We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but yummy yum cha”
Review of West Villa

West Villa
Ranked #471 of 8,054 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
208 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Pricey but yummy yum cha”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Brought a Taiwanese and Japanese friend here on Boxing day and we enjoyed the food very much. The famous Cha Siew (roast pork) had maintained its standard all these years. The festive sticky rice and hairy crab dumplings were nicely done. The services were very efficient but probably fell short of what we would get from a Chinese Restaurant in a 5 Stars hotel but priced the same. I believe they have a standard English menu but exclude the festive specials or the daily reommendations so do ask for assistance. Best to bring a local friend if you can.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    58
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Roast Pork!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Went to Causeway Bay to try this place out on the recommendation of a friend. He said it was the best Roast Pork in Hong Kong, and compared to every other place we tried the dish, he was right! The pork was thick, moist and flavorful.

However, the rest of the food we tried, from dim sum to seafood noodles, was just okay. I'd consider it a bit overpriced, as well. Service was also so-so. It was a bit hard to call the attention of the waitresses, who were formal and not very friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malupit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Less than pleasant dining experience.”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had lunch at the West Villa, located inside Lee Gardens Mall, in Hong Kong. The food was good but not so friendly staff. The hostess got angry with one of her kitchen staff, and got into a shouting match with her in the kitchen. This nonsense went on for about fifteen minutes while we were eating lunch. We felt like we were at a boxing match rather than a nice restaurant. I will return to Hong Kong but will avoid ever visiting West Villa again. I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiangMaiJim68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A True-blue Cantonese restaurant”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Went there on Fodor's recommendation. It's a 5 minute walk from Crowne Plaza Hotel. The BBQ pork is succulent and served in huge slices. Just get the starter portion if you're dining with only one another.

We also had one of the famous HK soups. Really delicious.

Went a bit adventurous with the spicy beef. DO NOT order this if you can't take spicy food. The chillis in there are the big and dark red ones. It smells a bit like tom yam, and will give the tongue a delightful burn. If you're into spicy, then do try, but if you can only take a little spice, this will deaden all your senses.

The place was crowded. A really good sign.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busybeesbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great food supererb service and nice staff. A very local restaurant that welcomed us "westerners" with kindness

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnneAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing