We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cheapie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sealand Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sealand Guesthouse
Ranked #21 of 243 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good cheapie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We chose to stay at Sealand House due to the location and great price.
The room had lots of windows that actually opened to gain fresh air. Although the room was tiny it was clean and functional and the bed was very comfortable- always a bonus after a hard day's sightseeing! The shower/toilet/handbasin area was compact but we had no problem with the toilet seat getting wet- just put it up prior to showering! The tiled floor dries amazingly quickly. The towels were an adequate size and were changed daily. Staff were helpful and friendly.
Location is fantastic- MTR station outside the door, money changer and Maccas (to get a nice coffee) on the door step, great local eateries only a short stroll away, as is the lovely park.
We'd stay here again- small, clean, convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you are touring Hong Kong and you're looking for a good place to stay then this one is a recommendation.

The location is very good. Almost all services are accessible. Fastfood chains like McDonald's, KFC, Burger King, Yoshinoya and other Chinese restaurants are just around the corner. Money changers, MTR station, Watson's and many others are only a few walks away from the building.

They only have small rooms but are clean. For tourists usually out most of the day, this is already a good deal.

Wi-Fi connection is good, although some rooms don't get enough signal especially those on the rooms far from the lobby.

The staffs are accommodating. You only need to speak in English or probably a few Cantonese to get things done.

This is definitely the guest house to go to when returning to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jeanaustinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heerlen
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very good location next to Nathan Road. Small but clean rooms with a small bathroom and air-condition. In some rooms the wifi-signal is not really good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyrille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stay 2 nights in Sealand Guesthouse. It just opposite MTR station if you come out from TSZ exit B1 & B2. Although the room is very small but it is clean. There is room cleaning service everyday. Besides hotel got many shops like KFC, electronics shop, Chinese herbal tea shop, 7-11 and etc. It's a nice guesthouse for budget traveller.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkc0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed here end of April 2012. We actually stayed a few nights at a 4-star hotel, but also stayed here for 2 nights to save some dough. The location was awesome, right beside the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR exit, right beside KFC, McDonalds, with banks like HSBC, Citibank, Stan Chart and lots of good money changers nearby. It's right by the shopping area of Cameron Road where most fashion boutiques stem from. Lots of food outlets and bars near the area too.

The unit itself was inside an old building, but still of decent condition. Definitely better than Chungking or Mirador. The lift, while small (only fits around 4-6pax), is not as crowded. When you get to the unit at the 8th floor, it is very cozy. The rooms are not new, but they are well maintained. There are always some nice helpers around to clean and tidy the place up. It is perfect for just resting after shopping or touring around the city. Some units have large windows and you can see nice neon street signs at night.

I would recommend this place for those who want easy access to what I've mentioned above, and would like to be away from the shady crowd of Chungking/Mirador. Sealand might be a little more expensive those, but I'd say it's a better choice.

We'll definitely book again here if we're on a budget.

Room Tip: "big window" rooms are less cramped, but about HK$30 more. but I saw the small window room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank esan2Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Very adequate guest house. The location is great. Right in the middle of TST, across the street from the MRT station. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, etc.
However, the rooms are really tiny. The double sized bed for the two of us took up 75% of the room. It is more than adequate if you are small in stature, but really small for the normal sized Westerner. The bathroom is also the shower, and it's a tight squeeze for six footers.
It was clean and tidy, and I would stay here again if I could knock out a wall to make a normal sized room.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Didiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed in HK in this hostel for a couple of nights before going to another hostel nearby that had no availability on these dates.

Hence, after seeing some good reviews and the good location in Kowloon, I decided to book this hostel. The location proved to be a little tricky to find, but eventually I managed to get to the right place. It's very central in kowloon and you have the subway at the doorstep as well as many restaurants, shops and bars. One can also easily walk to TST promenade and catch the ferry to HK island in just 10-15 minutes walking.

I was already aware of the small size of the rooms and lack of storage space, so that wasn't a shocker for me as I wanted a good value for money accomodation and knew that the time that me and my wife were going to spend in the room wouldn't be a lot.

However, the fact that the shower was so tiny, on top of the toilet and the sink was really a major issue for us... it made virtually every bath a gymnastic exercise and leaving everything wet after each shower. Also there was a strong smell in the corridor of the apartment that was not very pleasant.

Also the sound isolation was poor so you could hear people on the corridor and in other rooms, but at least from the street due to being in a secondary stree there wasn't that much noise.

In summary, the location is great and safe and you can a decent night sleep after a long day sightseeing but I think that for 500hkd you can get better in HK due to the numerous offer of hostels in the town. Still I would say this property is certainly not the worse and is acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martinitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
New Yiu Fai Guest House
New Yiu Fai Guest House
#19 of 243 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lee Garden Guest House
Lee Garden Guest House
#25 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Canada Hotel
Canada Hotel
#25 of 243 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Econo Guesthouse
#12 of 243 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hop Inn
Hop Inn
#6 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Asia Inn
#14 of 243 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sealand Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sealand Guesthouse

Property: Sealand Guesthouse
Address: Room D, 8/F, Majestic House,80 Nathan Road, TsimShaTsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 243 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hong Kong Sealand Guest House is located in the center of Tsimshatsui district, the main tourist center and main hotel area in Hong Kong. Beside our building, there are MTR Station, taxi stand and bus stop of Airport Bus No. A21. Near to Kowloon Railway Station and Kowloon Star Ferry. You can take Airport Bus No. A21 from HK Airport and alight at the bus stop of Cameron Road Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sealand Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sealand Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Sealand Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing