We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Ranked #47 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous airport hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I'm a Marriott member so chose this hotel for our overnight layover in Hong Kong. From the airport you reach it by a shuttle that leaves bus gate 30 in Terminal 2. It's a bit of a walk from our arrival area in Terminal 1. The good news is that the shuttle drops you off at either Terminal 1 or 2 when you are outgoing.

Sky City Marriott turned out to be a fabulous hotel. The room was scrupulously clean, the bed divine and bathroom excellent with its no wall rain head shower.

The buffet breakfast is pricey but you mostly expect that at an airport hotel.

Didn't have a chance to check out the workout room but looked great as we drove by.

We loved this hotel for our overnight.

Room Tip: This is a LONG hotel with elevators near one end. We had a beautiful suite but felt like we had almo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upnatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    1,122
    199
    57
    50
See reviews for
641
651
335
950
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had an overnight layover in Hong Kong without the time or interest in going into town. This hotel is an ok option if you're staying at/near the airport but it is pricier than it should be.

The room was comfortable, clean and decently appointed. Wifi was not free and was pricey. Breakfast was crazy expensive although quality was good. There is frequent shuttle service to the airport terminal and to the cable car to go up to the big buddha on the hill.

The restaurant in the hotel was also too expensive but the food was quite good.

Room Tip: Up high if possible to cut down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayr2l8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Second stay here for an early flight. Bus shuttle from T2, Bay 29/30. No listing to show where the bus stops, but two different people say that is the bay. Morning flight q20 minutes per hotel, and it takes 5-10 minutes to make the trip. Room clean, bathroom nice and again the manual coffee pump. HDTV with good channels. No surprises, and wake up call on time. Back up with radio alarm. Some wait to check in, since the bus from the airport was crowded.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yapmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as an overnight stopover in my travel from Toronto to Kuala Lumpur . The hotel is very close to the airport and is literary a 5 minute bus ride. They have a free shuttle bus that ply every 20 min between airport and the hotel. Locating the airport bus stop is impossible and one is best to ask the hotel's desk help at the airport.

The hotel is an older hotel but their room is much larger than those mini-rooms commonly found in Hong Kong city proper. Furnishing is pretty basic. I got a room with a King size bed (pretty comfortable) but one with handicapped assist washrooms. The wash basin is pretty small and the shower stall's drainage is pretty poor with water accumulating as much as 1 inch during the shower. What disappoint me is that they do not provide any hair dryer ..... a standard piece in any 3-5 star hotel and one of the most important hotel gadget for any lady.

Tried and luv the gym which appear to open 24hrs. It is well-equipped and is located in a small building opposite the front entrance of the hotel and accessible via the basement level floor..

Remember this is an airport hotel and one has to travel great distance to enjoy the rich culture Hong Kong has to offer. The hotel provide free shuttle service to Disneyland or the airport

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E-TravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding large heated indoor pool with balm of a spa is the key asset of this sea of respite in a busy world. Good shuttle service to terminals. Check in and out are too slow and rooms are getting aged. Best airport hotel ever.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Highgate_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is close to Hong Kong Airport and offers free shuttle service. We stayed here for two nights before our flight home. We spent one day visiting the Big Buddha and the fishing village on Lantau Island. We also shopped at the City Gate outlet stores near the hotel. So the location was convenient for us while we stayed here. It would not be ideal for sights not on Lantau Island.

Hong Kong hotels are very expensive. One exception is the T-Hotel on Hong Kong Island. We stayed there for two nights before moving to the Sky City Marriott to be close to the airport. The T-Hotel is much more beautiful than the Sky City. I was able to get two ocean view rooms at the T-Hotel for the price of one ocean view room at the Sky City Marriott. But the Sky City is reasonably priced compared to most other Hong Kong hotels. Having four people in one room at the Sky City could have been miserable. It was my husband, our two grown kids (in their 20's), and me. What saved us was the Executive Lounge. Because we have the Marriott credit card, we are Silver Elite Marriott Rewards members and were therefore upgraded to an Executive Floor room with full use of the Executive Lounge. It was wonderful. Free breakfast in the morning. Snacks, hot and cold drinks, and computer use all day. Substantial food in the evening which was plentiful enough for dinner. Lots of tables and chairs in a large pleasant room. We hung out there instead of our cramped room when we were not out seeing the tourist sights. It pays to be a Marriott Rewards member!

In my opinion, the ocean view rooms at this hotel are not worth the extra cost. The view is of unattractive, commercial vessels in the water. Whereas the view from the "non view" side, which is what you see from the Executive Lounge, is of the airport and some bright blue, pretty water.

I recommend this hotel, but you might want to apply for the Marriott credit card if you have time before your trip so you can get upgraded to the Executive Lounge without paying the significant extra cost of booking an Executive Room. We were there during low season, however, and were offered the upgrade without asking for it. I'm not sure if we would have been upgraded during peak tourist season.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Although this Marriott hotel is a distance from the hustle bustle of Kowloon or Hong Kong, it is a very pleasant, quiet retreat. No need to worry about transportation. Pick up a shuttle bus schedule at the hotel check-in counter before hand. An efficient, free shuttle service is provided to and from the airport and Citygate Mall which is connected to the Tung Chung MTR. From the Tung Chung MTR station, it is easy to access any station.The MTR is an amazing way to get around! Our room was very clean, spacious and bright with modern decor, beautifully appointed! The bed was very comfortable. We had a higher floor overlooking Sunny Bay. There is free wifi in the room if you are a Marriott Rewards Member so we were able to benefit from the convenience. We had a most pleasant stay at this hotel, unfortunately, it was just an overnight. We left early and missed breakfast. Next time, we will have to stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#54 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,970 reviews
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#103 of 718 in Hong Kong
4,583 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,398 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,740 reviews
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#56 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Property: Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Address: No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of Lantau Island, the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel provides a refreshing escape from the bustling city and an alternative option for meetings and conferences. Welcoming guests with an impeccable location, the hotel is near the Hong Kong International Airport and directly connected to AsiaWorld-Expo. The most prestigious international hotel on Lantau Island offers luxurious accommodations, with 658 guest rooms facing the sea or golf course, 14 multi-functional meeting rooms spanning more than 13,000 square feet of meeting space, five restaurants, pampering treatments at the on-site award-winning Quan Spa, an indoor heated swimming pool and a 24-hour gym. Travelling to city centre is just a 28-minute train ride. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we invite you to experience the best and travel brilliantly with the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing