We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for budget traveller in HK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple Leaf Guest House
Ranked #224 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Krakow, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place for budget traveller in HK”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Pros: excellent location close to the subway and bus stops, shops, bars and restaurants, good price for HK, friendly and helpful service, wi-fi, clean room.
Cons: Chungking Mansions building is not a very friendly place, loud, crowded, with lots of touts and annoying vendors, queues to the lifts, although the one to the lift in block E seemed to be one of the shortest. Thin walls in guesthouse - the noise from the hallway and adjoining room were very well audible. Very small bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    50
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
13
19
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

I had an overnight stay in HK and didn't want to spend too more than was necessary. They had a simple, clean place to stay for a good value. It's not fancy and the building is a a little sketch, but the lady that runs it is very nice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel and I have to say that this was the craziest experience for me ever. At first, you have to enter the hostel through an Indian Bazar. A lot of people try to sell you something. That's a little bit annoying and scarry, if you are not used to it.
Second, the rooms are very small, like cells.
Third, there was a terrible smell like chemicals.
Fourth, it was very noisy.
What I have to say is, that the staff was really helpful and friendly. For that reason I gave 2 points instead of 1 point.
You have to think: If you pay the double, you get a 4 star hotel on Hongkong island. it's worthy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ittam-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I just needed some rest (had 16 hrs to kill between long flights), and this was a good cheap option. Paid the owner HKG 350 cash (equals U$50) and had the room from just 10am to 6pm, to shower, and try to sleep a bit. From the airport there's a bus (forgot the no.), convenient double decker, runs every 10 mins, for a few - something like HKG 3.50, brought us almost to the front of the bldg or 2 min walk, in about 35-40 mins. When you enter the bldg, it's a bit shady - a lot of small ethnic shops (I'd say Pakistani), smells of middle-eastern food... get to your elevator, still shabby, but once inside this guest place - it's a small area (I'd say about 5-6 rooms altogether, connected by a hallway with own mini-mini bathroom) you see it's simple, but nice and clean. Owner really pleasant - I couldn't book online, cuz I needed during the DAY, not overnight - so did it by phoning them ahead. Never been to a bathroom like this one (so small, lol) - shower hose above the toilet, so first u pee, then you brush teeth in the sink, THEN shower, because the whole tiny bathroom will be soaking wet after u shower. It's very close to a nice big park with flamingos, close to the waterfront, right on busy Nathan St. On my way back from Australia back to Toronto, I however stayed overnight at LBP hotel in HKG, Queen's Road West, it's dble the price (ie, U$100/night) - but it's black/white difference to this accommodation, total almost luxury lol and still cheap for HKG standards, that is if you want to treat yourself.... happy travels everyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank YvetteG970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Booked this based on good TripAdvisor reviews after my wife wanted to try my colourful Chungking Mansion experience from decades ago. I was pleasantly surprised by how much cleaner and more modernised the whole building had become: efficient lifts with security cameras on all the different towers, with establishments clearly marked.

Now onto Maple Leaf, which was friendly and helpful when I had to make changes to my booking to add an extra family member. The triple room though small, was well thought out with space for luggage, slippers to use, and a water heater. Definitely a recommended place for the budget-conscious (probably the best place you can safely sleep 3 for Hkd500).

We had a bit of an issue with belligerent cab drivers downstairs while leaving for the airport at 4am, but that's no fault of Maple Leaf. Just a short tip that it's probably best for travellers to avoid coming in and out of this location at ungodly hours (it was still ok and full of passersby near midnight).

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank baaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have choose this guest house based on Tripadvisor reviews and I can just confirm we did the best. The owners are very nice, actually they have waited us till 2am at the morning, even they do not have any 24x7 reception.
The location is just perfect, it's very close to Tsim Sha Tsui metro station (red line). Plus, connection to airport is also very good. It's part of the Chungking Mansion complex (you can find directions on the internet) with tens of guest houses or hotels. it's also close (I mean walking distance) to Star Ferry which can take you to Hong Kong city or any other attraction (Ladies Market/Hong Kong History museum/Skyline/Promenade etc... ).
The rooms are small, and I mean really small but this is something you have to count with for such price and location benefit. They offer everything you need = place to sleep and good hot shower especially during winter months. I would recommend to always book room with a window if available. Taking the elvevetor is not so bad as written within some reviews, it never happened we had to wait more than 10min and if you do not want to wait, you can take the next one which goes to floor above and then take stairs.

Now what I did not like.
The guest house is really small, so when somebody is passing your room you will definitely hear it. Some of the guests have been very loud during a night and very soon morning which woke us up (they have been packing their stuff/moving out or just in).
The ground floor of the whole Chungking Mansion is full of Indians and Pakistans. Be careful especially when entering the main entrance, they try to offer their accommodations within this complex, so just ignore them. There is a security patrol during a night so you do not have to afraid about your own security. You just have to arm yourself with ignorance (we have been in India already so we learnt how to ignore things).

Anyway, it's still great deal and I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarkPChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The guest house is at the most perfect location of Hong Kong. It's walking distance to most of the places such as Victoria Harbour, Avenue of Stars, Macau Ferry Terminal. I was there during Chinese New Year and was very lucky when the parade took place right in front of the guest house. The guest house can be easily accessed by MTR, buses and taxi. Putting the room size aside, the room is extremely clean!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mazuin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Loi Loi Guest House
Loi Loi Guest House
#285 of 718 in Hong Kong
31 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ocean Guest House
Ocean Guest House
#297 of 718 in Hong Kong
20 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
#201 of 718 in Hong Kong
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Toronto Motel
Toronto Motel
#188 of 718 in Hong Kong
64 reviews
Mong Kok
Fortune Hotel
Fortune Hotel
#220 of 718 in Hong Kong
46 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Wellyet Guest House
Wellyet Guest House
#372 of 718 in Hong Kong
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Guest House

Property: Maple Leaf Guest House
Address: E4, Block E, 12nd Floor, Chung King Mansions, 36-44 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple Leaf Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maple Leaf Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Maple Leaf Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing