We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but not so great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
Ranked #88 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location but not so great rooms”
Reviewed December 1, 2010

The hotel is very conveniently located for you to get around HK, that’s one of the few advantage of this hotel. It’s the smallest hotel I’ve ever stayed in and I’m comparing this hotels with ones in Tokyo. The rooms are clean and but lack space for anyone who’s travelling with 2 suit cases, and it’s a first time been in a hotel where the bathroom only has a shower cubicle and not a bath tub.
Staff a very helpful and courteous and response to any request, on a certain day I required a taxi and the porter ran to the next street to try and find me one. That’s what I call customer service.
Gym is a shared facilities with the YMCA next door which has more than enough equipment required for most work outs.

The main advantage of the hotel is the location, bus, subway, mini bus etc are within 1 min walking distance and Mong Kok shopping streets are 5mins walk away. If your only after a hotel to place your head and not going to spend too much time there then it’s a hotel for you, but if you’re wanting to do some business work in your room then there’s not really much space or comfort for this.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gecentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    1,152
    363
    59
    29
See reviews for
528
616
218
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We've been to HK many times and the room in City View was by far the smallest we've ever stayed at. It was just like a box - there was no other word for it. Room itself was very average, with crazy central air conditioning. Bathroom was quite old, and small. However, everything worked and if you only wanted a place to sleep in, then this one is no worse than any other. At least the beds were comfortable, the pillows were reasonably good and the shower, though dated, was ok.

The best thing about this hotel is really its location. Being about 1 minute from the YMT MTR station, you can get almost anywhere very quickly. Around the hotel is also lots of shopping and eateries, and it was just so convenient. Because of that, and because the room itself was not "bad" - we would return. My only recommendation would be to try to book a room that is not the cheapest - if you could get a deluxe rather than a superior, it's likely that it's worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I wanted a resonable priced hotel near to Kowloon and Nathan Road for 3 nights. The City View Hotel was clean, respectable and was just situated off Nathan Road.

The reception staff and all other staff which I came into contact with were helpful, friendly and happy to help.

The room which I stayed in was a standard double room. The room was a little on the small side and the bathroom was a little cramped, but it was perfectly fine for a 3 night stay. The room was clean, well presented and tidy, all of which were the main factors when looking for a hotel. I am also aware that other hotel rooms in Hong Kong are on the small side.

The best thing about the hotel was it's location. It was only a minute walk away from Nathan Road, which was lined with lots and lots of shops, restaurants and fast food outlets.

I found the hotel to be lacking a little in modern facilities with only 2 computers for internet access and no wi-fi.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauzc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed about 7 days in double room. It's located near the metro station and there are 24 hours open stores very close to it.

the location is close to temple street and you are sort of in the heart of the local life. good for explorers.

the staff is very very nice and helpful for eveyrthing.
however, i can not say the same things for the hotel. rooms are nice but you have to hear the air condition 24 hours since there is no openable windows for some fresh air. the swimming pool & sports facilities are poor and actually they belongs to ymca. so you might see families and kids all around especially in the weekend.

for price/value, i think it's more than avarage, however didn't know the other options in hong kong.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank permanentvacationist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

The Hotel is in a great location just off Nathan Road with bus stops right outside and a metro station 30 seconds walk from the front door.
We had a lovely light bright room that was fairly big by HK standards, the bathroom was small but well laid out and everything functioned well.
The staff were very friendly and helpful but the hotels big selling point is it's value for money, similar hotels were asking three times the price for the same standard of room and often they were in a worst location

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Level Contributor
143 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as an add on to our tour of China with Travelsphere.
We were in room 8012 on the 8th floor and had two single beds, still hard, a room safe, tea and coffee making facilities and the room was well lit. There was not much room to put our suitcases.
We had breakfast one morning in the hotel and it was the same as on the mainland, costing 88 Hong Kong Dollars each. There was a little more fruit on offer, something sadly missing in mainland hotels. The cereal was still only cornflakes and rice crispies and it was after we had breakfast we discovered they had runny porridge but tucked away in a corner away from the cereals.
The staff were very pleasant.
This is a nice hotel and a good base from which to see Hong Kong.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wolfhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I stayed at Cityview for work and was surprised with the value for money, clean rooms. It was very reasonably priced for Hong Kong and it really was a pleasure to stay there. It was comfortable and convenient to shopping. It was a little far to be good for tourists who want to enjoy the bay and restaurants nearer to the harbour, but great if you have business on that side of town. I was happy with my stay and would stay at Cityview again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuNu1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#78 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,529 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#109 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#22 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#125 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#85 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,768 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Property: The Cityview Hong Kong
Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing