We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hostel For Our Needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Hong Kong Hostel
Ranked #488 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Hostel For Our Needs”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked in to the New Hong Kong Hostel for One week In August 2012. The owner owns several of the hostels in Block C at Chungking Mansions and as a result we actually ended up in the "Garden Hostel" on floor 16.

The Hostel was absolutely perfect for our needs. We had an immaculate room, which was cleaned daily by the friendly and helpful staff. The room is small, but there is plenty of room under the beds to store cases etc. The bathroom again was small, but perfectly equipped with a lovely hot shower. The Air con worked perfectly and there was a good size TV and free Wi-Fi.

Given the location and price, visitors should expect small, neat things. The cleanliness and friendliness of the staff however were WELL above our expectations. We've spent time in countless Hostels across New Zealand, none of which come close to this hostel for cleanliness, convenience and comfort.

The location is perfect, and we really can't understand why people give Chungking Mansions such a bad press. We had done our research and expected the hawkers (which were very polite and no trouble), small lifts etc etc so there were no big surprises. Chungking Mansions is not a threatening place although people may not have experienced this kind of environment before, so do check it out in advance. The curry restaurants are excellent and there are some of the cheapest snacks and drinks in all of Hong Kong on the ground floor!

We would DEFINITELY stay here again. We're posting this review on both "New Hong Kong Hostel" and "Garden Hostel" as we're not 100% sure which would be best to review!

Room Tip: Try to make contact prior to arriving to be certain exactly which floor / Hostel you'll be in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tdheritage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My experience at the New Hong Kong Hostel is very similar to the bad reviews already posted. I would have to tell travelers to look somewhere other than the Chung King Mansion. If you want to rough it out or don't care about the shabby accommodations this place is fine. At least it's chreap plus all you have to do to buy a fake Rolex watch is step out of your door!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank derektrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Hong Kong Hostel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage shop,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

My experience was terrible!!! Although I knew that place was no so good, I have no options. I gave a chance and stay there. We arrived at midnight, the entrance is full of people with no good appearance. The room and bathroom was so unpleasant. Besides that, there are 3 guys sleeping in the floor in the hall.The pics showed in the internet was not real. My 1st time in HK was great, I booked other hostel. So, I advise you booking early and avoid bad experiences.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JohaT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Hong Kong Hostel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

As you walk into the ChungKing mansions you will inevitably be met by several men all gunning for your business! Despite the fact we had a prior booking for this place we were still quizzed at the lift door by a man askin which hostel we were booked into.
He asked if it was our hostel and we agreed, he then followed us up in he lift to a very dubious "reception"!
All the while complaining that we were late for 'check-in'!
On booking we had confirmed we would be arriving at 10pm and arrived at 9:50pm!?
The room we were given was infact in The Osaka guest house on the 12th floor!
The rooms are minute with no windows, anywhere to put clothes or bags etc. No floor space at all infact!
The place is well dodgy - except to be quizzed on your way in & out about where your staying, where your from & whether you want a fake Rolex!!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Hong Kong Hostel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Oriental Pearl Hostel Hong Kong
Oriental Pearl Hostel Hong Kong
#456 of 718 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Laiyin Ying Hotel
Laiyin Ying Hotel
#326 of 718 in Hong Kong
2 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Osaka Hostel
Osaka Hostel
#471 of 718 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
#429 of 718 in Hong Kong
8 reviews
Mia Casa Hotel
#204 of 718 in Hong Kong
75 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Days Hotel HK
Days Hotel HK
#494 of 718 in Hong Kong
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hong Kong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hong Kong Hostel

Property: New Hong Kong Hostel
Address: Flat C1,Floor 6,Block C,Chung King Mansion,Nathan Road 36-44,Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #488 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Hong Kong Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room with Free Internet Access,Air-condition,Fan,Television with Cable Channel,Telephone,Private Bathroom,24 hours hot water,Towel and Slipper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your New Hong Kong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
New Hong Kong Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing