We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Crown Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Hotel ICON(Hong Kong)
$267
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$473
$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
$234
$166
Cordis Official
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$603
$330
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
$137
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$108
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$178
$129
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$143
$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
$97
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$167
$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveler rating
150
193
34
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
193
34
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdiscounted ticketsguest houseocean parkquadruple roomwater dispenserhot and cold showerattraction ticketsngong pingcouple roomnathan roadmtr stationtsim sha tsuiquad roomchange towelsmacau ferrybus stopbody soap
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 382 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We got the quadruple room on the 5th floor which is just OK. We requested for a 6th floor rooms but there were no available. Elevator wait is not that long. The longest we waited was 4 mins. It is near the subway MTR, and walking distance to the Avenue of the Stars, Ferry Terminal to Macau, Star Ferry. It is in the Shopping district. Lots of stores and restaurants in the area. Booking scheduling is also organized. Last time we went to HK, we stayed at Taisan Guesthouse but their booking process is not that efficient. We had to transfer rooms next day.

Next time we go to Hong Kong, we'll stay at Golden Crown again. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at Golden Crown for 4 nights last Jan 31- Feb 4, 2013. We stayed in their renovated double room for our first 2 nights and in their renovated couple room for the next 2 nights.

Both rooms were well-maintained although the renovated double room (at the 5th floor) was relatively newer. Our rooms were tidied up every day and fresh towels were brought in daily as well as the other toiletries.

The main differences between the 2 types of rooms are the bed sizes and the partition of the shower and toilet (renovated double had a sliding door separating the toilet and shower). But both rooms had small windows, hair dryers, dressing mirror, 2 electric adapters, TVs, split type aircon, and "switchboard" to control the heater, a/c, and TV.

The hallway leading to the elevator of Golden Crown is quiet, safe, and well-lit unlike that of Chungking Mansion which is quite dark and abuzz with "activities". There is also a security officer 24/7 and CCTV cameras all over. It's just a bit confusing when you get to the 5th floor where the reception area is because apparently there are other guest houses in the same floor.

Others have been saying that the main appeal of Golden Crown is its location. Indeed, it is very near Exit D of TST MRT, 7-11, Mcdonalds, KFC, A21/N21 bus station and within walking distance from the TST promenade/Avenue of the Stars, Star Ferry Pier and Harbour City.

But for me, it's selling point is its value for money. It is an inn/hostel that offers around 420-470 HKD/room but you would get from it the same comfort and convenience as you would from 3-star hotels. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are very minimalist in design (that's one way of putting it) but it offers you the most that it could given the price.

Of course you want to save on the accommodations but you do not want to scrimp to the point that you would be sacrificing too much of your comfort. If you are somewhere between the extreme poles of scrimping and splurging, go for Golden Crown. Its a cheap but comfortable resting place after a tiring day of touring the city.

Room Tip: TIPS: Make sure that you ask for the "renovated" rooms when you book and ready the full payment in CASH once you check in. Our renovated double room was on the 5th floor (Rm 109).
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jambaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Been vacationing in HK with my family for more than 5 times already since 1995 to date but in our 2013 trip we found the best place to stay in HK! Golden Crown really made ur stay very easy(at least for me and my family in terms of the rooms we occupied in) with:
1) its clean, always well kept rooms
2) with fresh & clean towels everyday
3) continuous hot n cold showers
4) free hot and cold and with ice drinking water dispenser
5) easy access to elevators both the 5th and 6th floors
6) no scary touts outside the building and inside the hallways (SUPER LIKE! so different from the past bldgs in TST we stayed in!)
7) secured building location -- they have a strict security guard!
8) very accesible to all transpo mode bus stops, taxi stands and MTR entrance and exit just beside the building itself
9) fast and no mess checking in as long as u have ur print out
10) no additiinal charges and secured baggages if you check out (and ur flight is still in the evening or late afternoon) and leave your baggages in the reception area and decide to still make out the most of ur stay in HK
11) super friendly and helpful Filipinas and Indonesian staff

The only downside is its more pricey than the other guesthouses we had stayed in...but its ok since we booked in a peak season..i think...
all in all this was the best accomodation we have had in all our HK vacay...Hoping to come back again soon!

Room Tip: rooms on the 6th floor are renovated and has windows
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khai0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and 5 days on a double bed. The room is small just enough to accommodate both of us. The room is equipped with AC, flat screen tv and plugs with adapters. Location is a plus point of this guesthouse, you can walk to Tsim Tsa Shui MTR in less than 5 minutes, and shops n restaurants are everywhere

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WagasWagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotels and inns in HKG are not cheap but despite all that we manage to find ideal hotel that suited our budget. Rooms are small but the location was superb talking about a minute away from the nearest Tsim Sha Shui MTR!...would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in the heart of HKG city without killing your wallet!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews