We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not too much to write home about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Ranked #41 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
NYC, NY
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good location but not too much to write home about”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel reminds us of why we avoid large chain hotels for our vacations. The Hyatt is large is in a very good location - close to good shopping and easy transportation. The rooms are clean - although a bit weird in design with no/few drawers to put your clothes (??) so we could not really unpack ?? We were quite irritated by the view, which claimed to be "harbor view" but is more accurately a view FACING the harbor which is blocked by the buildings in front of the Hyatt...." AND right across from the laundry/maid area - so it was VERY noisy in the morning!!! We did complain about the view to no avail.....I have to say that nothing irritates me more at a hotel than having the front desk tell me that they are fully booked and cannot do anything to address our concerns about the room. We made our reservations months ago - and if they were going to be fully booked they just should have not taken them....
Another negative was the concierge (at least the one we dealt with) who was incredibly useless - and did not even tell us that the restaurant we were heading to had moved!
So why the 4-stars and not 3-stars? Well, the location is good and the hotel is clean and comfortable and this is a very good value for Hong Kong - just do not expect anything special. It is too large and impersonal for that. Although I have to say that of all the staff the bell boys were the nicest and most friendly - at least they tried to provide good service

Room Tip: If you request (and pay for...) HARBOR VIEW make sure you actually get a view of the harbor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    879
    174
    33
    19
See reviews for
565
606
211
697
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was going to write a good review about the location, our room, our lunch at the Chinese Resto, and the outdoor Chin Chin Bar, but 3 really bad and glaring experiences really made our trip to Hyatt most unpleasant. We will never go back there again.
My wife and I have stayed in maybe 15 different 4-5 star hotels in HK in the past 10 years as we like coming to HK 3-4x a year either on our return trips from EU or the USA, or just for a visit. We're even card holders of the HK Frequent Visitor Pass. The hotels we like , we try to go back. Every so often, we try out a new one. Our mistake.
1. The breakfast was minimal compared to other 5-star HK Asian buffets. After one breakfast, we never went back. Do not eat at their buffet breakfast. It's just a waste of your good money.
2. The swimming pool does not serve ANY beverage and food, let alone snacks. You have to bring your own water. Huh???? Is this for real??? Anyway, forget their swimming pool. When I mentioned this to a staff, he said it's because the pool is owned by the Residences. Oh, ok....but so what???
3. When we checked in, the receptionist said that my wife and my reservation was for only 1 daily breakfast. OK, maybe my mistake when I booked it at Agoda. They gave us 4 coupons (for 4 nights stay) with a validity date until end of July. I thought, that's ok. If we like the breakfast, we'll just eat at their buffet for 2 days, and eat out for 2 days. WRONG!! After a mediocre buffet breakfast, we gave 2 coupons thinking one coupon each. WRONG!! iT'S ONE COUPON PER PERSON PER DAY. Not transferrable. When this was explained to me upon checkout, I said we still have 3 breakfast coupons. Why was I charged for 1 breakfast? Hence the explanation of 1 coupon per day per guest. After a moment of talking uselessly with a Front Desk Supervisor, I just paid my bill. I'm normally not picky about these things, but I feel bad when I feel I've been taken for a ride.
I will never go back to this hotel. I hope you dont have to experience what we did.
Bad, bad hotel. Change your outdated policies. Improve your breakfast. Serve food and beverages in your poolside. But even if you do these things, we know of a lot better hotels in HK where we are welcome and we like the service. Good riddance Hyatt.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel will be better. Dont waste your good money here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benjieguev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent visit. We appreciate your valuable feedback regarding food and beverage at the pool area and we shall review your comments with the apartment management. I was concerned to learn of the inconvenience you have experienced at breakfast in Cafe and the associates who attended to you failed to extend the flexibility as expected. Please be assured that I have taken this matter up with the team to ensure our usual high standards are met in future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we hope you will consider visiting us again in the future. With best regards, Xavier Pech, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

good location for shoppaholic,,,excellent service!!! I love this place, near avenue of star just 5mins walk also nice view...so you have your private symphony of light in room (except the sound)...;P I was there after the Cyclone or something so nice place to walk and safe for woman alone.

Room Tip: Harbour view room....for harbour view and private symphony of light in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wawadiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello ny
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This Hyatt experience was wonderful. The location is perfect for touring the city and right next to the metro. The staff was excellent in every way and couldn't do enough for you. We upgraded to a Club Room and so had use of the Concierge Club which had excellent breakfasts and afternoon food and drinks. We had an excellent meal at the Chinese restaurant which we were told by our guide was one of the hidden gems of the city.

By far the most impressive thing was the helpfulness of the assistant front desk manager, Mr. Keith Lee. Mr. Lee went out of his way to assist us in using our Hyatt points to offset the cost of our stay. This nicety has definitely made me a Hyatt customer and I will certainly return to this hotel. .

Room Tip: High floor with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveboces1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. It is a pleasure to read your positive comments concerning the overall hotel service, food and location. We were delighted to learn that Keith Lee was helpful and friendly. Please rest assured that we will recognise him for the assistance provided to you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Xavier Pech - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the club suite at this Hyatt Regency.
The service was great, but I think it could have been better.
The location of the hotel was pretty good. It was close enough to walk to the avenue of stars and the surrounding hotels and malls. The layout of the hotel was a bit odd. The main door, or what we thought the main door, didn't make it look like a typical Hyatt. The properly way for taxis to drop people off was in the underground parking structure, whereas other hotels had ground floor drop offs. But this wasn't a big issue.
The size of the rooms were pretty clean and big, even though we paid for the club suites. The view was great and we loved seeing boats float along the bay.
The highlight of the trip was the club lounge for breakfast and afternoon tea. Every afternoon, we would go to the lounge for wine and cheese, but that's not all they had. There were bottles of liquor, champagne, juices, sodas, bread, salmon, and fruits. Since it was buffet style, it is a nice place to pre-game and get your cheese on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was at Hyatt Tsim Tsa Shui in Jan 2013 for a few days on a business trip. Hotel's location is pretty convenient as Tsim Tsa Shui MTR is just below the hotel. We were four of us and wanted an early check-in for atleast one or two rooms if not all four. But surprisingly the attendant at the reception told us that it was not possible. It was only after some persuasion, he agreed. Its quite surprising as all 380 rooms cannot be booked at the same time. Apart from this, no other issues with the hotel, room is amazing and very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kartik1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The services that u can get from any Hyatt is always been one of the best. It is not an exception in HK, TST branch.
My last stay was in Jan when I commented casually that the corridor is a bit too dim to be labelled as cosy and room should be well lit. I will be doing some paper work at night and the dark cosy room is straining my eyes.

So this trip when I was doing my check in, the staff mentioned that an additional desk light is already in my room and they have put me at the first room from the elevator.

I was shocked. I never expect my casual remark was taken so seriously.

The room is smaller than its other branch in Sha tin. But it was compensated with the great location and the free breakfast. Within the mall of K11, there are several restaurants and across the hotel there is an excellent ramen stall.
What else to complain when mtr station is just at basement??

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierPech, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. It is a pleasure to learn of your satisfaction with the location and overall hotel service. We were delighted to receive such recognition. Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Xavier Pech - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,630 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,907 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui

Property: Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Address: No.18 Hanoi Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui business and tourist district with direct access to the MTR subway stations, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui offers 381 guestrooms and suites, state-of-the-art meeting and banquet facilities including a pillarless ballroom accommodating up to 400 persons and 5 meeting rooms with various sizes, authentic cuisines with 3 restaurants and a bar, as well as a well equipped fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Tsim Sha Tsui Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing