We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location with good service..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
Ranked #85 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice location with good service..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked September 2011 for 5 nights through a third-party website that I've not used before.

The hotel is just about 2-3mins walk from Yaumatei mtr, very convenient. Air in the hotel compound smells floral and refreshing. During check-in, we presented our passports and booking slip to the front desk. After checking, he told us that our booking was changed to only 3nights from the initial 5nights. We did not do any changes after booking and was worrying where to stay. After awhile, the staff told us that they will honor the 5nights booking and settle with the 3rd party vendor concerned. We felt very relieved and learnt a lesson to only book through reliable 3rd parties.

Room was at a corner, triangular in shape. Bathroom was not big but acceptable size. Hotel also provided a recycling bag as most convenience stores do not provide plastic bags. We stayed for 5nights comfortably without any complaints.

Mongkok area is walkable as we can shop and eat along the way. There's also a money changer just few steps outside the hotel, not sure if the rate is good but we just changed nonetheless.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danzgir07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your valuable reviews and hope we will have a chance to welcoming you back to The Cityview in your future visits to Hong Kong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    1,122
    355
    56
    27
See reviews for
502
599
213
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in two different hotels during my hk trip & find it relatively much more spacious than most hotels of the same price range. Also it has quite a wide window display given the price charged. The hotel staffs are all relatively friendly.

However the price of an identical room can vary by $20 to $30 sgd depending of room occupancy rate which I find it quite no worth, initially booked first 3 nights at price of $140sgd per night, after one month I booked the 4th night at price of $115sgd. Hence it doesn't mean that booking earlier will give a better rate haha.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamcraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Your satisfaction mean a great deal to us and it is great to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We look forward to be at your serivce again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel looked decent from the lobby and check in was fast.

The room itself was basic and somewhat bare. The carpet was worn and the bathroom was not terribly clean around the windows but I was ok with that. It was otherwise a decent hotel. As long as the bed was comfortable and I could sleep, it was fine. In HK, it is unlikely you will spend long hours in your room except to come back at nights to sleep. Therefore, the choice of hotels will be based on your requirements and budget. Cityview fit my requirements as I was planning to be out most of the time and I was only there for 2 nights. What was important for me was the access to MTR, food and shopping.

Nearby is Sai Yeung Choi Street and this place comes alive at nights with street buskers and stalls. Very entertaining and colourful. Also nearby is Temple Street where I went once again to reclaim some stuff I'd paid for the last trip in June but which I didn't manage to collect becos the street vendor wasn't there the last time! I was very pleased to see her there and that she'd put aside the stuff I'd bought one month ago!

Temple Street Is another place that bustles with energy at nights with street performers jostling for attention; fortune tellers and street vendors selling all kinds of goods including clothes, bags, luggage, trinkets, computer gadgets and more. Not to mention the restaurants that really makes one spoilt for choice. Remember to bargain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Weemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay in Hong Kong and hope we will be at your service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The reception was very friendly, we were upgraded to deluxe rooms and received adjoining room for our family. The rooms were with modern design, slightly small but clean. Beds were firm and sheets were clean.

It is walking distance to shops and very convenient to the streets of Mongkok. There are still plenty of eateries/snack stalls open past 10pm for supper. One night we stumbled across a delicious congee shop across the hotel later to find out that it is a famous place. Conveniently near Yau Ma Tei station.

Overall it was a good place to stay and looking forward to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and great to learn that your stay was a pleasurable one. Thank you once again and look forward for another chance to welcoming you again to The Cityview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Third time staying at the Cityview, Hong Kong.
Great value as usual and only 3 mins to Yau Ma Tei MTR.
Basic necessities provided for.
What more can I ask for?
My room was upgraded from superior.
I enjoy express + early check in.
Concierge staff are also very helpful.

Thank!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ongailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have another chance to welcoming you to The Cityview again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just got back last night.
The Cityview is the new YMCA in the busy street of HongKong. Quiet and clean, it also has friendly staffs like our housekeeping lady on the 17th floor who smiles to us all the time. And whenever I asked for ice, it didn't take long for them to bring it. That's good service.
I booked 5 rooms for 10 persons but 2 of my companions backed out on the last minute so I got an extra room that is non-refundable. The front desk staffs are courteous and friendly, offering me instead to get four rooms of one superior, one executive suite and 2 connecting rooms, next to each other on the top floor. I think that's the best deal since we really don't need a 5th room and the suite room is really neat.
Breakfast is good and has a lot of variety although we only ate there 1 time (just to try it).
The Cityview is very near MTR Yau Ma Tei Station with 7-11 just across the hotel, some Chinese restaurants that serves good food and dimsums on the corner street beside 7-11.
Ride the Cityflyer A21 upon arrival and get off on the 9th stop. Just walk straight and cross the street (HSBC), the hotel is on Waterloo Road.
I would recommend this hotel and will surely stay here again on my next trip to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lalaine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and your particularly value regarding the Housekeeping maid has been passed on to them.
Thank you once again and we hope we will have a chance to welcoming you to The Cityview in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 24 June to 27 June 2013. Did enjoy the stay in this hotel. The room is just nice for two and equipped with everything you need. We slept well throughout our stay. The gym is part of the YMCA and I used it during my stay and is highly recommended. The gym has a nice sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Most of the staff are helpful and friendly. However,one of the them at the concierge does not have good attitude towards guests. He opened door selectively. He saw us coming back from shopping with 2 big bags and he did not help us to open the door, instead he walked away from it and just pretended not to see us. A short while later, there were 2 europe guests coming back in the same direction, he rushed to open door for them. Very disappointed towards his service attitudes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
The service you mentioned in Concierge has been carefully noted and kindly rest assured that appropriate training will be conducted to avoid such incident in the future.
On the other hand, we are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us in The Cityview and hope we will have a chance to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,483 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#108 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#122 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#84 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,718 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#32 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Property: The Cityview Hong Kong
Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#90 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing