We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Applaudere!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hong Kong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Crown Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 269 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Why Golden Crown Guest House deserves an applause?

1. Kenny, the hotel's owner/supervisor, is very attentive and accommodating to guests' needs.
2. Filipina staffs always wear a smile.
3. Hotel Room (ours' Superior Quadruple inside their office on the 5th) is cleaned daily. New bed sheet daily. New bath towels daily. Garbage bin emptied daily. Not noisy even our windows are facing Nathan Road. Good AC. Good Hot and cold shower.
4. Very good exchange rate.
5. Nice deal of amusement tickets.
6. Location is:
Less than 1 mins of walk to/from MTR Station D2 entrance/exit; Less than 10 mins of walk to China Ferry Terminal to Macau; Less than 15 mins of walk to Avenue of the Stars; Less than 10 mins of walk to find an ideal place to eat.

Conclusion: Worth recommending.

Room Tip: Do money exhange before they close their office at 11PM for your next day expenditures. Otherwise, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank realistaysmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 376 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed there with my mom and dad for 3 nights. If you are on a budget, this is a pretty decent place to stay. Clean sheets, fresh smelling towels. Room attendants are Filipina, feel free to ask advice as to where to go if you are on a DIY Tour. No noisy shops on the ground floor of the guesthouse not unlike the nearby Mirador Mansion. Location is very convenient, just next to the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Station, and Bus Stop for the A21 Airport Bus, and within walking distance to the Avenue of Stars. Get out at night and walk on the streets to feel like a local (safe to wander at night). The room is quite small though, shower is cramped, but there is hot water. Ask for a family room, it is roomier than the other room types. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay and the next time we go to HK, we'll have no second thoughts of staying there again.

Room Tip: Family room with two double beds, ask if corner room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JPdePeralta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My sister and I stayed in this guesthouse from 11-15 September 2012. We had great expectations as this was recommended to us by a friend of a friend but were in for a big disappointment upon arrival. The room originally assigned to us was old, dilapidated and untidy looking. It was cramped with very small bathroom. We tried to request for a better room but the owner (the older one) said there was none available. We were so disappointed because the room assigned to us was a far far cry from the published pictures in the GCG website. We felt shortchanged as upon check-in we were required to pay for the whole duration of our stay (four days). It was a good thing that the staff in the guesthouse are Filipinos. One Filipina staff helped us to get a larger room with no additional charge. It was better but the tiny comfort room smelled. As we made our booking online March 2012, the least the owner could have done was to assign to us a newly renovated room.

Locationwise, the GCG is close to the MTR station, shopping areas and some tourist spots. The ferry station to Macau is also a few blocks away. Also the Filipina staff were very accommodating.

Room Tip: The Filipna staff in the GCG advised us that when booking for hotel online in Hong Kong, always spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 411Lehleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenny_2009s, General Manager at Golden Crown Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Very interesting guest

1 ) Booked for Standard room (Cheapest for 2) not a Renovated room (new room) and we are not able to arrange new room for you.
2 ) The picture of standard twin is shown at our website. Please check the photo gallery button.
3 ) The bathroom might too small in a hotel but it is not small in a hostel
4 ) We are The Budget Accommodation only

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Was in Golden Crown with my friend in July 2012. Despite it petite size, we find it very comfortable, better than another renowned hostel we have stayed in TST! the location is great, of coz it's located at TST. Feel secured staying there also, will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Furry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

i have always relied on tripadvisor whenever I plan a trip and thanks guys for all the reviews..so here's mine..

Hello Inn is no. 1 here but there were no rooms available..so we chose Golden Crown Guesthouse instead (same building, same floor)

pros:

1. its near the MTR station - MTR is the best mode of transpo in HK. the mtr route map is one of the most precious things I carry with me (you can ask for it at the octopus card booth) its cheap,fast,convenient,and you'll never get lost..GCG is just a minute away from the MTR (Tsim Sha Tsui station). near the MTR,near everything...

2. discounts - we bought our tickets for attractions in HK directly through them. You can check their website for the discounted tickets for Disneyland,Ngong Ping 360, Peak Tram w/ Madamme Tussauds and Sky terrace, Ocean Park and many more. Unfortunately they didnt have crystal cabin cable car tickets at that time so we bought our tickets at the Tung Chung Cable car terminal.But still we avoided long queues, saved time and money! (almost HK$200 savings for the two of us..)

3. communication - Ken speaks good English and very accomodating to all of our needs from booking our stay til we arrived in their guesthouse. He even offered us umbrella because it was a bit raining in HK when we went there and that small gesture really made us smile.And of course not to mention the 2 Pinay housekeepers and the Pinay receptionist who were so helpful and nice too..(syempre Pinoy ata yan!)

4. the room we had was the renovated couple room,its small but ok for us (only $400/night).its clean anyway,bed was comfy,AC is perfectly working, there were pull-out huge drawers,small cabinet,telephone, WIFI,TV,hair dryer,slippers in our room(i brought those with me while touring HK to wear if I get tired of my wedges hehe).Our bathroom though it was really small,(smallest I have ever seen so far hahaha) had basic toiletries and hot/cold shower too..they also have water dispenser if you need hot or cold water free!!! save you bucks for just refilling instead of buying bottled water again and again..You'll always get thirsty not hungry most of the time while touring HKs attractions

5. checking out - since you will pay everything in full once you arrive,checking out of the guesthouse wont be a problem even if you leave early in the morning and there's no receptionist. you'll just leave your room key in a safe box and thats it.If you have any incidentals or anything you broke in your room Im pretty sure they'll just charge it on the credit card you have used for reservation.

6. food and shops every corner - GCG is located in Nathan Road so stores for everything, even fastfood chains and resto are everywhere once you step out of the building.

cons:

1. elevator was so small,always gets loaded right away you would rather take the stairs if you have a big and heavy luggage (good luck!).

2. the sign showing the Golden Crown Court outside is not visible,we had a little hard time looking for it specially at night and when we first arrived. you wont really notice it.we just had to remember the way and the stores beside it.that might be the reason why some folks we asked when we first arrive dont know where exactly it is.

3. i would say the Golden Crown Court itself is a bit run-down..I was hesitant at first when we entered the building. good thing the room made up for it. its a totally different world once your in your room.

4. they only have one adapter that you can use for charging your gadget. In HK,electrical outlets take a three-pronged UK-style plug.so you better buy your own adapter so you. an do multi-charging..

Room Tip: choose the ones on the 6th floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mahcoolet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I would strongly recommend this budget hostel, we got the superior quadruple room booked via Golden Crown website, owner Kenny and Elvis is very accommodating from the time I booked until the time we checked out, all queries were answered promptly. Discounted tickets to different attractions available, we got Disney ticket and saved a couple of hundred HKD. Room were clean, the friendly cleaning lady cleans it everyday, mineralized hot and cold water available in the hallway which also a big saving since drinks in HK is expensive, we brought a water bottle and fill it up everytime we go out. Nice location, near fast food chains, near the MTR, Ferry Terminal and tourist attractions such as Museums, Ave of the stars, etc. We also availed their airport pick up service at HKD350 which I consider okay for the price inclusive of toll fees. Owner Kenny is kind enough to change my remaining HKD to USD at same rate. Overall my family really enjoyed our HK and Macau trip and looking forward to come back soon! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anyabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed for four nights in twin room on 6th floor (room 608). The room is small but not cramped, bathroom is clean and not as small as anticipated. My relatives stayed in room 609 which is also a twin-room but its smaller with smaller bathroom. The rooms are cleaned everyday, fresh towels everyday, water dispenser in the hall way, good wifi, bed is a bit hard but not a problem to me, not for light sleepers though, as you can sometimes hear the noise outside your room. The only setback is no window although there is a small one in the bathroom which serves no purpose as it opens to back alley hot air. Location is excellent, subway station is 100m away, shops and eateries all around, avenue of stars just down the road. Overall, its worthy of what i have paid for. Just an advice if you intend to buy the dried seafood along the street near the hotel : beware of scams.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mimiesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#48 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,004 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#107 of 726 in Hong Kong
969 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Inn Spirit
Inn Spirit
#1 of 269 in Hong Kong
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Crown Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Crown Guesthouse

Address: 5F, Golden Crown Court, 66-70 Nathan Road, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 269 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Crown Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We located in the center of the city and the main hotel area of Hong Kong - Tsimshatsui, Kowloon. There are plenty of restaurants around our building servicing cuisine of many countries, such as Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Italian, Indonesian, Indian, Vietnamise & American Fast Food... etc. some of them are openning 24-hour.The Hong Kong International Airport Bus A21 and the Airport Express Train is available where is next to us. There are so many convenient going to other parts of HongKong such as MTR , KCR, buses and ferries. Go to China or Macau, the Tsimshatsui East KCR station and the China Hong Kong Ferry Terminal is near. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Crown Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Golden Crown Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing