We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small/great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple Leaf Guest House
Ranked #223 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
willowick,ohio,usa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small/great location”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Small hard to find but just ask the peddler out front they are harmless... Ask the hotel to send you a map to the correct elevator very important......the room have air con and plenty of hot water along with a ceiling fan when trying to find this place look for chucking mansion it in black and gold letters transportation. From airport to and from it costs 33hk dollars you need to look for the A21 bus it takes 45-55 mins to get to airport and hotel best value for your money. Metro is across the street from hostel.food all around and shopping everywhere .....

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank mbg-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    50
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
13
19
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in June 2013. The guest house itself is clean but the ground floor of the Chung King Mansion is kinda dirty with different peddlers selling all kinds of stuffs. As what I've read here in TripAdvisor, just ignore them and you'll be fine.

Elevators on Block E are actually better than the other blocks, no long queue. The guest house provides cold drinking water located in their small reception area. They have also provided us bath towels (with some holes on it, but still very useful), blankets, slippers, hair dryer. The owner even asked us if we need shampoo and bath soap in case we forgot to bring some.

The room is technically small, with a small window, a working A/C, a ceiling fan, a wall-mounted TV with only 1 English channel, hot water in shower. Bags and small luggages can be stored under the bed. Although the rooms are small, overall I can say that the owner (who speaks good English) maintains the area well and always keep it clean.

Luggage storage is free of charge after we checked out in the morning but have an evening flight to catch. It's not a secured storage though. When we came back to the hostel, we found our bags just on the hallway near the reception. Thank God, we didn't lose anything in our bags.

We've checked the other guest houses on the 11th and 13th floors. They look filthy and the area is slightly dim. So i guess Maple Leaf is better. I would say that the main advantage of staying in Chungking Mansion is it's accessibility to the MTR subway and all-day shopping. There's also a supermarket on the building across Chungking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Time_Traveller_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting Hong Kong for a little break. The lift up to the guest house is a little hard to find but the owner sent me a map before hand which made it easier. There is usually no queue for the lift which is good compared to the A block which always has a long queue.

I only met the receptionist and owner once and that was when I arrived, they were friendly enough. The room was cleaned every day and clean bedding and towels were provided each day. The room was very small though there is room under the bed to put luggage if you are travelling heavy. This time around I only had a small bag with me so was no problem. I did encounter a few small bugs during my stay but nothing major. Living in mainland China I am quite used to seeing bugs around the place!

Chungking Mansions is in a good location, the i square mall is located opposite and there is also McDonalds and KFC near by for those on a budget. The MTR station is also located over the road and its just a 10 minute walk to the harbour to see the laser show in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Quite good room with a good location. You can feel very safe in here. Price to location/cleanness very good. Only ants in the room, but not dangerous. No queue line to elevator as it is for example in blok A. Small room and bathroom as it is normal in HK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jedrek22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amiens, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

For 30 USD you get a room, they say double bed and en-suite bathroom... technically it's true, but realistically the bedroom is maybe 7 sq meters, the bathroom has a toilet and a shower on top. They have hot water.
It's really a place to sleep, don't bring a lot of luggage, a small bag and the room is full...

The location is good, just in front of the metro, in the center of Kowloon, you can easily walk to restaurants and bars, to the pier, to the avenue of the stars...

Room Tip: When you get into chungking mansion, get in, don't stop for the people trying to sell you stuff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lemon_ginger-tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'd stayed at this guesthouse for 10 days consecutively from mid to end of January, 2013. As a result, I was so satisfied with it despite very inexpensive. Why? I've several reasons, first, I've met only two staffs landlady and lord, but both of them are very polite and friendly to me more than I expected. Second, room and aisle are very clean as well as shower room so it's very comfortable for me to stay. Of course the landlord always cleaned in my room, very satisfied. Third, this guesthouse is located in E block, there are only a few guest houses. This is to say, I didn't have to be waiting for my turn to get on a lift different from A and B blocks. Of course a shower room is ordinary HK guesthouse style, but it's enough space for me to use shower. No problem to me. In addition, Flat TV and window also there, of course can see only inside of building from window, but I was glad about that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

it is just price.....very small.....
location is good.
please be noted the hotel would not provide invoice to you!!!!
if you need invoice to claim expenses, i don't suggest you to book this hotel.
it is just a room provide by private, so it cannot provide invoice. and it need to pay extra service fee but i don't think it worth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Loi Loi Guest House
Loi Loi Guest House
#297 of 718 in Hong Kong
29 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Ocean Guest House
Ocean Guest House
#348 of 718 in Hong Kong
19 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
Yesinn Hotel Yau Ma Tei
#196 of 718 in Hong Kong
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Sun Ying Hotel
Sun Ying Hotel
#222 of 718 in Hong Kong
19 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Toronto Motel
Toronto Motel
#193 of 718 in Hong Kong
63 reviews
Mong Kok
Fortune Hotel
Fortune Hotel
#224 of 718 in Hong Kong
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Guest House

Property: Maple Leaf Guest House
Address: E4, Block E, 12nd Floor, Chung King Mansions, 36-44 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple Leaf Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maple Leaf Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
Maple Leaf Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing