We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reception with a bad attitude, rooms are small and dirty”
Review of Marlboro Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlboro Hostel
Ranked #132 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I checked out this hostel and was shown 2 rooms. a small and a smaller room. I said I was going to think over which one I would take, have lunch and come back later. But the guy said I had to decide right there and there and if I left, not to return anymore.

What a way to deal with customers or guests. And as if they had the best or better rooms in the business. So I left and checked the next building , found a better room and a decent and courteous reception.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blazt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 20 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2010

I booked a "private single ensuite" room through hostelbookers.com for 5 nights at HKD 380.00 per night. The room I was given was little more than a cupboard right next to the reception area. It measured 1.2m wide. It had a sliding door with a gap all around it so I was woken at 7am every morning by constant, very loud conversation right outside the door as if it was in my room. There was lots of noise late at night too. The staff had an utter disregard for the fact that I was in my room right next to them.

The door could not be locked but the staff told me they are always on reception and it is advertised as "24 hours staffed reception". However whenever I came back to the room late at night there were no staff around at all. I had to leave my valuables with a friend in another hotel.

The shower head and hose were badly leaking and temperature control extremely difficult. On one occasion I was scalded by hot water spraying out of the shower head at all angles.

I had no TV, towel or "bathroom kit", all of which were advertised, and I was not aware of any fridge, security locker or internet access, all of which are also advertised.

In summary I am disgusted by the false advertising and the rip-off price for the humiliating facilities I had to endure.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mid-range-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

I travelled to Hongkong June 10-13, 2009 with my 4 nephews (all below 12 years old) and my 21 year old cousin and 25 year old niece. The location of this hotel is its best feature. The staff were friendly and helpful. The price is reasonable and commensurate with the size of the room, but the location of the hotel makes up for the size of the room. There is a taxi stand in front of the hotel, and the MTR is just a skip and hop away.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avocadocalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

After our horrible experience in another nearby hostel, this hostel was like a life-saver. The staff was the complete opposite, very accommodating and although they knew very limited english, you could see their willingness to serve their customers. The rooms were not spectacular but very clean, the CR was still small but the service definitely made up for any thing they lacked. They provided 2 public computers 24/7 for any one to use on a 1st come 1st served basis and also provide free drinking water. Rates are not exactly the cheapest but it's great considering the location of the hotel. For those wanting to stay in CB on a limited budget, this hostel gets my vote.

C1 has newer rooms and is their newer property. C2 is the original hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Isadora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed August 7, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed March 17, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#2 of 164 in Hong Kong
609 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,219 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,238 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlboro Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlboro Hostel

Address: 2/F,C2,Block C,37 Paterson Street, Paterson Building, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: $50 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marlboro Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlboro Hotel Hong Kong
Marlboro Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing