welcome and go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pine129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This is a gem of a hotel, clean, modern, staff is exceptionally great. The rooms are quite small ( pretend you're on a cruise) There was a problem...no heat, just AC, and it was not that warm outside. Best bet is to take the train from airport to kowloon station, then a cab ( costs 4$) The hotel has a shuttle to kowloon station, and you can check in your luggage there...it's perfect! The shopping in the area is great, as are the local restaurants. It's a short subway ride to hong kong island from mong kok station.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jorge27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

If you want to get away from the crowds of downtown this is a nice location. There are local restaurants, markets and McD's across the street. A 5 minute walk and you will be in Olympic Mall with some great Food courts.
The only problem with this place is they forgot to include Heating in the A?C unit in each room and you need to ask for a heater when it gets cold outside. The rooms are tight and if you are a heavy or extra large overweight person you my be uncomfortable otherwise we loved the modern new decor and comfort of the room. Internet is not included and very expensive and breakfast is not cheap but the local dinning options are great and thier free shutle drops you off at the MTR station or downtown in about 5 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davedmdusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We booked this hotel and stayed for 6 nights. As it was our first time in this hotel, did not know what to expect.

To our very pleasant surprise, the staff at reception were extremely pleasant and helpful. We were also taken up with the helpfulness of the concierge staff. All of them were always ready to answer any questions and provided us with accurate information.

Though the room was rather small, the hotel staff members made the stay very enjoyable and we would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Another plus point is the location. Across the location is a variety of amentities and McDonalds. It is also about a 15 to 20 minutes walk to the Ladies Market and a pleasant walk to the Jade Market. Taking a taxi is also easy and not very expensive.

So if you are thinking about a trip to Hong Kong, do give this hotel serious consideration.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2011

The service was great ! I booked really last minute (the night before) and still managed to get a room, the hotel is really clean and feels extremely high class. The porter service people are really friendly, and the reception are very helpful.

The room was a good size, excellent for 1-2 or maybe even 3 people. Extremely recommended for solo travllers. Price is also reasonable, it's considered reasonably cheap for a hotel with that type of service and cleanliness.

Everything about the hotel is great, they are super friendly and super clean !
If I had to say anything slightly bad, it would only be the location. Its about 10minutes (maybe a bit less) to the nearest MTR station, which is a bit far, but it should be fine if you don't mind the walk. However, they do offer a shuttle bus service which takes you to the closet MTR station, so it's all good !

Overall, this hotel was so great that I decided to extend my stay in hong kong. Strongly recommended for tourists, solo travellers or anyone planning to stay in hong kong for a short period of time at a cheap but clean and classy hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

I have stayed at the Cosmo Kowloon three times since it opened and i must say they are really improving. On my first stay service was uneven and some of the hotel's facilities weren't completed. Now things are pretty good: I was warmly greeted at reception, more facilities are open and staff are more with it in terms of the service aspect. The food at this hotel is very good and I saw a few local families eating there even though they don't stay at the hotel. The outdoor bar area was a nice place for end of day beers (although maybe too warm in summer). The location is actually really good. you can walk to Nathan road in 10 minutes and it is pretty near the bird market, ladies market etc. Also the Olympic shopping center and Olympic MTR station are very close; therefore Central and Hong Kong Island are also less than 20 minutes away. The rooms are small, no question, but the price is really cheap especially for Hong Kong. Overall this is a good hotel that represents very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#32 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,153 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#97 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,911 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#84 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,341 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#125 of 718 in Hong Kong
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Property: Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Address: No.88 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmo Hotel MongKok)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#97 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book this hotel online to enjoy free in-room 100Mbps WiFi and a 24-Hour Full Stay (for hotel official site booking only)! This Mongkok boutique hotel is 100% smoke-free, where Ladies Market and Temple Street night market are just within 10-15 minutes away for a local shopping experience. Free daily shuttle to Mongkok, Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon is also available. The fitness studio is open 24 hours. Dorsett Mongkok is an EarthCheck bronze benchmarked hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing