We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Ranked #53 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I only stayed in this hotel for overnight transit at the airport. Here below are how I would rate this hotel:

Good:
The hotel is fairly new, room is spacious, gym and pool are great. Has a nine hole golf course right next to it...so you can kill time. There is shuttle take you to airport for flights, food, shopping and movie (iMax!)

Bad:
Location...just like any other airport hotel, you are so isolated although HK airport is one of the most accommodating airports...it's still too bloody far from everything in the city. And you need to take shuttle bus (too close for taxi, no driver will take you) in T2 parking. If you have many luggages, that will be hassle.

Ugly:
Can't think of any...that's why my title is Good, but not Great Hotel.

I won't recommend this hotel, cos I would pick the Regal Airport Hotel...which is attached to T1 terminal if I have to stay for overnight transit again. I think that will be much easier and convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eDUBShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,946 - 1,952 of 3,141 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Agree with most of the other reviews. Main point to add it how great the service was, we are Marriott Platinum so may have been special, but there was someone waiting at hotel entrance that knew my name, walked us to our room and checked us in there. Nice lounge and fantastic breakfast buffet in restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crsWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent a week at this property, and are very happy with our stay.

The rooms are spacious and impeccable, with some nice touches like a power adapter, a fruit platter and bottled water, etc.

There is a free shuttle service to/from the airport, when arriving at HKG follow the signs to "Hotel Transport" and find bay #29, it runs about every 20 minutes until 0:40am, starting again at 5am the next morning.

To get into the city you just walk about 300 meters to the AsiaWorld Expo Airport Express station, and for HKD 100 round trip you get to Central District in about 20 minutes. The terminus there is under the big IFC mall, and convenient to various ferries and MTR connections.

Despite the property being right by the airport, we found the noise level in the room to be quite acceptable, even while big widebodies are taking off.

Overall, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LikestoTravel277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Had layover and reservations fell through at other hotel, so i arrived at hotel late and with no reservation. I was disappointed hotwire price was not honored and paying 1000 more Hong Kong dollars that room should have cost. Everything else was fantastic. The room left nothing to be desired and the free wifi and breakfast made it convenient since I had a early flight. All the amenities where great, from power adapter, to bath salts there was not much left out. My favorite a plate of fresh fruit, water and ice already in the ice bucket when you arrive in your room. The floor I stayed on had a executive suite for business matters and just sitting out on balcony for coffee. The free breakfast was one of my top 5 largest and most diverse in the world, and number one for an non all inclusive resort. All in all Very expensive, very luxury, Great job.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnStinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

From entering the lobby to checking out the service offered was first class.
The room and views were outstanding.
I would never stay anywhere else when I have a flight to get.
5* hotel but not overpriced

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minkymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Everything was what you would expect from a five star hotel. I got everything that I requested for on my online reservation and even gave complimentary wine and cheese since we were there on a honeymoon. Executive treatment, still superb. If you're on a trip to simply relax and stay in most of the time, this is the place to go. But if you're in HK for a tour, it's quite far from all the places except the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeiz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

From the greeting by the Marriott Shuttle, to the checkin process in the Executive Lounge, everything was flawless. Room was outstanding. Staff very professional and friendly. This is my third stay at this hotel, and it just keeps getting better...

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing an active runway, if you're a light sleeper, like me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Regal Airport Hotel
Regal Airport Hotel
#94 of 727 in Hong Kong
5,013 reviews
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#55 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,208 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#57 of 727 in Hong Kong
3,099 reviews
Admiralty
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
#31 of 727 in Hong Kong
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Address: No.1 Sky City Road East, Hong Kong International Airport | Lantau, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#27 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $161 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 658
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the edge of Lantau Island, the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel provides a refreshing escape from the bustling city and an alternative option for meetings and conferences. Welcoming guests with an impeccable location, the hotel is near the Hong Kong International Airport and directly connected to AsiaWorld-Expo. The most prestigious international hotel on Lantau Island offers luxurious accommodations, with 658 guest rooms facing the sea or golf course, 14 multi-functional meeting rooms spanning more than 13,000 square feet of meeting space, five restaurants, pampering treatments at the on-site award-winning Quan Spa, an indoor heated swimming pool and a 24-hour gym. Travelling to city centre is just a 28-minute train ride. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we invite you to experience the best and travel brilliantly with the Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing