We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food; overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands

Woodlands
Ranked #1,357 of 7,777 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
travelalotinindia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average food; overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The location is good. The spread of food is reasonable with both North Indian and South Indian food being available. However, the food itself is average and highly overpriced. May want to try the South Indian Thali if in the vicinity.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelalotinindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    45
    41
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best South Indian in HK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Its been around since years and one visit there, one knows why. It delivers with no frills. Thats what is good about it. No jazz. Traditional and makes one feel at home. Great sambhar, dosa, idli, uttapam. The Thali seemed very popular, though, I didnt try it in this trip. One meal there, recommended, if one loves south Indian food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SidJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“good indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

if you are craving for some good Indian food then woodlands is definitely the destination that you need to head for while in Kowloon area. it has a great selection of north and south indian food

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank manishgiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent South Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My search for (south) Indian food in Hong Kong ended when I was introduced to this restaurant. The layout and decor are very mediocre, much like the Udupi restaurants of Mumbai. The service also is rather poor and the waiters looked very harrassed on both the occasions that I visited this restaurant. The level of hygiene and cleanliness also left much to be desired.

All these negative qualities had created a kind of doubt about what to expect when I ordered a south indian thali. When the food came with three nice looking poories, it did arouse my taste buds. I found all the items - dal, vegetable, sambhar, rasam, curd, sweet and the pickle to be very tasty. I enjoyed the meal and when I was presented with a bill of just about 100 HK dollars, I did feel it was value for money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KChandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good option but much to desire”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

It is a simple no nonsense restuarant. The food was average (we ordered south indian thali, as we were craving for one). The food is a nice change for there are very few restaurants serving south indian cuisine in hkg but much to desire. The taste and quality were a let down probably our expectations were higher! An good option nonetheless!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodlands also viewed

 

Been to Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing