We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It gets the job done” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashoka Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashoka Guest House
Ranked #72 of 243 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It gets the job done”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Ashoka Guest house is a place that is by no means a luxury accommodation. You may not even get to stay there. I booked into Ashoka but on arrival was taken to a different guest house on another floor. It appears that a number of guest houses are owned by the same people scattered throughout Chungking Mansions, I believe you are given whatever is free at the time.

The rooms are best described as functional. You would only stay in them to sleep as at least my room was practically the size of the bed, with a few square feet of floor space for your shoes and bag.

Toilet and shower are combined into one cubicle, remember to leave your toilet paper outside when showering...its a very small space everything gets wet.

The bed is comfortable enough even if its not quite full size, and the ladies at Ashoka and Delta guest house (where I ended up) are very lovely and hospitable.

As a place to dump your luggage and crash after a day exploring Hong Kong, this is a decent option. If for no other reason, stay just for the Chungking Mansions experience. Its quite something.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    38
    35
    17
    14
See reviews for
11
21
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
585 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked a Deluxe Private Double Ensuite room at Ashoka Hotel, Hong Kong via Hostelbookers. When we arrived to the property (Ashoka guesthouse), the receptionist said that they didn't have our reservation and could not accommodate us because the guesthouse was full. While we were trying to reach Hostelbookers on the phone, a guy from Delta Hostel (affiliated hostel) arrived and said they could accommodate us in a double room. As we found out later, the room didn't have a government license, it was dirty, filthy, stinky, not at all a 'deluxe' room we had booked, and not even intended to be used as a guesthouse. Moreover, the guy from Delta hostel offered us the following choice: either pay by night and then the price would be significantly higher then the one indicated in the Hostelbookers voucher; or pay the total amount for 9 nights. We had to choose the second option, and then it turned out that we had to pay the total amount (i.e. remaining balance PLUS the deposit we have already paid to Hostelbookers). All in all, it was a terrible experience, and I would never recommend the property. Moreover, when we asked Hostelbookers to sort out the problem, Hostelbookers contacted Ashoka guesthouse, and the latter claimed they had never seen us! That was funny, provided we had their receipt.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank dos-caras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We checked in to the Ashoka Hostel and everything was all ready. They put us on the 16th floor in the Delta hotel and that was ok. A bellman carried my bag up the stairs for me.

The Ashoka Hostel / Delta looks nice - recently redone and clean. The room had three beds and was small - however we knew this before I booked it so no surprise. Room was clean for the most part. A shared bathroom w shower - small but served our needs and the water flow was ok and hot.

Complaints are as follows:

The bed sheets were dirty and had BED BUGS. I scratched all night and took a very hot shower in the morning to make sure I didn't carry any to my next destination. The blanket also smelled and the air conditioner didn't make hot air - only cold.

The location was noisy. Nathan Road has much noise all night. Have to wait for the elevator as only 3-5 people can fit in it at any given time.

The Chungking Mansion - well unless you have ever been in it words can't describe it. Like a ghetto prison / Lower East Side of New York City. Lots of shady people all over. Sell you ANYTHING you want...

My recommendation is stay here if you have no choice or little money. ( And I mean Chungking Mansion, not Ashoka Hostel.)

The staff are friendly - the Indian guy with a turban and the Philippina girl who helped us.

A1 location for getting around Hong Kong - but never leave your wife/girlfriend or kids along there.

Room Tip: Bring bedbug spray
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonteBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Super sketchy building- but it's known to be so. Very tiny rooms, only two very small bathrooms- no way you could shower in there. Bedrooms were clean though- what can you expect for such a low rate, in HK?

Wouldn't stay again, it did the job. I didn't feel very safe as a solo female traveler.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

It was my first time in HK and I was looking for cheap accommodations. When I booked here, everyone I know who's heard of the place said it was the worst place on earth and I should book elsewhere. I stuck with it. It turned out to be pretty good. Downstairs is a bit sketchy with people offering you all kinds of weird things/services. But once you're in the lift headed to hotel, everything is ok. The rooms are tiny, but they're extremely clean, and that's what mattered to me. It's not like I was hanging out in there. I was in HK to visit, not stay in my room. The staff was also helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael Dino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Affordable, clean, staff so friendly and helpful and great location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InaHas_Lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were a little skeptical while entering the building and the guest house. Inside is perfect for a budget hotel. Just book it if you are price conscious and need a superb location. Dont look at anyone in the eye/stare at people while entering the building - it appears lot of thugs walk around the building. Just mind your own business and don't talk to anyone. Just walk away if they solicit anything. Should give more than 5 points for location of the building - I would give 6 points for it. Our room had the view of Nathan road - 6 points for that as well.......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EquatorMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
I-Hotel Limited
I-Hotel Limited
#360 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Canada Hotel
Canada Hotel
#25 of 243 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Australian Guesthouse
Australian Guesthouse
#70 of 243 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Merryland Guest House
Merryland Guest House
#82 of 243 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Shanghai Hostel HK
Shanghai Hostel HK
#114 of 243 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong
Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong
#77 of 243 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashoka Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashoka Guest House

Property: Ashoka Guest House
Address: A Blk. Flr. 13, A4 Chung King Mansion, 36 - 44 Nathan Road (T.S.T.), Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 243 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashoka Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Ashoka Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashoka Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Ashoka Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing