We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Cityview Hong Kong
Ranked #85 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the cityview Hong Kong for 2 nights, the hotel is in a great location just off Nathan road. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable with decent pillows. Bathrooms are a tad dated but adequate. There's a good supply of toiletries if you have forgotten something, they even provide tooth brush, toothpaste and a razor.
A 15 minute walk down Nathan road will take you to Kowloon waterfront and canton road where all the designer boutiques are situated.
Only small gripe is that there's no free wifi, if you don't want to pay to use it there are the usual mix of KFC, McDonald's etc dotted along Nathan road where you can pick it up free. I paid daily at the hotel and it was a decent speed with easy connection.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kags09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We are delighted to have you with us and your encouraging reviews had been passed on to our staff. We thank you once again and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    1,218
    389
    61
    29
See reviews for
586
650
240
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here as part of the Travelsphere ‘Discover China (Hong Kong add on).
The rooms, though smaller, were perfectly adequate and clean. The beds were a little hard but after a day walking round this incredible city, who cares?
Our room had a decent sized wardrobe and we actually hung things up after several days living from a suitcase in China! We also had a fridge, which was ideal for storing provisions including our cold, cold and welcome beer.
The location is superb. Just round the corner (less than a minutes walk) is the MTR system, which is very efficient but busy. Two stops away is the access to the waterfront, including the must do Star Ferry. There are shops, restaurants and markets nearby, including a ‘Wellcome’ supermarket (we cheated and bought things for breakfast before heading out all day). Near the MTR entrance (out the canopied entrance where the cars can pull in, turn right and then left) is a bakery that sells rolls that are ideal for breakfast.
We heard good reports from others in our group about the hotel food, including the buffet dinner but we didn’t eat there ourselves as we were out all day.
We were very pleased with this hotel and if people want more (space and luxury) they’ll undoubtedly have to pay for it in a city where space is at such a premium.
Don’t ponder doing the Hong Kong add-on. Just book it. The place is amazing and the City View is ideal.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Your satisfaction mean a great deal to The Cityview.
We thank you for your time to posting your reviews and look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale AZ
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Cityview has a super location, one block off Nathan Street, with MRT stations very close. The breakfast Buffet was excellent with many choices. The room (deluxe) was clean and although not large, it was roomy enough for two to move comfortably. The mattress was just right...firm, but not hard. The bath was very small...one person at a time only. In room safe. The air con was almost too cold and it was hard to regulate the temp. Our 7th floor room was slightly noisy...but it was from "city sounds"....sirens mostly. The price was reasonable...for Hong Kong, which tends to be very expensive. We would stay there again with no problem!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyawayAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Your compliments on our good location, a wide variety of breakfast items and the cleanliness of guest rooms has been passed on to the concerned departments. In addition, your concerns about th air-conditioning system will be immediately addressed. We appreciated your time for posting your reviews and look forward to welcoming you to The Cityview in coming future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Well located hotel in Kowloon, with a good stretch of food available only behind the hotel.
The rooms may be small, but they are cosy, clean and well maintained. Customer service is quite good as well. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magnumocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us, your kind comments definitely encouraging to our staff.
Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back to The Cityview soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I didnt stay at this hotel, however I was waiting out the front for the airport shuttle bus to go to the train station as it stops at this hotel and I was in the area.
The security guard at the door insisted I waited inside, so I walked inside. Once inside, I decided to have a little wonder around the foyer as I am returning to Hong Kong shortly and thought of perhaps staying here for a week as the location is very good. Well... he was so rude to me and firmly told me to stand at the door and not to go anywhere else in the hotel.

Guess I'll spend my money at another hotel as first impressions are lasting impressions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellersfr0m0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to posting a review, informing us the unpleasant experience you have encountered. The Cityview strives to provide high quality service and we welcome any comments or suggestions you may have about any aspect of the hotel.
In response to your reviews, we have the following feedback for your understandings:
1. Shuttle bus services is the privilege of our hotel guest and we have extended our courtesy of offering the services to you.
2. The place where you were waiting for the shuttle was a vehicular access and you were therefore reminded by our staff due to safety concerns.
3. Since the shuttle bus would not stop and wait at hotel entrance, it just passing through the hotel and pick up the guests. Try to avoid of missing the bus, our hotel guests will be arranged to wait a while at the foyer area.
We hope this single incident will not alter your confidence in The Cityview and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land of 4 seasons
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and booked the deluxe room but there was a minor mix up upon check in and we were given the superior room but it was quickly rectified when we informed the service staff. However, we were given a room on the 8th floor, closest to the elevator so it was quiet noisy during our stay so request a room further down the corridor.

Can't beat the location, mtr exit D and the hotel is 2 mins walk. 10 -15 mins walk to the middle of Mongkok and you can walk back from the markets. Plethora of eateries, shopping, chemist etc

• Rooms - definitely book a deluxe room and skip the superior, it is a little bigger, has a bath tub, larger tv, overall better. The room was simple, tidy and clean with the exception of the carpet which had big dark patches
• Housekeeping - did a great job! Each day felt fresh and like I had stepped into the room for the first time
• Luggage handlers (bellboy) - extremely courteous and friendly with a good command of English. Made the stay extra welcoming. They assisted with getting a taxi to the airport and provide free luggage storage

Will likely stay again in late Jan 2013 if the rates are as competitive.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Your kind comments regarding the Concierge and Housekeeping team have been passed on to them and we are pleased to note your particularly value our hotel great location. The less desirable experience you described regarding the room arrangement causes us deep concern. Kindly rest assured that appropriate training will be conducted to avoid such incident in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stay for 3 days. Everything is perfect (Location,Comfy Bed,Nice staff...)
In-room wireless is provide for free! Thumbs Up!
The only disadvantages is the shower pressure is too low.
Will caused me feeling uncomfy during shower time.

Room Tip: Exit A2 from MRT "Yao Ma Dei" station,only short distance walk to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice_Ong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCityview, Front Office Manager at The Cityview Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
It's very nice to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and your valuable comments concerning the shower pressure is limited has been carefully noted by our Engineering Manager. Kindly rest assured that your comments will be immediately addressed.
We look forward to welcoming you to The Cityview again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#117 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,734 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#97 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,912 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#32 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,645 reviews
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#83 of 718 in Hong Kong
445 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#121 of 718 in Hong Kong
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cityview Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cityview Hong Kong

Property: The Cityview Hong Kong
Address: No.23 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#75 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#89 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cityview Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with promotion code "CVLP" to enjoy extra discount. Ideally situated in downtown Kowloon adjacent to the bustling Nathan Road, The Cityview is right at the heart of the territory's transport hub to all destinations. It's a 45-minute drive from the Hong Kong International Airport and just a minute walk away from the Yau Ma Tei MTR station with a host of popular chain stores and great dining outlets nearby for you to enjoy. Also, just 10 minutes away on foot are some of the most famous tourist and commercial attractions like the Ladies' Market, Jade Market, Temple Street Night Market and many others, making The Cityview the ideal destination for both business and leisure travellers. The Cityview does many things to help protect the environment. We conserve energy and water, reduce waste, and operate in a sustainable manner. Recently, the environmental performance of The Cityview has been recognised by EarthCheck; the travel and tourism industry's leading environmental management, benchmarking and certification company. Based on the benchmarking assessment report from EarthCheck, in addition to having a Sustainability Policy in place, the indicators on Energy Consumption, Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Portable Water Consumption and Waste Sent to Landfill of the property are at or above the best practice level, which is an achievement to be highly commended. All the income derived from the operation of The Cityview will be applied to the charitable activities of the Chinese YMCA of Hong Kong. Thank you for supporting The Cityview. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cityview Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cityview Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hotel Hong Kong
Cityview Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing