We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
6
5
5
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6
5
5
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 23 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2011

My experience was terrible!!! Although I knew that place was no so good, I have no options. I gave a chance and stay there. We arrived at midnight, the entrance is full of people with no good appearance. The room and bathroom was so unpleasant. Besides that, there are 3 guys sleeping in the floor in the hall.The pics showed in the internet was not real. My 1st time in HK was great, I booked other hostel. So, I advise you booking early and avoid bad experiences.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JohaT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Hong Kong Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

As you walk into the ChungKing mansions you will inevitably be met by several men all gunning for your business! Despite the fact we had a prior booking for this place we were still quizzed at the lift door by a man askin which hostel we were booked into.
He asked if it was our hostel and we agreed, he then followed us up in he lift to a very dubious "reception"!
All the while complaining that we were late for 'check-in'!
On booking we had confirmed we would be arriving at 10pm and arrived at 9:50pm!?
The room we were given was infact in The Osaka guest house on the 12th floor!
The rooms are minute with no windows, anywhere to put clothes or bags etc. No floor space at all infact!
The place is well dodgy - except to be quizzed on your way in & out about where your staying, where your from & whether you want a fake Rolex!!

Date of stay: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amyhJ237BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C, Owner at New Hong Kong Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before 12:00 noon.The building ground floor which is not belong to us and for building management,there are so many shops like money exchange,baggage,restaurant as well.There are many people to make shopping and make the ground floor so crowed,but actually is very safe and no crime in our building.Money exchange are much money in the shop,but they are still running properly.Your comment are very important for us to improve our service,and we are welcome to serving yours next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews