We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location for fliers, great buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Ranked #54 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a gift room because we missed our connecting flight. It might be too expensive otherwise but both the room and the food were well above average. If you've got an overnight layover its ideal--five minutes from the airport, still quiet and a breakfast that should please most folks.

Room Tip: The hallway is VERY long. So you get enough exercise walking to the elevator if you are near the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,834 - 1,840 of 3,140 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Its a bit tricky to get to the free bus service and your not sure if its the rite bus at the airport and seems like quite a distance but on arrival the hotel is excellent ,great rooms with a view over the harbour and golf course

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the suite and treated like royalty. Watching the planes landing was awesome and the sound was minimal. Most beautiful room I've ever had. Restaurant and bar were very nice. One downfall .. In the bar they played Bon jovi about 4 of the same songs over and over, it got to be funny guessing if they would continue to play it again. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HochyPokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel - begrudgingly - for years. I say this because the service was terrible. They had such amateurs in reception I nearly lost my temper a number of times.
So, let's look at the now. You get a shuttle for free from the arrivals hall, I think it is Hall A (if you are new to HK, just walk down the arrivals halls where you see the names of lots of hotels). Normally there is only a short wait. The rooms are in good decorative order and relatively newly decorated too. I cannot complain about the room. This time they gave us a smoking room - when I specifically asked for a NON smoking. I find it quite disgusting to sleep in a smoking room. Alas the company had booked rather than me on my Marriott points so they did not hold one for me. This would put me off from staying again if they could not guarantee this.

Service at the front desk was ok. There is always some type of admin confusion over credit cards, such as if you book with one and want to pay cash with another. The leisure facilities are fantastic, really surprising. This time I had some food in the bard (a bisque) which was great and a tea (which was average). Overall I think the hotel offers value for money.
So congratulations to the new manager because whatever he/she is doing is working!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We picked this hotel because we were coming in late into Hong Kong, and we were leaving early enough on the day of our departure, that it made sense to stay close to the airport. We were quite ok with taking the train into and out of the city each day (we were only there a short time), and if that is the case for you, this is a very good choice as a place to stay.

One thing to note is that you want to be very sure of which bay/slot the hotel's airport shuttle pulls into to pick you up at the airport. There are many specific numbered slots and we couldn't find any directory listing. But, once you do get on the shuttle, it is a short ride to the hotel. The check-in was courteous and smooth, and the room itself was cozy, clean and comfortable. It is a modern, global hotel chain - so, don't expect a strong local flavor in the furnishings or architecture. The king bed was very comfortable, the shower was perfect and very clean, and there was little ambient noise from the airport to disturb you.

We found the concierge desk staffed by nice, knowledgeable and eager-to-please folks. The breakfast buffet was very good - made-to-order western omelets and some cantonese breakfast dishes - surrounded by a large choice of pastries, fruit, dairy items etc. There was a pleasant view out the windows and it was quite nice overall, before we you set off for the day.

Bottom line: everything you look for in a place to rest, eat and get clean - close and convenient to the airport, and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2travel560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Booked a room at the SkyCity Marriott for an overnight layover in HKG at the end of March. Getting to the hotel was slightly confusing at first, but once the shuttle arrived it was a quick trip. My partner and I ended up with a 2 double bed room instead of a king, as requested, but for an overnight stay that was fine. Beds were comfortable, and the room was nicely decorated. Not a fan of the glass screen acting as a 'shower curtain' in the bathroom, but that's a minor quibble.

Easy walk over to the Asia World Expo stop of the Airport Express to get into Hong Kong for the evening - great having that access just a short walk away from the hotel. Convenient shuttle service back to HKG. Overall a very pleasant hotel for stopovers near the airport, and am sure it would be great for those attending events at the Expo center as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crewguydc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We only stayed at the hotel overnight but found it to be a very nice new modern hotel in a great location if you need to get to and from the airport quickly. Check in was very quick and the reception staff were very friendly. The shuttle to the airport was very efficient both arriving and departing. Food in the restaurant was very good but very expensive for the amount you got.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#96 of 727 in Hong Kong
5,011 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#55 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,207 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#57 of 727 in Hong Kong
3,098 reviews
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#32 of 727 in Hong Kong
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Address: No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $161 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of Lantau Island, the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel provides a refreshing escape from the bustling city and an alternative option for meetings and conferences. Welcoming guests with an impeccable location, the hotel is near the Hong Kong International Airport and directly connected to AsiaWorld-Expo. The most prestigious international hotel on Lantau Island offers luxurious accommodations, with 658 guest rooms facing the sea or golf course, 14 multi-functional meeting rooms spanning more than 13,000 square feet of meeting space, five restaurants, pampering treatments at the on-site award-winning Quan Spa, an indoor heated swimming pool and a 24-hour gym. Travelling to city centre is just a 28-minute train ride. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we invite you to experience the best and travel brilliantly with the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing