We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
Ranked #84 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“As Expected”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Cityview for business many times before. It is in great location, central to Kowloon and right on top of subway station. The airport express shuttle bus stops at this hotel as well as many airport bus lines. This trip I went with my whole family, six in total. Due to smaller rooms, we needed 3 separate rooms for our family. Everything was smooth, chec k-in, check-out, daily house-keeping. Overall, Cityview is a good middle of the road, practical hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred201107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
On behalf of The Cityview, I would like to express our gratitude to your continuous support to us. We are glad to be at your service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    1,218
    389
    61
    29
See reviews for
586
650
239
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is near to ladies market and access to metro is really convenient. However, check in took quite long. Hotel mgmt shd look into simplify the check in procedures. Overall room is clean and good service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYNCLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Your concern about the check in procedures has been carefully noted and kindly rest assured that your comments will be immediately addressed.
Thank you once again and sincerely hope that we will be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I have been staying at this hotel eversince 2006 and I usualy go back to HK at least once every year for my mission trip in Asia. I found this hotel is in a great location which is within 5 mins. walk to MTR, shopping and to many inexpensive restaurants and cafes close by. The service in general is above average. My recent stay was a week ago and I found the toilet water tank has flushing problem...............I called the housekeeping dept. and they've sent a plumber to my room and fixed it right away. Also I found that a few of the porters are extremely friendly and courteous to the guests, just like any hotels in the world that every now and then you do run into some of the staffs may need some improvements to greet their guests. On the whole, I would highly recommend this hotel to any prospective guests who are contemplating of making a booking at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Your continuous support extended to us would definitely be encouraging to our staff. Thank you once again and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Cityview was a great choice for the location to central Kowloon. The room was high enough to be quiet and relatively spacious. Service by all the staff was above average but not excellent. Easy to get to the metro and all the central shopping areas and also on the bus route to interchange for the airport. Connected with the adjacent YMCA so if you need to get some laps in, this is the place for some exercise.

Room Tip: go high to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you to let us know that you have an enjoyable stay with us and sincerely hope that we will have a chance to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I Had stayed here 2 years back and wanted to stay here again due to great location and services i had received previously.
However, this time round, im Terribly disappointed by their services, we were asked to wait 2 hours before our rooms were prepared and after 2 hours (coming back from our lunch) we were asked to wait for a further hour. The staff do not look apologetic about having us waiting, and when i went forward to ask her whether our room was ready, she just brush me off by saying that the housekeeper will inform her when its ready and asked us to wait at the lobby.

Okay, it seems absolutely that normally guest have to wait but given the attitude just made me rather angry about it.


Also, the air-con was spoilt. It was rather cold this few days therefore we had to turn up the temperature to 25 degree BUT there was no difference if you adjust it to 16 or 30 degree. Called up the housekeeping, they just send up a heater which does not help at all. I told the person that the aircon is spoilt, however he say its cold so there's nothg he can do about it.
I was just rather upset about the stay this time round and would probably avoid staying here the next time round.

Another negative point is that you could hear clearly what is your neighbours doing in their bathroom and also the corridor. Its kinda hard to sleep in when that happens.

Room Tip: Choose a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 55wgm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your review, informing us the unpleasant experience you have encountered during your stay with us at The Cityview. Your valuable comments concerning the facilities in the room such as the malfunction of Air-Cond Control has been carefully noted by our Executive Housekeeper. On the other hand, I can only reiterate our regret that the lack of knowledge of some of our staff when communicating with guest. Kindly rest assured that appropriate training will be conducted to avoid such incident in the future.
Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope this experience will not alter your confidence in The Cityview, and that you will give us the opportunity of wlecoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Well located in the centre of Kowloon, the Cityview is easy walking distance to the night markets, and very convenient for the subway. Staff were extremely helpful and the rooms comfortable and well equipped, though small. The more athletic will appreciate the park just across the road (and up the hill) for their early morning exercise. Perfect for our 3-night stopover on the way to Australia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crawford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
We are pleased to learn that you have an enjoyable stay with us and sincerely hope that we will have a chance to welcoming you back to The Cityview soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I thought the room was considered big in HK context. There was just enough room for two of us with our two luggage. We were placed on the 17th floor; corridor was clean and lift lobby even smelled of cologne. Ensuite bathroom was adequate but don't expect to use the bathtub unless you're Asian size (which I am, and I still find it small). Room was cleaned and made up by each night when we return. So no complains. Everything in the room worked.

Service was basic. The receptionist spoke to us in Cantonese even though we initiated the check-in in English. That was rude but we let it go after she swiftly changed to English upon seeing our blank faces. The bellboy's face flashed irritation when we asked to take our luggage along with us to our rooms instead of waiting for them to send up to us. (I mean, what's the point when it's only ONE luggage for each of us?!). But otherwise, he didn't comment much. For the price I paid, I would have expected better service, but hey, we're on holiday, let's not make each other lives difficult.

Location was excellent. You will probably end up using the back door (where the drop off point is) more often as it is nearer to the MTR exit (just round the corner). Also just opposite are 24hours convenience stores: 7-11 and K-Circle. Also right opposite is a cha chaan teng that seems to be always crowded. Food was average to me though. And if you're thinking of queuing for the Michelin-starred Tim Ho Wan, the hotel is just a 5-7 minutes walk away (exit by the front and go pass the hospital, and turned the corner).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in non-smoking levels. And if you have special requests (e.g. queen bed instead of two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to write your review. Kindly rest assured that appropriate training will be conducted to our frontline staff as our prime concern is to ensure all employees are totally customer-focus.
On the other hand, we are pleased to note your particularly value of our cleaning service and good location and sincerely hope that we will have a chance to welcoming you back to The Cityview soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#118 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,734 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#97 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,911 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#32 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#77 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,642 reviews
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#82 of 718 in Hong Kong
445 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#117 of 718 in Hong Kong
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Property: The Cityview Hong Kong
Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#74 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. All the income derived from the operation of The Cityview will be applied to the charitable activities of the Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong. Thank you for supporting The Cityview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing