We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unaccaptable booking service”
Review of Ashoka Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashoka Guest House
Ranked #83 of 259 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“unaccaptable booking service”
Reviewed December 11, 2010

I contacted the hostel via e-mail because I had problems with booking via internet. I called and sent mails and waited for 2-3 days before I got a reply. That was positive, the room was confirmed as booked. Surprisingly the price was more than double of what I got from internet service. I sent anohter mail. No reply, until I had reminded them again and called twice (they just told me that we will check and call you back. Well they did not even ask my number!) Finally after remindering them by e-mail they replied. This time the message was: sorry we are fully booked. next time! Well I called again and told my story and asked why are you not giving the room which you confirmed earlier? They hag up on me!

Unbeliveable service. Well that is a clear sign that they do not want customers and can not serve them! I found another hostel and I am sure the service will be better! Thanks for nothing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MerjaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    40
    35
    17
    15
See reviews for
12
21
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2010

My mother and I stayed four days and three nights at Ashoka Hostel, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong. We reached early than the check-in time but the hotel management received us warmly and gave us a good room with bath attached facility, though for sake of budget we had booked a room without bath room facility and wanted to use a shared bath room.

They were very helpful and spoke excellent English. They guided us as to where we could get vegetarian meals and about locations for sight seeing.

They followed up with airport authorities when our luggage had not come and also helped us to get the luggage at the hotel itself.

We had an excellent stay. The room was clean and comfy. The hostel is centrally located with many shops, restaurants and places of sight seeing nearby. It is very close to Victoria Harbour and also to Hong Kong Island (Central) by ferry.

We regret that our stay was short and would choose Ashoka Hostel again if we happen to visit HK.

The owners - Mr. Gurudev Singh David and his enthusiastic family members made us feel at home and we left feeling nostalgic about the pleasant stay in the hostel

Please keep it up.

Bhashyam
(Booking Reference No. 33386-17986913)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHYAM09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

This guesthouse is clean and the staff friendly. They are very willing to please, speak excellent English are happy to help with anything you need. There is always someone at the door to ensure safety, our bags were kept safe everyday. Cleanliness is 100%! The bedroom looked decent, the beds were fairly comfortable and sheets clean, they provided a clean towel everyday. The free wifi is very fast. The only real downturn is the bathroom. It's a cubbyhole with toilet, and a sink the size of a shoe. No shower, it's a hose in the toilet. If you're used to roughing it out as a backpacker, you'll likely find this lovely. However, if this is not your thing then be aware that it's rough. There is hot water in the shower which is great. Room comes with aircon, fan, 2 small mirrors, phone with unlimited free phone calls within hong kong. Although check out is at 11.30am, they are happy to keep your luggage for you until the time of tour flight which is great.

Get ready to be freaked out by Chung King mansions which is where this guesthouse is in. It is a fire hazard waiting to happen, very old, unmaintained. The lifts are shockingly slow and can't carry many people, so much so that people queue at "rush hours" to get in and hop off. Location, location, location is everything in HK and this place is so central, so easy to walk to the star ferry to go accross to central. Near MTR, bus stop and walking distance to all needs.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mmeurzec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

If you are looking for a cheap accomodation, I expect Ashoka is ok for you, otherwise I would not recommend it at all.
It is conveniently located (Nathan Road), next to subway, but Chungking Mansion is really awful. As soon as we got there we were surrounded by chaps trying to bring us to other accomodation: fortunately the owner had written not to give them any credit!
The bedroom was the smallest ever: we had nearly no chance to move or anywhere to put our backpacks! and the bathroom was the tiniest ever seen. Nevertheless it looked clean enough, although I cannot guarantee for towels and linen.
Aircon was too noisy so we had to keep it off during the night and it was really very hot.
As we had to make our reservation last minute, wanted to spend as little money as possibile, and stayed in Ashoka only to shower and sleep it was quite ok. But we were not so tranquil when we got back at night in Chungking Mansions: as soon as I saw it I understood why Lonely guide defines it "a nightmare for backpack travellers".

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelope72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Salzburg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

The Ashoka Guest House is placed in the Chunk King Mansion, Nathan Road, Down Town Hong Kong. I went there for three times. In the Chunk King Mansion are also a dozent of other cheap guesthouses in the Chunk King Mansion. Its a Microcosm of Indian and African people. Downstairs are a lot of little shops for electronic products and DVDs and CDs... Also there are about four or more very delicous Indian restaurants in the Mansion. The Service at ASHOKA is friendly and the rooms are very small and cheap. I ve they are overbooked they accommodate you in one of the other guest houses in the mansion. Towels and linen aren´t realy clean. The walls are thin and so its often very loud from other rooms and from the corridor. Some Rooms don´t have windows. Or sometimes the windows are directed to the very dark and dirty inner courtyard. Sometimes the Rooms used from prostitutes. Its a strange pleace. Dont recommended for solo girls. This place is OK if you are traveling in small groups. And you only use the place to sleep there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinsm8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed in a double bed room which is quite small but comfortable enough for 2 persons. Anyway, we were always out going around. Just needed a safe place to put our things and have a nice cozy place to sleep at night and Ashoka certainly provided that. The location was really superb as it is right in the center of the shopping areas along Nathan Road. Ashoka Guest House was also very near the MTR station, the pier, bus and taxi routes so moving around HK and going for those different tourist spots became very easy for us even though it was our first time to travel to HK. Let me also mention that Sonia was very nice. made us feel very welcome. Equally nice was Rocielle as she made things very easy for us during our stay. Rocielle was really very friendly and helpful whenever we would need few extra things in our room to make ourselves more comfortable when we got back and she kept our room always clean everyday. Rocielle is really a GEM for Ashoka Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy_Arpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed in Ashoka Hostel for 4 days in August 2009. As soon as we got to Chung King Mansion, we got stopped by at least 10 guys trying to drag us to some other hostels. Make sure you got all your hostel details with you, otherwise you may finish in some well dodgy place. Ashoka Hostel is on the 20th, i think, floor of Chung King Mansion. Our room- 2 single beds- was small, but very clean. Air conditioning unit was quite noisy, so couldn't really use it at night. Staff was nice and helpful. The most disappointing was the location of the hostel. During the day everyone was trying to get us to their hostels- ok, that's how they make money- but once sun goes down there are few drug dealers and prostitutes hanging around...Well, if you travel with group of friends, that shouldn't really bother you, but for us- 2 girls in early twenties- its was ideal. Not sure, if i would come back again...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenBeanBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Pearl Premium Guest House - Premium Guest House Limited
Tsim Sha Tsui
Asia Inn
Asia Inn
#16 of 259 in Hong Kong
47 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
New Tokyo Hostel
New Tokyo Hostel
#95 of 259 in Hong Kong
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Grand Guest House
#443 of 718 in Hong Kong
1 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Australian Guesthouse
Australian Guesthouse
#81 of 259 in Hong Kong
104 reviews
Panda's Hostel - Hot Dog Bus
#94 of 259 in Hong Kong
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashoka Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashoka Guest House

Property: Ashoka Guest House
Address: A Blk. Flr. 13, A4 Chung King Mansion, 36 - 44 Nathan Road , Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashoka Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashoka Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashoka Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Ashoka Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing