We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for travelling on a budget.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
Ranked #81 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We primarily chose Cityview as we were travelling to Hong Kong on a budget, and this hotel seemed to offer good value for money. It is situated in Kowloon, with easy access to the MTR (Metro/Subway) - the nearest one, which we used frequently was Yau Ma Tei, which gives easy access directly across to Hong Kong; or if you prefer, you can take the MTR to Tsim Sha Tsui and then you have the option of getting the Star Ferry (which is very cheap) across the Harbour. The hotel is in a lively part of Kowloon and has a handy 7 Eleven convenience store across the road, just on the corner. Mong Kok is just along the road, with a great busy shopping street and plenty of cafes and places to eat/drink. Good shopping mall just along the road as well. All in all, plenty of local amenities and places to go to keep you occupied all day and night! The room itself was quiety, clean, with facilities to make hot drinks, air-con and a good shower. My only criticism would be the bed, which though very clean and fresh, I found to be quite hard. Nevertheless, I always enjoyed coming back to my room after a hot, humid day of exploring all Hong Kong has to offer! Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Cityview; we would certainly stay again, if we are lucky enough to one day return to Hong Kong, and we would recommend this hotel, with confidence, to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newly refurbished, modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Team_Inverglesga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Your reviews mean a lots to us, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 2,542 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed at The Cityview Hong Kong from Jul 16 to Jul 19. Hotel is very near MTR which made it so convenient for us to get around. Front desk staffs very also helpful, and I was also very impressed with one of the staffs(sad to say I had forgotten his name) who had made it a point to ensure that I had a pleasant stay with The Cityview Hong Kong. Oh, I also had my room upgraded from a Deluxe room to an Executive room :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eileen_tay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Thank you for your kind reviews and looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Was back for 2nd visit to this hotel in Jul'14. Put us into a room on Level 16, tiny room and bad plumbing. Feedback to the Assistant Manager, she was kind to offer a room change the next day, and to our surprise she also upgraded us to a bigger room at no extra charge. Nice!
The level of customer service seem to have dropped somewhat, compared to my trip last Aug'13.
Hope they brush up on this aspect.
A very environmental friendly hotel. I like!
Good location for branching out to night markets, street eats.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wayne_T35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Pleased to have you with us again, however, the less desirable experience you described casues us deep concern. Kindly rest assured that appropriate training will be conducted to ensure all employees are totally customer-focus.
Thank you again and hope we will have a chance to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

MTR is just opposite the hotel. Easy accessible to airport by airport shuttle bus and easily reach shopping malls. Many famous eateries and shophouses around the hotel. My all-time favourite hotel. Famous hang heong Lao po bing opposite hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SharonLgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind reviews and look forward to be at your service again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The location is good and easily accessible from airport express and transfer to shuttle bus which drops you in front of the hotel. However, my room's carpet wasn't very clean as I could see some unused paper with hair tucked to the chair. There were stains on the carpet too. Room wifi was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LrEnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Your valuable comments concerning the dirty carpet has been carefully noted by our Executive Housekeeper.
Please accept our sincere apologies and your comments will be addressed immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location. Rooms are a reasonable size and very bright and clean. All staff speak English and very helpful. They sent much time giving me directions on taking the Metro and how to get to various attractions. I highly recommend this hotel to all!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank RozW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Great to learn that you have an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Went there for my stay in HK and was given a complimentary upgrade from superior room (Standard room) to the executive room! The services at the front desk was fairly average, however the services provided by their supervisor, Louisa Hung, is great! Left my items at the disneyland hotel and she helped us to arrange for picked up at a more convenient MTR station. Thumbs up! The area is also very near to the Yau Ma Tei MTR (Exit D) which is around 5 minutes walk and there are cafes that are opened until late night if you want some supper. Overall great experience! If you are coming to this hotel, you will need to take bus A21 over. If your flight is after midnight, you will need to take N21 at the same place where you alight.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elvin_Png
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind reviews and particularly value of our hotel great location. Your kind comments regarding Louisa Hung has been passed on to her.
Thank you once again and look forward to be at your service again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#28 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,302 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,784 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#98 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#126 of 725 in Hong Kong
278 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#93 of 725 in Hong Kong
677 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $99 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. The Cityview strives to provide the very finest in high quality, cosy and verdant accommodation as well as memorable dining experiences. We are your home away from home, offering you the ideal location and professional attentive services. All the income derived from the operation of The Cityview will be applied to the charitable activities of the Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong. Thank you for supporting The Cityview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing