We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hong Kong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Crown Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 266 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights . Quick check in,pay on arrival. Help with luggage. Room clean, towels very tatty but clean. Plenty of hot water. Room small with no window. Only 2 minutes from 24 hour bus stop for airport bus. Short walk to Star Ferry. Definitely recommend getting an octopus card. Can be used on all transport, star ferries, some shops, saves having to have the correct money on transport. Make sure to get a senior one if you are over 65' I would recommend this hotel for its location alone

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maria451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 375 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

* The room looked new and smelled fresh and clean.
* With private toilet.
* Towels were white and clean but there were no toothbrush and toothpaste provided.
* Body wash and shampoo were provided. We're having a hard time pressing the container of the body wash though.
* There was a provision for cups, hot and cold drinking water.
* With free WIFI inside the room
* TV channels were all Chinese channels
* No traffic in the elevator
* Location-wise, it's just a minute away to the MTR station
* Their website is very user-friendly and informative
* Great value for money

Summary: I recommend this hostel if you're in a tight budget. This hostel is nice and clean, and convenient since it is very close to MTR station. If I would visit Hongkong again, I would definitely stay in this hostel again.

For complete details and photos, please visit my blog at http://www.kurizutin.com/2013/01/hotel-review-golden-crown-guest-house.html

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kurizutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I traveled to Hong Kong with my mom and brother (our first trip overseas) last September 2012. We stayed in Golden Crown Guest House for three nights. Overall, I can say that we chose just the right place--we had a pretty great stay.

BOOKING: In our experience, there was no hassle at all. Booking through their official website was a breeze. The owners replied through e-mail immediately following my query, and booking instructions were stated there clearly. We paid the required room deposit using credit card via PayPal (first time I had to use the said online service) and encountered no problems. Confirmation of the receipt of the payment through their website guestbook was prompt. Communication with the owners was efficient.

GOING THERE: From HKIA, we just rode the A21 bus. The ride took approximately one hour. The bus stops along Nathan Road can be quite confusing especially for first-timers, but one just has to take note of the 13th stop, with Standard Chartered, Citibank, and the mosque across the street as landmarks. Golden Crown Court is just a short walk from the bus stop. We found the hostel easily (even though the sign pertaining to it may not be so noticeable), so for us it's not so much a hassle even with all our luggage. Inside the building, the elevators are indeed small—they fit only about five to six adults at a time, so the waiting time and the lack of space may make some people impatient and uncomfortable (like my mom). The Reception Area is at the 5th floor.

LOCATION: The location is excellent! It’s near the A21 bus stop, so it's convenient to travel to and from the airport. And since we had to use the MTR extensively during our whole trip, the location was very good as it’s just a very short walk to the MTR Tsim Sha Tsui Station exits. One can also find many shops, restaurants, and malls just within the vicinity. Tourist attractions like the Avenue of Stars and the Star Ferry Terminal are within walking distance. We also found the surrounding environment to be generally safe. There are CCTVs and adequate security within the building as well (to get inside the hostel late at night, you’d have to key in the passcode that only guests are given).

CHECKING IN: We arrived at around 12 noon, and, luckily, we were allowed to check in early. We just presented our printed reservation form at the reception, paid the remaining balance in HKD, and we were given the key. By the way, we also got discounted tickets for Disneyland, Ocean Park, and Ngong Ping 360 at the reception, which was a plus.

THE ROOM: We stayed in a Superior Quadruple room for 650HKD per night. The room was just behind the Reception Area on the 5th floor, so its location made us feel a bit awkward, though it’s not very much of a serious issue. The room was simple; it had two queen beds (the mattresses were hard though, and the pillows were thin), but it’s still small (no space even for a dresser to hang our clothes in), considering that it’s supposed to be the biggest type of room in the hostel. Still, we thought the space was good enough for the three of us—and reasonable enough considering the price we paid. We had an air conditioning that was working well, a flat screen TV with free movies (but no English channels), a telephone (which we never needed to use), water heater, hair dryer, basic bathroom amenities, fast and free WIFI connection, free hot and cold water from the dispenser on the hallway, and a very clean and adequately spacious bathroom with well-functioning hot and cold shower. Fresh, clean towels are provided everyday. The room is cleaned everyday as well. No missing valuables (my brother left his laptop in the room and I left my phone on the dresser, and everything’s still there when we got back). Since our room had a window facing Nathan Road, it can get a bit noisy sometimes, but it’s tolerable. Overall, we were pretty satisfied with our room.

THE STAFF: I’d give them five stars! They’re all friendly, accommodating, and pleasant. They’re also helpful with all our questions regarding directions, restaurants, where to buy things, etc. There’s also a Filipino caretaker who helped us a lot and made us feel at home. Although there can be a bit of difficulty with communicating in English, I have no complaints with the service all the staff provide.

CHECKING OUT: We had to check out at 5:30AM since we had an early flight on our last day. The office was closed and there was no one around, so we only had to drop the keys on the designated box, and we were off. No hassle at all.

OVERALL: I would strongly recommend Golden Crown Guest House. It’s an excellent choice especially for first-timers and for the budget-conscious. It’s not to be compared with a five-star hotel—but it definitely has its own charms. Would we stay here again? Definitely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minacchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The location is Excellent. Near with sightseeing place, shopping area, MTR Tsim Sha Tsui and Ferry Terminal. The room is small, but it is as worth as the value while the other hotels/hostels are quite pricey, i think.

The minus thing is only elevator, it takes arround 15-30 minutes to get elevator. However the other things are very good.

My suggestion is one only, please put someone in receptionist area who can speak English. I have a problem to communicate with somebody - that I can call him, Uncle :) - and unfortunately he can not speak English.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Near the subway station. Walking distance to Avenue of Stars and close to other tourist spots in TST area. I will stay there again when I get back. The room is small but will serves it purpose. Because we only wanted a safe place and room to sleep after a very long walk from the days tiring activity.

Good value for your money too!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days back in December 2011. Its a value for money since the location is strategically located in Tsim Tsa Tsui. MRT is just in the corner, while the ferry terminal is around 10-15 minutes walk (which I tried when travelled to Macau). You could find shopping mall nearby and flea market within distance.
Nuff said about the location, the service itself is good, the old lady in the receptionist was very helpful. The room and bathroom is small but very clean. It could accommodate 2 travellers with 2 big luggages like us. It is sufficient when you're travelling all day and come back just to get some sleep in the room. The bed is a little bit thin, especially for someone as big as me, but quite decent for sleep. Note that the bed is comfortable for normal asian size couple (175 cm max) and if you're more than that it would be too small.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DenimSneakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

everything considered, this is good value for your money. the room is a bit cramped, but very clean and comfortable with the usual amenities. the place boasts of its superb location and friendly staff. discounted tickets for hong kong attractions are also available. this is a no-frills, excellent place for the budget-conscious.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike_Montes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#48 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,978 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#106 of 725 in Hong Kong
963 reviews
Silka Seaview Hotel
#177 of 725 in Hong Kong
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Inn Spirit
Inn Spirit
#1 of 266 in Hong Kong
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Crown Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Crown Guesthouse

Address: 5F, Golden Crown Court, 66-70 Nathan Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Crown Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We located in the center of the city and the main hotel area of Hong Kong - Tsimshatsui, Kowloon. There are plenty of restaurants around our building servicing cuisine of many countries, such as Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Italian, Indonesian, Indian, Vietnamise & American Fast Food... etc. some of them are openning 24-hour.The Hong Kong International Airport Bus A21 and the Airport Express Train is available where is next to us. There are so many convenient going to other parts of HongKong such as MTR , KCR, buses and ferries. Go to China or Macau, the Tsimshatsui East KCR station and the China Hong Kong Ferry Terminal is near. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Crown Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Golden Crown Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing