We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Hostel Hong Kong
Ranked #119 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent place”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A cheap and clean stay. Don't expect too much from the hostel as the room is small and cramped. And please remember to bring along essential items. For e.g: towels, soap, toothbrushes and etc. A convenient location, 5 mins walk to Causeway Bay MTR ( subway) and a 20 mins cab ride to Lai Kwai Fong. Interesting bedding because it feels like I'm sleeping on top of plank but if it doesn't bother you that much, I think this is the place for you.

Overall, I recommend the hostel to, on-the-go and no fuss traveller. Adding on, they have friendly and helpful reception. And the common room is a nice place to socialise and make new friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaudhaJannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
5
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The place was nice enough, probably would have been nicer if we could have opened the windows. We stayed in a four person dorm, very clean albeit a bit on the claustrophobic on stifling side. This dorm was in the corner of a larger, eight person dorm which was rather smelly. Like somebody was hiding cheese somewhere. Might just have been a really, really smelly pair of shoes, but an open window would have been a life saver. Staff was very friendly though.

Room Tip: Try smelling the rooms before you decide
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BvanderBroek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The setup here is that the building is a high-rise apartment building and rooms have been converted into hostels. The common area is a very small office looks like two apartments that were gutted out so its small. Now since I was a single traveler i had to move between rooms for my weeklong stay here. They were constantly reshuffling I guess to accommodate larger groups that wanted to stay together. As for the location the area in the causeway bay around all the high end shopping centers. Since I wanted to eat cheap had to leave the area to find other places to eat. Right across the street was a well stocked grocery store which i went in there a lot to pickup snacks, fruits, and drinks. It was very near an MTR(subway) station so made it easy for me to get around

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoben01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

cheap and savety place with good rooms and a clean bathroom. You can find it directly in the shopping district Causway Bay on Hong Kong Island! Cute reception guy!

Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank Moerchen4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#300 of 718 in Hong Kong
272 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#171 of 718 in Hong Kong
892 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Check Inn HK
Check Inn HK
#10 of 158 in Hong Kong
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#4 of 158 in Hong Kong
570 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#2 of 158 in Hong Kong
406 reviews
Pandora After 80s
#27 of 158 in Hong Kong
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Hostel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Hostel Hong Kong

Property: Backpackers Hostel Hong Kong
Address: A3, 10 F, 47 Paterson Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Hostel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Hostel Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing