We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, great value!”
Review of Studios HK

Studios HK
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Studios HK
Ranked #464 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great location, great value!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in a private doublebed room for one night and we are more than satisfied. The room was clean, had a TV, a spacious bathroom with shower and A/C, which was amazing in hot and sticky Hongkong!! It is really easy to find and the staff was not the friendliest, but okay. There is a 24/7 supermarket on the other side of the street and other shopping possibilities. We had a really pleasant stay. Only thing that I can criticise: There was a cockroach in our room! Disgusting but maybe not avoidable in Hong Kong...

Room Tip: We had a room with window to the backyard which made it a calm night there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
2
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The few things I care about at hostels is cleanliness, hot showers, good wifi and location. I think that's not too much to ask, in fact, very basic.

The street this hostel is on is hard to find if not familiar with the area. The directions given were not great. But when you see the Burberry Store, it's very apparent you're there. When I checked in, it was sloppily done. I booked a female dorm but was put in a mixed dorm, then when I switched, they put me on a top bunk even though I requested a bottom. Not a huge deal.

Pros: Good location, smack in the middle of Causeway Bay, lots of shopping, food, juice stands, cafes, grocery store across the street, MTR station around the corner, 7/11 very close. Wifi worked in my room from my dorm bed but was weak at times... showers were hot.

Cons: it was grimy. The initial room I was put in incorrectly (the mixed dorm) didn't have windows! Yikes. If you don't like enclosed spaces, this is the wrong hostel (well, this is the wrong city for you!). The second room I was put in had a shared bathroom with the staffs that lived in the building, and it was grimy: mold, and gunk in every corner. Didn't stink bad, but did of course had a slight funk to it. It was liveable for 2 night, more than that I would just check into a hotel and pay more. I'm more sensitive to these things since I'm very clean and neat, but honestly, most hostel bathrooms I've stayed in have been clean, and even feels new.

I think this hostel is quite expensive but for the area, I guess you're paying for the convenience.

Plus, being in Hong Kong, it doesn't make sense to spend too much time in hostels, go out, and it won't be so hard to deal. At least, that's what I did.

Room Tip: ask for a room with windows, it makes a huge difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skippin_along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hostel is clean, efficient and ok comfort wise. The staff are efficient, but not friendly and I think this doesn't help the communal atmosphere. Additionally, as some reviewers have noted, this is an illegal hostel in a residential building - so you get some dirty looks from the real residents. The location is great and very easy to get to above the subway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The night staff do not speak English, but during normal working hours the guys with good English are there, i especially recall that fiendly Jamaican guy. Hostel is situated in Paterson building, entrance is between "Aesop" and "Burberry" shops, entrance glass door does not have any sign it's hostel inside, it is just regular living building entrance, you just come in, there is consierge desk and elevator, you just ignore the consierge and go to 3rd floor and there is reception room of hostel there.

This place is just couple minutes of walk around the corner off exit E of Causeway Bay MRT station, there is large Wellcome store across the street. Victoria park and A11 Cityflyer bus stops are also just a minute's walk far. If bus goes from Aeroport, the stop name is "Sugar St. / Yee Wo St.", if you go to aeroport from there, stop name is "Kingson St./Gloucester Rd."

The single room was tiny, like 2x2 meters, so that when you lay on the bed, your head touches one wall and your legs the other. Hot water and shower was OK. No TV in the room, the air conditioner was broken. It was noisy outside the window with cars roaring day and night and pedestrian crossing bell tinkling very loudly day and night even with window closed (but you can't close it as you risk to get choked in that tiny space). This place is OK though if you are dog-gone tired and just want to sleep the night over after your flight or hiking and do not want to pay much for unnecessary conveniences common to large hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey_Solstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great hostel, it's clean and the location is central. You can meet lots of nice people from everywhere. The dorms are clean. I was sharing a room, only 2 people dorm. The rest areas is good and you can stay there late. it's safe, you can store your luggage at reception, and also have a locked place in the room for your stuff. Shared bathroom is clean, has hairdryer and also iron if needed. Reception staff are helpful. taxis right in front.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElisabethM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#352 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
9 Boutique Hotel
9 Boutique Hotel
#380 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#69 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#63 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Inntide Guest House
Inntide Guest House
#74 of 160 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
V Causeway Bay Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios HK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios HK

Property: Studios HK
Address: No.47 Paterson Street, Block A, 3rd Floor, Unit A5, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #464 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Studios HK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studios HK Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing