We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #191 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fair enough”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

You get what you pay for - after all this hotel is not bad if you are just looking for a place to sleep at night and are out the rest of the time.

The hotel's location is good, walking distance from both Olympic and Mong Kok MTR stations and an airport bus stop nearby, with plenty of local eateries around.

It appears that most of the rooms are smoking rooms (as was mine), which didn't bother me though as there was not even a hint of a smell in the room.
All in all the room was very small - barely enough space to open your suitcase, let alone for two people to stay in for a longer period of time. Although facing the street, it was very quiet at night, and the aircon is working just fine. Just the matresses are quite hard and the single beds are rather narrow.

We didn't have the breakfast but from walking past it looks like a decent spread and fresh, the restaurant is quiet and clean.

What disappointed me though is the service attitude here. There was not a bit of friendliness nor professionalism from the Reception staff, which peaked when I asked whether they could break down a $1000 note for me and was rudely told off. Most disappointing is that most of the staff only seem to speak very basic English - more than once I had to rely on my local friend to communicate with them (in Mandarin, not even Cantonese).

However, two incidents stood out: when I (or rather my Chinese-speaking friend) communicated to the Receptionist that one of the power outlets was not working, an engineer came by within minutes to render very friendly assistance. I asked for the outlet to be repaired only the next day which was reliably done.
The second incident is when I asked the Concierge (I believe his name was Frank) about some things related to a trip to Macau. He was clearly very knowledgeable, respectable and eager to assist.
Yet, unfortunately, the Reception and Housekeeping staff being very unpleasant to deal with spoiled the impression of the whole hotel's service.

All in all, the Silka West Kowloon is a decent choice if you're not planning to stay for long and don't spend extended amount of time in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c9007rsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear c9007rsh

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Hong Kong. We truly appreciate your feedback and do apologise that what would otherwise be a perfect stay was somewhat challenged by the level of service accorded by the Reception and Housekeeping staff.

I will definitely look into the areas as mentioned and addressed this with the department heads concerned.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    167
    158
    46
    17
See reviews for
79
119
53
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I can live with the extra small lift, small room, small toilet and small bed but it is quite sadden with such poor customer service where there are no porter to help with luggage and front desk service aren't friendly or helpful....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lonelytravel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Lonelytravel35

Thank you for your constructive feedback and it does distress us to learn that our service is not up to par.

I will look into the areas as mentioned and will address this accordingly with our team.

Thank you
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. The room is quite small for a family of 3. The hotel is near to Mongkok and Olympic stations, around 10-15mins walk.

We loved the free wifi inside the room. They make up the room everyday and replace everything.

My request is also granted, a queen size bed and a room on lower floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Eranie

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit. At Silka West Kowloon, we do have rooms of varying size to cater to the needs of our guests and that you are happy with our services.

Indeed, our location is very ideal for our guests as the hotel is located in a vicinity with lots of attractions such as Olympian City, Elements, Langham Place, Jade Market, Avenue of Stars, Temple Street and Ladies Market to name a few.

Apart from the convenience of public transport, the hotel also offers complimentary scheduled shuttle service for guests wishing to explore the city further.

We certainly look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This place is a fair walk from near by subways, however that might be a blessing in disguise because it is on situated on a corner that is quite but walking distance to Mongkok and all its shopping districts.
Our room was very small, but that's expected in Hong Kong, there were no room for two luggages and our window view was someone else's window. The rooms are cleaned daily and amenities replenished. The concierge was very helpful if you tip him and he would bend over heel direct you to places where the locals go.
Book this place if you're on a tight budget and not spending a long time in HK, otherwise this is a great little find on the cheaper side.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Qlix

Thank you for staying with us and we are happy to learn that you are 'satisfied' with our services, location and had a good staying experience with us.

Warmest regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I liked the hotel too much because the location near by Olympic station you can access any where in HK. Also it is near to Mong kol street and Nathan street . There are a lot of shops and restaurants.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Ahmad E

Thank you so much for your positive comments and we are indeed happy to learn that you have enjoyed your visit to Hong Kong and stay with us.

Yours sincerely

Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice hotel but not very comfortable with the mattress....easy to get taxi to go anywhere if you don't like to walk, taxi fare start from HKD10...Very helpful staff and they have shuttle bus to the attractive places (Ladies market, night market, train station to airport)...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladleenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Ladleenz

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for your feedback. We do apologise on the lack of comfort which you have experienced with regards to the mattress but are pleased to note that all other aspects are within your expectations.

Yours sincerely
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are very small and so is the bathroom. We barely had any space where we could put down our luggage. My friend and I also could not both walk around the room without bumping into each other. If one was walking around, the other had to sit in the bed - it was that small. The location is nothing to boast of although the good thing was that it was very close to the bus stop and Olympic station and mall. Both were about a 10 minute walk away. We did not eat breakfast in this hotel but we did take a peek at the breakfast place and it was quite depressing. So was the food. We also need to check in to our flights so we needed to use their computers but both desktops were not working so we just gave up. I have stayed in a number of hotels around HK for years now (and aware of the price) and this is by far one of the worst I have ever stayed in. Definitely not a returning guest.

Room Tip: I do not think there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank citizenoftheworld34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear CitizenoftheWorld

We regret to learn that our services and facilities did not meet up with your expectations; and for this please do accept our sincere apologies. In regards to the size of the rooms, we do have different room categories and of course, some are more spacious than others. With regards to the breakfast venue and spread available, we do admit that Maroon Cafe can be rather busy on some mornings especially when we are running on full occupancy but the spread available features both local and international selection. Nevertheless, we thank you for your constructive comments and again, would like to apologise on the internet stations which did not function properly during your stay with us. Thank you for highlighting this to us and we will do our best to carry out more regular maintenance to minimise the inconveniences this may cause for other users.

Yours sincerely
Richard Kwong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#170 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Silka Far East Hotel
Silka Far East Hotel
#210 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#124 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Bridal Tea House Hotel AnChor Street
Silka Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#190 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka West Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka West Kowloon Hotel

Property: Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Address: No.46-48 Anchor Street,Tai kok Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka West Kowloon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka West Kowloon, Hong Kong is a value hotel situated in Tai Kok Tsui, a booming new city in Kowloon. The hotel has 141 rooms that are affordable. It is only 35 minutes drive away from the Hong Kong International Airport, 8 minutes to the Mong Kok East Train Station, 10 minutes away from the China Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and within close proximity to the vibrant district of Tsim Sha Tsui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Silka West Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Kowloon Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Kowloon
Silka West Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing