We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Budget Hotel”
Review of Lucky Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lucky Hostel
Ranked #520 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed July 7, 2009

The Hotel was Located in the Chung king Mansion,where are full of touts and disturb you in the lobby of the building,just ignore them(both chinese and Indian),becasue they always mislead or cheat people to different place.The Hotel was located in the Block C,Floor 12,where are Clean and no need to queue too long to wait the life compare with Block A.The Room was entire small but it was New and with Free Internet Access.Try to send the E-mail and listen their advice before you go,Luckyhousejoe@yahoo.com.hk.Would recommend for Budget Travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 36 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2009

i read the reviews on this site and internet comments about the notorious Chung King Mansions. this hostel was not as bad as Chung King Mansions is made out to be and actually very modern and recently renovated inside. the retail lobby level does live up to its reputation of being seedy but the location is fantastic on Nathan Road walking distance to Kowloon Harbour and the Airport Bus stop right outside. Chung King mansions is a collection of hostels and guesthouses and the quality can vary quite drastically. this is family run and very clean. the room was nice with a flat screen tv although quite small. the bathroom is an oversize shower cubicle with a sink and toilet located inside but thats hong kong for you! I dont know about the comments of the desk clerk i've read on here, it was some african guy but i had no problems. be careful to follow the advice the hostel sends when you book of not to talk to anyone in the lobby when you arrive as they will try to take you to the wrong hostel. also do not touch any of the food that is being sold in the lobby

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I originally booked a hostel called “England Backbackers Inn” and upon arrival I presented my documents relating to my booking and was then aggressively told that I would be staying in “Hong Kong Lucky Hostel” when I asked a member of staff why I was being moved to a new hostel the employee just started shouting in an aggressive manner telling me that I was going to a better hostel and I shouldn’t complain.

After carrying my own bags down 3 flights of stairs we arrived at the Hong Kong Lucky Hostel and I was shown to my very small room, I then informed the staff member that the room I originally booked at England Backbackers Inn displayed rooms with a double bed and nice décor but what I was looking at was a hospital bed, barred window, broken fan and a all-in-one shower over toilet 2ft high basin pod. The staff member walked away and then after 5 minutes came back with another man that choose not to introduce himself and both just started shouting at me telling me I was a trouble maker and that no other person had companied EVER.

I advised the two gentlemen that I would be complaining to the company that I booked the hostel through and that I would be writing a review on tripadvisor and there reply was “so what” and “I don’t care do what you want” …… the conversation became so heated and the men so aggressive that I said I would speak only with the Owner and then tried to shut my room door on the arrogant aggressive young men.
After several requests that the Owner speak with me regarding my complaints and absolutely no reply I simply gave up, I had paid for 5 nights in full and the company that I booked through where of no assistance at all.

I had complained of dirty towels, broken fan, broken telephone socket, staff shouting on the mobiles at 3am and so on but none of the complaints were dealt with and just both myself and the staff keep away from one another.

Easily the worst travelling experience of my life.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank gawny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at Lucky Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

The location and room rate is fair but my God! ! THE DESK CLERK who entertained us IS SOOOOO ARROGANT! He argued with us at the top of his voice . I wanted to cancel my 3 nights reservation but was forced to stay there for one night since the booking was already charged. We transferred the following day. But I swear, I'LL NEVER EVER BOOK there again, the experience with the DESK CLERK is a NIGHTMARE!!!!!! and his manager is not doing anything about it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank durian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at Lucky Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

well its not a hotel its a hostel, he sends an email after u book giving different directions to a totally different floor to the reception to about 15 different hostels and if his hostel is overbooked he puts u in another one (something to do with not being allowed to more than so much of the towerblock im told dont know if thats true or not)i didnt know this and went to the 12th floors as directed by my booking declining offers of substances along the way where i waited in the hall knocking for about an hour till a guest came back and we let ourselves in then called them after another half hour when i finally got the reception phone to work
if he is there that is otherwise you get his nigerian henchmen like i did the rudest most argumentitive receptionists ive ever seen faulty towers treatment would be like the hilton compared to what i put up with from them. so there was no more rooms at the lucky hotel so i had to follow someone out the back climb over piles of discarded rubbish to another part of the tower block seriously surprised that a guest would be taken this way dont know if its always like that or just the night i was there but the whole set up seemed very dodgy got back to reception said was not having any of it big argument after so didnt get to stay there hopped on a very late ferry to macau not something u want to do when u want to sleep but very impressed with macau
in my opinion the parts of the chuengking mansions i crawled around were a potenial fire trap and health hazard but if u like that sort of thing then its the cheapest most convenient one around

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank notveryhappyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at Lucky Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pattapornja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christellelulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ocean Guest House
Ocean Guest House
#364 of 726 in Hong Kong
20 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Guest House
Park Guest House
#391 of 726 in Hong Kong
65 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#304 of 726 in Hong Kong
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
#541 of 726 in Hong Kong
9 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Loi Loi Guest House
Loi Loi Guest House
#279 of 726 in Hong Kong
32 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Asia Travel House
Asia Travel House
#421 of 726 in Hong Kong
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Hostel

Address: Room C5, 12F, Block C, Chung King Mansion, No.36-44, Nathan Street, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #520 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $32 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lucky Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Free Internet Access,Air-condition,Fan,Television with Cable Channel,Telephone,Private Bathroom,24 hours hot water,Towel and Slipper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lucky Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hongkong Lucky Hotel Hong Kong
Lucky Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing