We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good price , nice stuff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #193 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I liked the hotel too much because the location near by Olympic station you can access any where in HK. Also it is near to Mong kol street and Nathan street . There are a lot of shops and restaurants.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Ahmad E

Thank you so much for your positive comments and we are indeed happy to learn that you have enjoyed your visit to Hong Kong and stay with us.

Yours sincerely

Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 466 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice hotel but not very comfortable with the mattress....easy to get taxi to go anywhere if you don't like to walk, taxi fare start from HKD10...Very helpful staff and they have shuttle bus to the attractive places (Ladies market, night market, train station to airport)...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ladleenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Ladleenz

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Hong Kong and for your feedback. We do apologise on the lack of comfort which you have experienced with regards to the mattress but are pleased to note that all other aspects are within your expectations.

Yours sincerely
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are very small and so is the bathroom. We barely had any space where we could put down our luggage. My friend and I also could not both walk around the room without bumping into each other. If one was walking around, the other had to sit in the bed - it was that small. The location is nothing to boast of although the good thing was that it was very close to the bus stop and Olympic station and mall. Both were about a 10 minute walk away. We did not eat breakfast in this hotel but we did take a peek at the breakfast place and it was quite depressing. So was the food. We also need to check in to our flights so we needed to use their computers but both desktops were not working so we just gave up. I have stayed in a number of hotels around HK for years now (and aware of the price) and this is by far one of the worst I have ever stayed in. Definitely not a returning guest.

Room Tip: I do not think there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank citizenoftheworld34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear CitizenoftheWorld

We regret to learn that our services and facilities did not meet up with your expectations; and for this please do accept our sincere apologies. In regards to the size of the rooms, we do have different room categories and of course, some are more spacious than others. With regards to the breakfast venue and spread available, we do admit that Maroon Cafe can be rather busy on some mornings especially when we are running on full occupancy but the spread available features both local and international selection. Nevertheless, we thank you for your constructive comments and again, would like to apologise on the internet stations which did not function properly during your stay with us. Thank you for highlighting this to us and we will do our best to carry out more regular maintenance to minimise the inconveniences this may cause for other users.

Yours sincerely
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

we stayed at this hotel last sept 2012 for my daughter's birthday...as i entered the lobby the man in front desk accommodate us quickly...no hassle upon check-in...as i signed the form,he gave me the electronic key and the room is ready..unlike other hotels,you have to wait...the hotel is a place to relax because it's quiet...it's near mcdo and 7-11...mtr is walking distance..lot's of restaurants to eat in..breakfast buffet is so so good...staffs are good and accommodating they even helped us how to get to oceanpark and gave us map...they can speak and understand english...i love location of the hotel because it's near to the place you'll going..in our tour bus,we are the last one to picked-up before the tour and the first one to dropped in the hotel after tour...the room is not that big but it's okay because you'll just sleep at take a shower there...they clean the room everyday and change towels and toiletries...things are safe...surely will stay again...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 05justme05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear 05justme

Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback on our hotel. As hoteliers, nothing pleases us more than to be able to live up to our guests' expectations and we are happy to learn that our team was able to play a role in ensuring that your visit was a memorable and enjoyable one.

Warm regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed 3nights.
[Place]Convenient!10minutes on foot to Olympic Station(C2).
15minutes on foot to Mong Kok Station.
There are several supermarket along Tai Kok Tsui Rd.
[Room]It was small but clean.
[Bathroomno bathtub.I always take a shower .I don't need bathtub.Shower head moves freely.
[Amenity]Dental Kit,Comb,Shower Cap,Vanity Kit,Shaving Kit,
Soap,Body Lotion,Bath Gel,Conditioning Shampoo,Slipper
[TV]"Tourist TV" was interesting for me.
New shops,New sightseeing places,restaurant etc.
Sandy Lau and Jocelyn Luko visited interesting places.
I want to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank myny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Director of MarCom, Dorsett Hospitality International at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear myny

Thank you for sharing your fabulous stay experience at Silka West Kowloon. We are delighted that our facilities and services are up to your expectation and that you have had a delightful time taking in the sights and sounds of Hong Kong and the surrounding vicinity.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards
Richard Kwong
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights here and compared to some of the cheaper Hong Kong rooms we have stayed in, thought this was fantastic for the quality VS price.

The rooms are lovely, clean and cosy - they are not very big, but this is Hong Kong, and the rooms are fairly cheap. Everything was spotless and they provide shower/bath gel, shampoo, toothbrush/toothpaste, slippers, shower caps, sewing kit, in-room massages, room service, daily newspaper, and all those additional bits and pieces that you would expect from a more expensive hotel.

The location, in my opinion, is great, because while it is only a 10min walk to Mong Kok itself, this area is quieter, with more locals, and a fantastic selection of food that is much cheaper than the food only a few minutes down the road!

There is a plaza right opposite with cheap delicious dim sum (to find these, ask at Reception for them to direct you to the Park N Shop supermarket, and you will find them!), and plenty of supermarkets, 7/11s, bakeries, etc.

The hotel offers western style breakfast at their restaurant for between $40 - $65HKD, and while this is nice sometimes, I would recommend you take a walk across the road for more local cuisine. They also have other meals although we didn't try these.

The staff were friendly and helpful, assisting us with our cab and also happy to order some food for us on the phone.

The hotel also offers an hourly shuttle bus service that goes to Mong Kok, Tsim Sha Tsui and down to the China ferry.

We would stay here again!

Room Tip: We noticed the twin room was actually quite a bit roomier than the double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silvericemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Silvericemaiden

We are happy to learn that overall you and your husband had a good stay experience with us. Indeed, our hotel is very conveniently located and for visitors to this area, there are so much to explore and see.

Whilst we may not be a five star hotel, we take pride in providing our guests with value services and amenities to ensure the comfort of our guests; and of course, in-town shuttle service as well to enable our guests to further explore Hong Kong at its best.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments which we will share with our team members as well and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to our hotel on your next visit.

Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in the hotel in March. The rooms are rather small and not recommended if you are traveling with a child. The bathrooms are amazingly small.
It's a good hotel if you are on a budget.
The plus point is that the hotel is near to a MTR station and a bus stop nearby with buses that take you directly to the airport.
You have a few eating places nearby and that's a good thing.
It is easy walking distance from a few famous shopping places as well.
Basically, an acceptable compromise if you are not going to spend too much time in the room and use it only for sleeping.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshishD891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattie64, Public Relations Manager at Silka West Kowloon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Ashish

Thank you for your constructive comments. Whilst, like most Hong Kong hotels, there's nothing much we can do about the size of our rooms, we make it up with our location. In terms of accommodation, we do have a few options from the standard to deluxe room and of course the suite which are reasonably spacious.

The hotel is surrounded by numerous eateries, popular shopping hubs and public ttransportation are not an issue as the MTR station is within walking distrance. On top of this, the hotel also provides in-town shuttle service.

Guests are also able to use the complimentary wifi internet access at the internet corner located at Maroon Cafe, level one of the hotel to keep in touch with their friends and family; or to check their business mails, if so desired.

We look forward to your patronage again the next time you are in Hong Kong.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Silka Seaview Hotel
#187 of 729 in Hong Kong
941 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#128 of 729 in Hong Kong
904 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 729 in Hong Kong
3,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Silka Far East Hotel
Silka Far East Hotel
#213 of 729 in Hong Kong
535 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#176 of 729 in Hong Kong
677 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Bridal Tea House Hotel AnChor Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silka West Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silka West Kowloon Hotel

Address: No.46-48 Anchor Street,Tai kok Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $51 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silka West Kowloon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silka West Kowloon, Hong Kong is a value hotel situated in Tai Kok Tsui, a booming new city in Kowloon. The hotel has 141 rooms that are affordable. It is only 35 minutes drive away from the Hong Kong International Airport, 8 minutes to the Mong Kok East Train Station, 10 minutes away from the China Hong Kong Ferry Terminal and within close proximity to the vibrant district of Tsim Sha Tsui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Silka West Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Kowloon Hong Kong
Hotel Dorsett Kowloon
Silka West Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing