We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
realistaysmael
Manila, Philippines
310
Applaudere!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 10, 2012
Why Golden Crown Guest House deserves an applause?

1. Kenny, the hotel's owner/supervisor, is very attentive and accommodating to guests' needs.
2. Filipina staffs always wear a smile.
3. Hotel Room (ours' Superior Quadruple inside their office on the 5th) is cleaned daily. New bed sheet daily. New bath towels daily. Garbage bin emptied daily. Not noisy even our windows are facing Nathan Road. Good AC. Good Hot and cold shower.
4. Very good exchange rate.
5. Nice deal of amusement tickets.
6. Location is:
Less than 1 mins of walk to/from MTR Station D2 entrance/exit; Less than 10 mins of walk to China Ferry Terminal to Macau; Less than 15 mins of walk to Avenue of the Stars; Less than 10 mins of walk to find an ideal place to eat.

Conclusion: Worth recommending.
Date of stay: September 2012
Nearby Hotels
0.3 miles from Golden Crown Guesthouse
Restaurant
Room service
Exterior
1.5 miles from Golden Crown Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
1.8 miles from Golden Crown Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Club Floor Room at the Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd]
7.8 miles from Golden Crown Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
Harbour View Room
0.2 miles from Golden Crown Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
Meeting Room
2.0 miles from Golden Crown Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel Exterior
14.8 miles from Golden Crown Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.6 miles from Golden Crown Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
0.2 miles from Golden Crown Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Hong Kong
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveler rating
154
198
35
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
154
198
35
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 392 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed there with my mom and dad for 3 nights. If you are on a budget, this is a pretty decent place to stay. Clean sheets, fresh smelling towels. Room attendants are Filipina, feel free to ask advice as to where to go if you are on a DIY Tour. No noisy shops on the ground floor of the guesthouse not unlike the nearby Mirador Mansion. Location is very convenient, just next to the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Station, and Bus Stop for the A21 Airport Bus, and within walking distance to the Avenue of Stars. Get out at night and walk on the streets to feel like a local (safe to wander at night). The room is quite small though, shower is cramped, but there is hot water. Ask for a family room, it is roomier than the other room types. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay and the next time we go to HK, we'll have no second thoughts of staying there again.

Room tip: Family room with two double beds, ask if corner room is available.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JPdePeralta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My sister and I stayed in this guesthouse from 11-15 September 2012. We had great expectations as this was recommended to us by a friend of a friend but were in for a big disappointment upon arrival. The room originally assigned to us was old, dilapidated and untidy looking. It was cramped with very small bathroom. We tried to request for a better room but the owner (the older one) said there was none available. We were so disappointed because the room assigned to us was a far far cry from the published pictures in the GCG website. We felt shortchanged as upon check-in we were required to pay for the whole duration of our stay (four days). It was a good thing that the staff in the guesthouse are Filipinos. One Filipina staff helped us to get a larger room with no additional charge. It was better but the tiny comfort room smelled. As we made our booking online March 2012, the least the owner could have done was to assign to us a newly renovated room.

Locationwise, the GCG is close to the MTR station, shopping areas and some tourist spots. The ferry station to Macau is also a few blocks away. Also the Filipina staff were very accommodating.

Room tip: The Filipna staff in the GCG advised us that when booking for hotel online in Hong Kong, always specify preference for a newly renovated room... , a lesson worth remembering.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 411Lehleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kenny_2009s, General Manager at Golden Crown Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Very interesting guest

1 ) Booked for Standard room (Cheapest for 2) not a Renovated room (new room) and we are not able to arrange new room for you.
2 ) The picture of standard twin is shown at our website. Please check the photo gallery button.
3 ) The bathroom might too small in a hotel but it is not small in a hostel
4 ) We are The Budget Accommodation only

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Was in Golden Crown with my friend in July 2012. Despite it petite size, we find it very comfortable, better than another renowned hostel we have stayed in TST! the location is great, of coz it's located at TST. Feel secured staying there also, will definitely return!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Furry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

i have always relied on tripadvisor whenever I plan a trip and thanks guys for all the reviews..so here's mine..

Hello Inn is no. 1 here but there were no rooms available..so we chose Golden Crown Guesthouse instead (same building, same floor)

pros:

1. its near the MTR station - MTR is the best mode of transpo in HK. the mtr route map is one of the most precious things I carry with me (you can ask for it at the octopus card booth) its cheap,fast,convenient,and you'll never get lost..GCG is just a minute away from the MTR (Tsim Sha Tsui station). near the MTR,near everything...

2. discounts - we bought our tickets for attractions in HK directly through them. You can check their website for the discounted tickets for Disneyland,Ngong Ping 360, Peak Tram w/ Madamme Tussauds and Sky terrace, Ocean Park and many more. Unfortunately they didnt have crystal cabin cable car tickets at that time so we bought our tickets at the Tung Chung Cable car terminal.But still we avoided long queues, saved time and money! (almost HK$200 savings for the two of us..)

3. communication - Ken speaks good English and very accomodating to all of our needs from booking our stay til we arrived in their guesthouse. He even offered us umbrella because it was a bit raining in HK when we went there and that small gesture really made us smile.And of course not to mention the 2 Pinay housekeepers and the Pinay receptionist who were so helpful and nice too..(syempre Pinoy ata yan!)

4. the room we had was the renovated couple room,its small but ok for us (only $400/night).its clean anyway,bed was comfy,AC is perfectly working, there were pull-out huge drawers,small cabinet,telephone, WIFI,TV,hair dryer,slippers in our room(i brought those with me while touring HK to wear if I get tired of my wedges hehe).Our bathroom though it was really small,(smallest I have ever seen so far hahaha) had basic toiletries and hot/cold shower too..they also have water dispenser if you need hot or cold water free!!! save you bucks for just refilling instead of buying bottled water again and again..You'll always get thirsty not hungry most of the time while touring HKs attractions

5. checking out - since you will pay everything in full once you arrive,checking out of the guesthouse wont be a problem even if you leave early in the morning and there's no receptionist. you'll just leave your room key in a safe box and thats it.If you have any incidentals or anything you broke in your room Im pretty sure they'll just charge it on the credit card you have used for reservation.

6. food and shops every corner - GCG is located in Nathan Road so stores for everything, even fastfood chains and resto are everywhere once you step out of the building.

cons:

1. elevator was so small,always gets loaded right away you would rather take the stairs if you have a big and heavy luggage (good luck!).

2. the sign showing the Golden Crown Court outside is not visible,we had a little hard time looking for it specially at night and when we first arrived. you wont really notice it.we just had to remember the way and the stores beside it.that might be the reason why some folks we asked when we first arrive dont know where exactly it is.

3. i would say the Golden Crown Court itself is a bit run-down..I was hesitant at first when we entered the building. good thing the room made up for it. its a totally different world once your in your room.

4. they only have one adapter that you can use for charging your gadget. In HK,electrical outlets take a three-pronged UK-style plug.so you better buy your own adapter so you. an do multi-charging..

Room tip: choose the ones on the 6th floor..
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mahcoolet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I would strongly recommend this budget hostel, we got the superior quadruple room booked via Golden Crown website, owner Kenny and Elvis is very accommodating from the time I booked until the time we checked out, all queries were answered promptly. Discounted tickets to different attractions available, we got Disney ticket and saved a couple of hundred HKD. Room were clean, the friendly cleaning lady cleans it everyday, mineralized hot and cold water available in the hallway which also a big saving since drinks in HK is expensive, we brought a water bottle and fill it up everytime we go out. Nice location, near fast food chains, near the MTR, Ferry Terminal and tourist attractions such as Museums, Ave of the stars, etc. We also availed their airport pick up service at HKD350 which I consider okay for the price inclusive of toll fees. Owner Kenny is kind enough to change my remaining HKD to USD at same rate. Overall my family really enjoyed our HK and Macau trip and looking forward to come back soon! :)

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anyabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews