We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shakes to quench our thirsts on a hot night in Hong Kong”
Review of Hui Lau Shan

Hui Lau Shan
Ranked #4 of 276 Dessert in Hong Kong
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great shakes to quench our thirsts on a hot night in Hong Kong”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were walking our way around Mong Kok (Nathad Road) when we passed by this dessert stall. There were so many locals queuing and all the seats were also taken. We figured, this must be good. I did not order the usual mango desserts. I settled for a blueberry shake and I like it a lot. Perfect companion when you're strolling on a hot night in Hong Kong.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderstruckTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    234
    113
    34
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
5,703 reviews
1,777 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12,217 helpful votes
“Hui Lau Shan - Has been better”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Recently stopped by one of the Hui Lau Shan dessert shops for a take away mango dessert drink (HK$21) that not as good as desserts taken here in the past.

Hui Lau Shan is a Hong Kong based dessert shop franchise business that has been around since the 1960s. There are branches all over the city as well as the mainland. They have a few snacks on offer but are most popular for their healthy desserts.

We have enjoyed mango desserts here in the past but a recent stop was not particularly stellar. The Mango drink was sort of tasteless, with the portion of fresh cut mangos, which weren't ripe, being less than that served during past visits. In the end, this could have and probably should have much better.

Based on this serving, it might be awhile before we try Hui Lau Shan again. We've had good experiences at a similar dessert style establishment called Honeymoon Desserts, which can also be found throughout Hong Kong as well. Would probably recommend trying there first.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrible services, runs out of ingredients ALL THE TIME”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Trust me, the locals don't like this place. Ever since its been crowded with mainland tourists from China, the service has been terrible, the prices are unreasonable for such small portions, and they ALWAYS run out of ingredients. Dude, you're a chain restaurant. Restock your stuff.
HK has wayy too many better places for 'tong sui' and desserts. Don't lose your money to this chain restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank thequirkytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Fresh fruit, sorbets, cold smoothies nothing better.!! Hope they open in the US soon! Mango is one of their top used ingredients, so you will know its guaranteed fresh!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TimothyTsui032397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Delicious desert”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Never miss this. The Mango deserts on menu with its nice cool drink selection will make you come back for more. Shops always crowded but that proves its popularity even among the locals.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Santawang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hui Lau Shan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing