We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Location in HK”
Review of Hong Kong Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hong Kong Hostel
Ranked #311 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The Best Location in HK”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hostel is located right in the centre of everything on HK Island & also right beside Causeway bay MTR station for popping over to Kowloon. Ours was a small double room which was just fine with a TV too. Good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Sober_Colm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    88
    88
    32
    37
See reviews for
16
54
83
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed here a few times now. It is literally a 30 second walk from Exit E at the CauseWater Bay Metro (great location). I was blown away by the help and kindness of Amy (one of the reception staff members). She went out of her way to help me out of a bad situation and was extremely polite and lovely all the while, an absolute star.
Besides that, you get free toast and coffee in the mornings and the checkout is 12pm which is great. Dorm rooms are clean and tidy and it is very secure. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here last year in october during national holiday. The hostel owner is nice enough & I first stayed in my own private room for 3 nights which was pretty good considering some of the other rooms available at this hostel...

After I moved out though I moved into a 5 room dorm with a few friends, we were put into an entirely different hostel with 6 beds... It was there that I got bedbugs.

All in All if i were to suggest for you to stay here it would DEFINITELY be in a private room.

I like this place though because I was in HK last month without a booking or anywhere to go, so they simply let me & my partner crash on the couch.

Good Times!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My friends and I got a private room w our own private bathroom. It was pretty cheap, clean enough, bathroom was functioning. With the price we paid, it was truly worth it. The hostel was smack in causeway bay, in front of the taxi stand, and near the MTR station. Good location if you like to go out at night bec LKF area is nearby. Good place to stay in if you are gonna be always out and about w friends. Safe enough to leave stuff in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelloKimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Superb location! Spent a few nights here with friends. We were a lot which was good because we all stayed in one room.

Encountered problems with the booking though. Booked through hostelbookers.com but when i contacted the hostel, there were no rooms available, hence, we were transferred to another
building. Just really a place to sleep. Good thing there's fast WIFI.

The receptionist/owner wasn't too hospitable and accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CococolaPHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in HK Hostel for 2 nights with my family, we rented two rooms.
The rooms were extremely small, but so are all rooms/apartments in Hong Kong, so this, we understand.

We stayed on the top floor, the rooms were relatively still quite nice, so we had no complaints about it. But the wifi was only available on the 3rd floor - we didn't have any internet access from our rooms.
And when we went down to use the wifi, most of the time it didn't work. Luckily, they had a few computers there for use (internet worked fine on those).

But I got bitten by bed bugs when I was there - beds, not so clean.
Only good things about the place - Excellent location, and there was a really fun hostel party on one of the nights i was there. Got to meet all the other fellow backpackers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Bad experience with this hostel.

The receptionist (if i am not mistaken, also the owner of the hostel) has an attitude problem. Such an [--]. They don't accept credit card (according to the owner) after seeing that I have cash. The owner doesn't help the guest. No wifi inside the room. You have to bring your own towel, although they offer towel rentals. The lobby wifi is almost impossible to surf because alot of the guest are connected in the wifi.

The hostel has 2 really small lift (max of 4 pax) and only 1 lift is working.

The room is really old, not well maintained. The paint is falling and a lot of water marks.

The bed is really hard and you are lucky if the bed has no bed mites.

Never check in this hostel. Better check in Sun Kong Hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japon1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
#196 of 718 in Hong Kong
106 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
#429 of 718 in Hong Kong
8 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Guest House
Park Guest House
#361 of 718 in Hong Kong
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
9 Boutique Hotel
9 Boutique Hotel
#406 of 718 in Hong Kong
125 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ocean Guest House
Ocean Guest House
#348 of 718 in Hong Kong
19 reviews
Apple Inn Tsim Sha Tsui
#257 of 718 in Hong Kong
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Hostel

Property: Hong Kong Hostel
Address: 3 F, Block A, 47 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay | Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hong Kong Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hong Kong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hong Kong Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing