We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$87
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$45
No fees just great deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
silvericemaiden
Melbourne, Australia
Average for Chungking Mansions
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 6, 2012
IT IS IMPORTANT TO NOTE THAT (LIKE THE REST OF CHUNGKING MANSIONS) THE PARIS GUESTHOUSE OWNERS ALSO OWN A NUMBER OF OTHER GUESTHOUSES ON OTHER FLOORS WITH DIFFERENT NAMES.

Paris Guesthouse also owns Germany Hostel, so a booking with one may have you staying with the other.

For those who don't know, Chungking Mansion is a massive, old, decrepit complex, comprising of thousands of rooms (accommodation and apartments). This is the cheapest place you can stay inn Hong Kong - this is for a reason.

We have stayed in Chungking Mansion on a number of occasions, so we are used to it, but it really is quite awful. To be clear, almost all the hotels are of the same standard, with a few better than others, and some are just hovels.

We stayed in a Paris Guesthouse room, but booked under Germany Hostel (so I have added this review to both).

We booked a double, but were given a triple, which gave us some much needed extra space. The room was average for Chungking Mansion.

As with all rooms here, the shower is over the toilet, and the whole room will be soaked when you shower. The linen was clean, they provided towels, and there was a fridge & TV in the room. Due to the extra bed there was space for our bags. Overall the room was clean, although there was the usual questionable wiring and old air-conditioning unit. There was also a ceiling fan.

Location is great because it's right on Nathan Rd, 1min from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station and in the midst of all the shopping and food. Fairly close to Temple St Night Market as well.

On the bottom floor there are a number of shops including a laundry and some really nice Indian food.
Date of stay: September 2012
Nearby Hotels
0.5 miles from Paris Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Harbour View Room
0.1 miles from Paris Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
0.4 miles from Paris Guesthouse
Restaurant
Room service
The Club Floor Room at the Royal View Hotel [subsidiary of Sunhung Kai Properties Ltd]
7.8 miles from Paris Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
1.9 miles from Paris Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Restaurant
 Exterior
2.2 miles from Paris Guesthouse
Restaurant
Room service
Hotel Lobby
6.3 miles from Paris Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Riverview Deluxe Room
5.8 miles from Paris Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
The Pool at the Regal Riverside Hotel
6.1 miles from Paris Guesthouse
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Hong Kong
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveler rating
5
7
18
5
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5
7
18
5
13
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 48 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Don’t be fooled by all the positive reviews online, just probably put up by the owners. When it’s cheap, there’s definitely a catch! We booked one room for $45/night and another for $50/night for 4 pax through www.asiarooms.com.

The outside: You have to walk through filthy alleyways to reach Block D. There you’ll find two lifts, one for odd numbers and another for even nos. Once we reached 7th floor, the guesthouse had prison-like doors & CCTV along the hallways, presumably for safety. When we arrived, our room wasn’t ready so we had to wait for a few minutes.

The inside: It's like the whole floor was partitioned into rooms. Our booking was a DOUBLE occupancy room but what was provided seemed to fit only ONE. The room was like a comfort room converted into a bedroom. The walls & floor are in white tiles. It’s a tiny claustrophobic room without a window.

I definitely would NOT recommend this place. I can’t believe that most reviews online are positive when in fact the only positive you can find with this place is their location.

YES, it’s accessible. YES, you’ll just sleep on it for the night BUT don’t we all want to have a good comfy room to sleep on after a tiring day of walking the city?

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flightsandflavours
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

If you wanna stay here for a while so please don't expect anything just think it's a place to keep your belonging and rest in the night. I booked a room through hostelworld.com, the owner sent me the information. Of course, it's very useful to me. This guesthouse is on the 7th floor of Chung King Mansion, this area is lots of people from Pakistan and India, they are impolite so you have to be careful yourself. Anyway, in the night this mansion will lock at 23.00 hrs. but you can use the middle door of it. However, this guesthouse is not too bad if you are on the budget. The room is very tiny but the Wifi is so fast. If you bring a labtop with you so can ask a password from a maid.

Room tip: If you are tall so please hesitate to book this hostel.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dameeoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I arrived at Chung King mansions and headed to Paris guesthouse, here they showed me a single room, but as I am 183cm tall and large sized European was advised that the single beds are too small. I was then taken upstairs to the 10th floor to rooms with double beds. Which are more suitable for my size.
The rooms are basic,but clean. They are very small with no extra room for luggage etc, but suitable for a single traveller not wishing to spend too much.

Pros: clean rooms
good internet connection
low cost rate of HK$100 a night !!
chung king mansions is in an excellent location for Kowloon

cons : chung king mansions itself is run down and you get hassle from vendors as you pass outside
Tv has limited channels with none in English

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saf7670
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Each room has its own bathroom (shared shower and toilet) and bed... apart from that, there's hardly room to turn around. Seriously, though, what else would you expect for $20?? Cheaper than most hostels in Europe where you share a bathroom and get woken up anytime another guest enters the room late or leaves early... it's places like this that make Hong Kong accessible to the backpacker on a shoe-string budget. Certainly, this is not the place you bring your mother or girlfriend... this is the type of place where you spend a night or two while on a stopover in Hong Kong and don't want to spend the money on a regular hotel room.

The free Wifi works great and there is unlimited tea/coffee. An abundance of cheap eating places on the ground floor make for a very budget friendly stay.

For first-time visitors to Hong Kong considering staying here, I recommend you book only 1 night, and see if it's the type of place for you. At least you have somewhere to sleep and put your mind at ease - it is clean and safe. Maybe sleeping inside a cupboard isn't your cup of tea; you can easily book a more upscale place online for the remainder of your trip. Considering what you pay, however, Paris Guesthouse is not a bad option for those on a budget.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank statdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

With that said, it isn't a place for everyone's tastes. If you are just looking for a place to put your pack down and a place to rest your head at night, then this might be a good option for you. I was expecting the experience to be really dodgy and to be a little scary but it wasn't. We were heavily bombarded by touts on the ground floor only when we first arrived. One went so far as to try and grab my boyfriend's backpack but I just stood in his way and told him no. They all claim to have a better place to stay...but from the looks of it, they are all similar. Chungking Mansions was a little hard to navigate at first but we just asked the doorman for the right elevator. It is helpful to have the address written down so you can show someone.

When we found the guesthouse, they were nice enough but not exactly friendly. The room wasn't ready, but they let us use their computer and it was only a few minutes. We even got to pick between rooms. We ended up with a double. Yes, the rooms are really tiny. My boyfriend who is about 5'9 could just about reach both sides of the room, and that was at the widest. I found it quite cozy and didn't really mind it. The way they arranged things in the space really maximized the area. The bed (pretty comfy) was on a platform with plenty of space underneath to store our belongings. Next to the bed was a cubbie for even more storage, and on top of that was the mini fridge (a definite plus!) and the tv. The bathroom was a standard wet bathroom and we had no problems with that except that if you had the hot water on (the switch is outside the room door) longer than a few minutes, the owners would sometimes switch it off...which led to sudden cold showers for whoever took the second shower. Not easy to switch back on with one person dressing and the other in the shower. Also, we had a couple of ants in our bathroom but they didn't come into the room so it was ok.

We really appreciated the free coffee service in the lobby area and free wifi. You could use their computer but there was a fee I think. Our room was cleaned most days. We found it was a bit expensive for what you get but then again it was during Lunar New Year. There is a menu by the phone in the rooms, for a restaurant downstairs. We would definitely recommend that place. It was so good! We ended up eating there twice.

All in all, it was a good place for us but it isn't for everyone. It can be claustrophobic to some and seem a little dodgy, although, we felt safe enough. There was always someone in the lobby area. We had a great time and were really close to the metro line and a lot of what we wanted to see.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank destinationnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews